We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 on Loader Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$133
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$208
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$129
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$174
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$107
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$163
$142
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$131
$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$818
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$687
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $489/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$806
$575
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
45
18
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
18
4
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 69 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtahanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at 17 On Loader before going on to tour the rest of the Western Cape. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house as a great place to stay in Cape Town. Dirk and his staff (in particular Antony and Barbara) were extremely helpful. We are really missing our breakfasts in the morning sunshine on the private terrace in front of our room (17D). We appreciated the added bonus of having a secure place to leave our hire car as it was only a short walk to use the Hop On-Hop Off Bus and Railway services to see the surrounding areas without having to drive in the manic city traffic. There is also an abundance of excellent local restaurants and the V&A is only a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

With a perfect location this guesthouse is the best place to stay when you're in Capetown. Waterkaant feels safe and you can walk to shops and restaurants, even in the evening! I highly recommend 17 on loader guest house!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Right from the beginning we felt at home at 17 on Loader. The staff was really at our beck and call and was very patient with us. We made the most of the gay nightlife and slept well into the afternoon most days, but that was no problem for the cleaning staff. The rooms were fresh and clean, especially 19b, where we stayed the first three days. Although lacking an en suite bathroom, a large bathroom across the hall was reserved for us. Breakfast was delivered to our door each morning in a wicker basket, and a well-priced selection of beers, ciders and wines was available in the honour bar.

Expect to pay a bit more for this guest house as the service and location are second to none. And some rooms are definitely better than others (our second room - 19c - had a window just next to the terrace where our neighbours took their breakfast). But the extra cost is well-worth it! And even the "worst" rooms are a cut above the rest in this price bracket.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtrehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Makes me wonder why I've wasted so much money on hotels when 17 on Loader was such amazing value for money. The staff are superb and always helpful, even offering to walk with me to the nearest cash point when I first arrived and didn't know my way around.
My room was clean and stylish, as was the whole guest house. There's a roof terrace which is perfect if you want to sit outdoors and have your breakfast, or evening drinks with friends. Speaking of breakfast, it doesn't get any better than waking up to a breakfast basket outside your door......
The location is just perfect also. It's within walking distance of town, or a 10min cab ride to the waterfront, and the streets surrounding the guesthouse are full of quaint eating spots and boutique shops.
I highly recommend 17 on Loader and it's perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews