We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craig & Carol-Ann W”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A wonderful haven to stay while in Cape Town. A beautiful luxurious property with terrific hospitality, ambience, service and amazing breakfasts - flawless! We hope to be back one day. Thank you to everyone who made our stay such a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The separate cottage accommodation is great for families of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 558 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. Excellent accommodation we stayed in the suite at the back of the main building and found it to be spacious and comfortable with a very nice decor
The breakfasts were outstanding and the service very good. Guest house is not far from a lot of very good restaurants for evening dining and the area a respectable one in which we always felt safe !
Jade and Sonja were always very helpful with directions ,advice and the booking of excursions !
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cape Town was the first stop on our mini tour of parts of South Africa and we chose to stay at Four Rosmead, located in Oranjezicht at the foot of Table Mountain. Our four nights there were amazing. Arriving off an early flight, we were invited to have breakfast despite not having yet checked in - which gives an insight into the care which all of the staff give to their guests. The experience in Cape Town really felt more personal due to staying here. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff - who seemed keenly interested in your plans and what you had been up to - as well as offering to book tours/taxis/restaurants and giving excellent tips about what to see and do in this fantastic city. The boutique guesthouse is located close to the restaurants of Kloof Street and to Table Mountain (which you should try and go up at the earliest opportunity when the top is clear of cloud). The room was amazing, being large and very comfortable (with some fantastic artwork displayed) with excellent views over Cape Town for some fantastic sunrise photo opportunities. The bathroom was almost as large as the room and had all of the touches you could need - as well as more fantastic views out over Cape Town. To top it off, the breakfasts were fantastic, with excellent daily specials and quality hot food cooked to order, as well as a wide selection of cold things (with the muffins and orange/mango juice being particularly recommended). When I return to Cape Town, it will definitely be to Four Rosmead, which I cannot recommend more highly for a stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife, teenage son and I stayed at Four Rosmead for four days in June, 2013. We stayed in the cottage in the back, and this was very roomy and perfect for three people. The breakfasts were outstanding and our hosts Jade and Sonja took good care of us. Loved the port out in the lobby every night! While the location was good, the streets leading to Kloof St. were dark and fairly deserted, making it unsafe to walk the five blocks to / from the restaurants at night. We ended up driving any time we left the hotel, even if it was just to go a few blocks. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a nice B&B , but without the charm and contact of the owners. Good rooms and clean, ours had a balcony. Medium size bathrooms, that could use a toilet paper holder, since the toilet paper was placed on the handle of the brush that cleans the toilet itself !
Good swimming pool, and very nice living.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Extremely comfortable; the room was very cozy and clean. Indeed, home from home . . . plus! Staff were interesting and very helpful! They booked all the restaurants with enthusiasm - every one of them a winner! - then guided us through many wonderful adventures in Cape Town. . . and beyond.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Three of us stayed in the guest house and it was great. Plenty of room and comfortable. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Beautiful views. Appreciated offers to arrange dinners, tours and cabs. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank hkd-nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $166 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing