We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to kick off our honeymoon”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a wonderful property...this was the first stop of our honeymoon and set the bar VERY HIGH...We stayed in Four Rosmead's villa and couldn't have felt more at home...the accommodations, decor and staff were all top notch...best breakfast I've had in a long time to boot...

I would strongly recommend to ANYONE visiting Cape Town

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank brooklynusa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 549 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

After a month long trek across SA, we ended up in the Guest House at Four Rosmead. Absolutley stunning property. Especially the Guest House. Amazing Bathroom, outdoor shower and private area. Great breakfasts, fantastic staff, and just a short walk to Kloof. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We totally agree with other comments about the quality of the rooms,food and the helpful ,friendly staff. Rosmead was a wonderful haven to come home to at the end of each busy day sight seeing with just the right amount of interaction and help offered to make our holiday start so successfully.My only disappointment was that we had to go out for an evening meal when all I wanted to do was to stay at "home".I'm sure that the kitchen staff could have rustled up a high quality meal if the breakfasts were anything to judge by.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvsandDut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It's difficult to know what else to say, the reviews speak for themselves really. What makes it so good is not just the high quality accommodation and the fantastic breakfast but the quality of the manager, Lynn and her assistants, Nadine and Jade who seem to anticipate your every need, sometimes before you do. The only thing I can add is that before I visited Four Rosmead I always thought that I would stay at the Twelve Apostles or Cape Grace on any return visit, but knowing what I know now, I'd come back 'home' to Four Rosmead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

There's a lot to like about Four Rosmead. Staff there helped us in advance to organise our stay (which had been tricky due to the World Cup) and were efficient and charming in the process. On arrival, Jade and Nadine continued the impeccable service. Laid back, warm, and practical hosts make a big difference in a big South African city. They booked us into outstanding restaurants (Jardine, Bizerca Bistro and Carne), and recommended an unbelievably slick taxi firm (Intercabs) which made getting around Cape Town a breeze.

The location around the leafy upper end of Kloof street is perfect - I'd definitely recommend staying in a hotel near the city centre (and ditching the car - as well as the inestimable Intercabs, a tourist bus stop is a handy stroll away). The building is beautiful, and tastefully furnished, and we were encouraged to make ourselves feel at home. We stayed in Leeuwenzicht, which was a lovely, comfortable room. Gigantic walk-in shower, and balcony with a superb view of Lion's Head. Good breakfasts, with inventive specials. Lots of nice touches, like the beach kits, MCC in the fridge, and local CDs left on for you in the evenings.

Only gripe was the limited free Internet - with a top-up process that wasn't working - which didn't really fit in with the easy going and generous attitude of the place. But there's no doubt we would highly recommend Four Rosmead as a very well appointed, relaxing base for a stay in Cape Town - with staff that add a lot of value to your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DushAndMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here in Aug-09.
The location is very convienient for both the centre of cape town and table mountian and camps bay.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is v.good. The rooms are lovely, as is the whole house with has a truly personal style about it.

I wouldnt stay anywhere else in cape town.

Bound to go back...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ABCReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here as the second stop of three on our honeymoon!! I know the fact that we were on our honeymoon would lead people to believe that maybe everywhere was "magical", but this place truly was!!!!!! The staff were amazing- helpful, friendly and informative (you could tell they enjoyed their job and were proud of where they worked!). The breakfasts were fantastic- as little or as much as you could eat of perfectly prepared and presented food!!! The rooms were perfectly presented with all those "little" touches you would want, need and not expect!!
There is artwork everywhere- that is for sale!!! Some really fantastic work and in your room there is a catalogue of the work with prices and information of the artist!
If you go you must try the "Nelsons Eye" steakhouse- not far from the hotel serving the most amazing steaks(best we've ever had!)
We stayed here for 4 nights but could have stayed forever- had we the money!!! We will be returning- DEFINATELY!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednclaire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,097 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $162 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing