We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A serene oasis at the top of De Waterkant Village in Capetown South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17 on Loader Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 on Loader Guest House
Ranked #110 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Los Ageles
1 review
“A serene oasis at the top of De Waterkant Village in Capetown South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Everything about this establisment was done well. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The common areas were elegantly and tastfully furnished. The morning meal service was plenitiful, fresh and delicious. The location is perfect for all, in the heart of Waterkant, close to downtown, waterfront, shopping, recreation, nightlife, hikes and all that capetown has to offer are within a very short drive or walk... I found this place to be a serene oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
27
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtahanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at 17 On Loader before going on to tour the rest of the Western Cape. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house as a great place to stay in Cape Town. Dirk and his staff (in particular Antony and Barbara) were extremely helpful. We are really missing our breakfasts in the morning sunshine on the private terrace in front of our room (17D). We appreciated the added bonus of having a secure place to leave our hire car as it was only a short walk to use the Hop On-Hop Off Bus and Railway services to see the surrounding areas without having to drive in the manic city traffic. There is also an abundance of excellent local restaurants and the V&A is only a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

With a perfect location this guesthouse is the best place to stay when you're in Capetown. Waterkaant feels safe and you can walk to shops and restaurants, even in the evening! I highly recommend 17 on loader guest house!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Right from the beginning we felt at home at 17 on Loader. The staff was really at our beck and call and was very patient with us. We made the most of the gay nightlife and slept well into the afternoon most days, but that was no problem for the cleaning staff. The rooms were fresh and clean, especially 19b, where we stayed the first three days. Although lacking an en suite bathroom, a large bathroom across the hall was reserved for us. Breakfast was delivered to our door each morning in a wicker basket, and a well-priced selection of beers, ciders and wines was available in the honour bar.

Expect to pay a bit more for this guest house as the service and location are second to none. And some rooms are definitely better than others (our second room - 19c - had a window just next to the terrace where our neighbours took their breakfast). But the extra cost is well-worth it! And even the "worst" rooms are a cut above the rest in this price bracket.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtrehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Makes me wonder why I've wasted so much money on hotels when 17 on Loader was such amazing value for money. The staff are superb and always helpful, even offering to walk with me to the nearest cash point when I first arrived and didn't know my way around.
My room was clean and stylish, as was the whole guest house. There's a roof terrace which is perfect if you want to sit outdoors and have your breakfast, or evening drinks with friends. Speaking of breakfast, it doesn't get any better than waking up to a breakfast basket outside your door......
The location is just perfect also. It's within walking distance of town, or a 10min cab ride to the waterfront, and the streets surrounding the guesthouse are full of quaint eating spots and boutique shops.
I highly recommend 17 on Loader and it's perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KinKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

A very stylishand tastefully decorated boutique guest house, well run by very friendly, helpful and welcoming people. Good location, excellent value, plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, secure off- street parking. Definitely to be recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_stockdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#35 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Cottages
De Waterkant Cottages
#18 of 128 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#99 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Charles
The Charles
#79 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
#17 of 128 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Dockside Apartments
#91 of 128 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Property: 17 on Loader Guest House
Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing