We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful little hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wonderful 4 night stay at Four Rosmead. The staff were outstanding, obviously wanting us to enjoy our stay, advising on restaurants (we would recommend Kloof Street House and Arnold's), and giving advice on what to see in Cape Town (one invaluable piece of advice was to go to Table Mountain straightaway on the first morning, taking the opportunity while the weather was perfect)
After a safari holiday, we wanted a few days of rest in Cape Town, and this was the perfect spot. A small, interesting hotel, within walking distance of the city centre (20-25 minutes), in a pleasant residential area on the way up to Table Mountain.
The breakfasts were outstanding, the rooms very pleasant, the overall atmosphere very friendly.
We have already recommended this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
384
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 fantastic days at the gorgeous Four Rosmead as part of our honeymoon tour of SA. It was the perfect spot in a trendy part of town with lots of great restaurants on the doorstep. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the breakfast was superb & the property beautifully decorated. The attention to detail & personal touches made this the perfect choice for us. They suggested some fantastic restaurants & arranged the reservations on our behalf - The Test Kitchen, Savoy Cabbage & Afternoon Tea at the Mount Nelson are a must. Thanks to everyone at the Four Rosmead for making our stay in Cape Town so perfect!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The people that work at Four Rosemead do everything possible to make sure you have an outstanding stay with them. From the minute you walk in they are taking your luggage and making sure you are checked in and to your room without any worries about luggage. In addition, they are eager to assist with transfers from the airport, booking tours and ordering taxi’s. (The taxi’s can take 20-30 minutes to get there, so plan for that). The air conditioner in our room needed repair and they had parts on order to replace it. The first day we were there it was rather cold and raining and we did not need it. The next day it started to get warm, so we got concerned and called them. They eagerly offered to move us to an upgraded room. The service is great, the people are lovely at this guest house. The grounds are beautiful as well. We had gone between going to the Hilton or having a more personal touch. This group of professionals truly provide the special touch you want when vacationing far from home. Only downsides… having to wait for a taxi and the circular window that lets the light in early morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Everything was wonderful a very smart spacious room, breakfast was superb! Our stay of four nights went in a flash, lovely exceptionally warm welcome on arrival with some great suggestions for what to see, do and where to have dinner etc. Given a map for the city also info for the Citysightseeing red bus hop on and off tours, brilliant way to see and hear about Cape Town, the bus stop is just a short walk from the Rosmead. We felt extremely well looked after, celebrating our Silver Wedding we were congratulated on arrival with a gift and one of the dinner bookings they made for us - we noticed a congratulations on the menu! This was at the Roundhouse overlooking Camps Bay, amazing! Thank you all at the Rosmead!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plagne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 3 days here and were delighted and disappointed.

Good:
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Lovely comfortable bed and room with veranda.
Delicious breakfast.

Not so Good:
Our upstairs bedroom had an uncovered circular window high up in the wall which let light in from sunrise, so very early mornings were obligatory!
Bedroom was above the kitchen so bothered by cooking smells - a strong extract fan is needed.
Didn't know some rooms had a bath till I read a review - would have loved one after a tiring day sightseeing.
Pity it's just too far to walk to and from town comfortably although we did explore Kloof Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room without the high window, away from the kitchen and with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsafanLaPlagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feed back, we would like to respond as follows:
1. We have 5 rooms on the property with the circular windows/skylight. We have special window covers which can be used to block the light. Unfortunately you were obviously not informed of this on check in. The covers can be requested.
2. We bake fresh muffins and scones and normally this is a welcomed smell in the morning.
3. We have 3 rooms on the property with Bath tubs. These can be requested when making your booking.
4. We are situated a quick 10 minute walk downhill from the entrance to the Company Gardens which is considered to be the heart of the city center.

It is unfortunate that you did not know about the shades for the skylight and the bath tubs. Hopefully the above information can help with your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed recently for 3 nights. can't really fault the stay at all. I liked the position away from the hustle and bustle of the city and the Waterfront yet just a short stroll or taxi ride away. As previous posts say in a good position for Kloof St. which is lively and gives plenty of choice for eating and drinking, for the tour bus just 5 mins walk downhill. Recommend the botanical gardens - Kirstenbosch which were stunning and i can only imagine later in summer with many more flowers blooming to be even better. Take a picnic as you can sit anywhere in this idyllic setting. Back to the hotel- the staff and the welcome was very warm and no shortage of info on eating, visiting, booking etc. they would help on anything that you wanted. The breakfasts were super and the rooms lovely. All in all a great little hotel with a deserved reputation as all the reviews confirm.
Graham & Georgie. oct.13.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
508 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Out of the downtown traffic, but walkable to Kloof street with its restaurants and the Company Gardens and Museums. It is not walkable to the harbor, 80 Rand taxi? You can pick up the RED tour bus down Hof street and in front of the Mount Nelson Hotel entrance. The rooms were modern and comfortable, with nice fireplaces going on our cool early Spring visit. We also called in Pizzas and with the room wines had easy light dinners before the fires. The staff were very helpful in setting up the dinners.

Room Tip: All the rooms are off the street and therefore quiet (except local dogs). There is limited lock par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tremm298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,389 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing