We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Rosmead
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
2Inn1 Kensington(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kensington Place(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lady Hamilton Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
More Quarters Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Bay(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Cadogan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveler rating
533
44
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
533
44
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskloof streettable mountainboutique hotelour honeymoonbeach bagbooking taxislittle touchesquiet neighborhoodguest housedinner reservationsmount nelson hotelfour nightspersonal attentiongreat boutiquethe main housesouth africataxi ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 583 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It's difficult to know what else to say, the reviews speak for themselves really. What makes it so good is not just the high quality accommodation and the fantastic breakfast but the quality of the manager, Lynn and her assistants, Nadine and Jade who seem to anticipate your every need, sometimes before you do. The only thing I can add is that before I visited Four Rosmead I always thought that I would stay at the Twelve Apostles or Cape Grace on any return visit, but knowing what I know now, I'd come back 'home' to Four Rosmead.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

There's a lot to like about Four Rosmead. Staff there helped us in advance to organise our stay (which had been tricky due to the World Cup) and were efficient and charming in the process. On arrival, Jade and Nadine continued the impeccable service. Laid back, warm, and practical hosts make a big difference in a big South African city. They booked us into outstanding restaurants (Jardine, Bizerca Bistro and Carne), and recommended an unbelievably slick taxi firm (Intercabs) which made getting around Cape Town a breeze.

The location around the leafy upper end of Kloof street is perfect - I'd definitely recommend staying in a hotel near the city centre (and ditching the car - as well as the inestimable Intercabs, a tourist bus stop is a handy stroll away). The building is beautiful, and tastefully furnished, and we were encouraged to make ourselves feel at home. We stayed in Leeuwenzicht, which was a lovely, comfortable room. Gigantic walk-in shower, and balcony with a superb view of Lion's Head. Good breakfasts, with inventive specials. Lots of nice touches, like the beach kits, MCC in the fridge, and local CDs left on for you in the evenings.

Only gripe was the limited free Internet - with a top-up process that wasn't working - which didn't really fit in with the easy going and generous attitude of the place. But there's no doubt we would highly recommend Four Rosmead as a very well appointed, relaxing base for a stay in Cape Town - with staff that add a lot of value to your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DushAndMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here in Aug-09.
The location is very convienient for both the centre of cape town and table mountian and camps bay.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is v.good. The rooms are lovely, as is the whole house with has a truly personal style about it.

I wouldnt stay anywhere else in cape town.

Bound to go back...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ABCReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here as the second stop of three on our honeymoon!! I know the fact that we were on our honeymoon would lead people to believe that maybe everywhere was "magical", but this place truly was!!!!!! The staff were amazing- helpful, friendly and informative (you could tell they enjoyed their job and were proud of where they worked!). The breakfasts were fantastic- as little or as much as you could eat of perfectly prepared and presented food!!! The rooms were perfectly presented with all those "little" touches you would want, need and not expect!!
There is artwork everywhere- that is for sale!!! Some really fantastic work and in your room there is a catalogue of the work with prices and information of the artist!
If you go you must try the "Nelsons Eye" steakhouse- not far from the hotel serving the most amazing steaks(best we've ever had!)
We stayed here for 4 nights but could have stayed forever- had we the money!!! We will be returning- DEFINATELY!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ednclaire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Before we even left London we knew we were staying somewhere with excellent service. The hotel had made recommendations for places to eat, where to go and even gave us local tips like to watch the sunset from Signal Hill. They accommodated all of our requests and more.

Once we arrived we could feel that this was a perfect retreat from the hustle of Cape Town. The area is residential and upmarket, and very quiet. As you would expect in an area like this, the hotel itself is a beautiful building and is surrounded by lovely trees and flowers.

Our room was absolutely immaculate and luxurious. There were huge windows on both sides which let the sunshine stream in and created a lovely through-breeze when opened. The shower was practically bigger than my whole bathroom at home and there are local products which smell gorgeous. We couldn't have asked for anything else in the room, it really was perfect. At night they leave a little chocolate on your pillow with a little story for you to read. A lovely touch.

Getting about is no problem- they give you the number of a local taxi firm to use- who we found to be very prompt and really good value. We hired a car for a day which the staff helped us with. In fact, when we arrived we realised that the Two Oceans Marathon was on; this meant we had to restructure our plans for the stay as some roads were closed etc. They went out of their way making calls for us and rearranged everything so we didn't have to worry about a thing. This is possibly the best service I have had, as they did it all with a big smile and without ever making you feel you were a bother.

The little pool is lovely although we only used it once as it's hard to tear yourself away from Cape Town itself! Breakfast was excellent, with cold meats/ juices etc and then your choice of cooked breakfast. Everything we ate was delicious. You could sit on the verandah and eat while gazing up at the Lion's Head which was pretty good.

We had afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel during our stay (recommended). We came away thinking that Four Rosmead is a completely different hotel. MN is old-style, with staff bowing to your every need and leaving you in no doubt who is the guest. Four Rosmead feels like you are staying in a beautiful house, but with staff who help you because they want to, not because they are being paid. They genuinely want you to enjoy your stay in their city which they so obviously love and this made us feel we made the best possible choice staying here.

Don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicejaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews