We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived straight from the airport to a lovely, warm welcome. The house is small and beautifully appointed with lovely garden & pool. The rooms are spacious with every possible need provided for. The staff were very attentive and gave every possible piece of information that we may have required. Fabulous breakfast and great location for Table Mountain and taxis available very easily and within walking distance of Kloof Street which is full of restaurants. Highly recommend staying there and would go back next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
386
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have been here four times now and all round it has been about the best accommodation we have stayed at In South Africa. Very attentive staff who are extremely welcoming and do their very best to ensure a great stay and give sound advice on the region. The personal touch is something that you just cannot get in hotels. Lovely breakfast and the potential to have a take away meal served in the dining room at night is a good option. It is very good to have secure parking. Local taxis (use advised at night) are inexpensive to get to/from local restaurants. The Mount Nelson Hotel, nearby, for afternoon tea should be a must for any visitor. Very convenient to other local attractions including Table Mountain and Signal Hill. Easy access to Cape Town airport.
JS Newbury

Room Tip: Need to decide whether you need a room in the house of one opening onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent 2 nights, and then a 3rd a few days later at this gorgeous guesthouse. Situated in a very upmarket residential area, Four Rosmead is beautifully designed with spacious rooms and a lovely pool. Although relatively pricey for a guesthouse - this has everything you should want in Cape Town - a fantastic breakfast, great advice for what to do during the day and an excellent night's sleep. As well as all the little touches such as good bathroom products,entertaining nightly local stories left with chocolates - it is the service that truly makes this place stand out. The two charming young ladies running the front of house were fantastic - as well as advising us on activities and quickly and efficiently ordering cabs, getting tickets etc they both went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Arriving very flustered after a mishap concerning a forgotten drivers license we were immediately put at ease and helped with faxes, emails etc - real concern that made the start to our Cape Town holiday great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wonderful 4 night stay at Four Rosmead. The staff were outstanding, obviously wanting us to enjoy our stay, advising on restaurants (we would recommend Kloof Street House and Arnold's), and giving advice on what to see in Cape Town (one invaluable piece of advice was to go to Table Mountain straightaway on the first morning, taking the opportunity while the weather was perfect)
After a safari holiday, we wanted a few days of rest in Cape Town, and this was the perfect spot. A small, interesting hotel, within walking distance of the city centre (20-25 minutes), in a pleasant residential area on the way up to Table Mountain.
The breakfasts were outstanding, the rooms very pleasant, the overall atmosphere very friendly.
We have already recommended this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 fantastic days at the gorgeous Four Rosmead as part of our honeymoon tour of SA. It was the perfect spot in a trendy part of town with lots of great restaurants on the doorstep. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was superb & the property beautifully decorated. The attention to detail & personal touches made this the perfect choice for us. They suggested some fantastic restaurants & arranged the reservations on our behalf - The Test Kitchen, Savoy Cabbage & Afternoon Tea at the Mount Nelson are a must. Thanks to everyone at the Four Rosmead for making our stay in Cape Town so perfect!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The people that work at Four Rosemead do everything possible to make sure you have an outstanding stay with them. From the minute you walk in they are taking your luggage and making sure you are checked in and to your room without any worries about luggage. In addition, they are eager to assist with transfers from the airport, booking tours and ordering taxi’s. (The taxi’s can take 20-30 minutes to get there, so plan for that). The air conditioner in our room needed repair and they had parts on order to replace it. The first day we were there it was rather cold and raining and we did not need it. The next day it started to get warm, so we got concerned and called them. They eagerly offered to move us to an upgraded room. The service is great, the people are lovely at this guest house. The grounds are beautiful as well. We had gone between going to the Hilton or having a more personal touch. This group of professionals truly provide the special touch you want when vacationing far from home. Only downsides… having to wait for a taxi and the circular window that lets the light in early morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything was wonderful a very smart spacious room, breakfast was superb! Our stay of four nights went in a flash, lovely exceptionally warm welcome on arrival with some great suggestions for what to see, do and where to have dinner etc. Given a map for the city also info for the Citysightseeing red bus hop on and off tours, brilliant way to see and hear about Cape Town, the bus stop is just a short walk from the Rosmead. We felt extremely well looked after, celebrating our Silver Wedding we were congratulated on arrival with a gift and one of the dinner bookings they made for us - we noticed a congratulations on the menu! This was at the Roundhouse overlooking Camps Bay, amazing! Thank you all at the Rosmead!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing