We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 on Loader Guest House
Ranked #123 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed five nights in the guest house. The breakfast was very good and delivered to the door every morning. The rooftop terrace had great views when the weather was nice. When the weather was cold, the rooms were a bit chilly because there is no heat. The guest house is safe and in a good location; it's a 15-minute walk or a 5-minute taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront or the Castle of Good Hope. The staff are friendly but the rooms didn't get a thorough cleaning every day - just a touch-up. There are safes in the rooms, along with TVs and electric kettles. We would go back to 17 on Loader if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalista87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
27
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This very reasonable (at least in winter) guesthouse is in a charming and safe neighbourhood. The rooms are quirky and appealing, but have everything you need (e.g. great bathroom.) The folks are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is fine, but sitting having your coffee on the roof and watching the sun come up over CT and slowly light up Table Mountain -- that's priceless. Only complaint is that the wi-fi didn't really work, which I hope they will fix. If you need a very reasonably priced driver to take you round Cape Point and Wine District, ask Dirk about Jimmy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at 17 on loader twice this year and l now call it home when I am in Cape Town. The house is conveniently located, close to all the nice cafes and restaurants on a quite street at the top of a small hill but still surprisingly very quite. The icing on the cake is the roof terrace with magnificient a view of Table Mountain and the city.
You can walk into town fairly easily and Waterkant is a very safe neighbourhood even at night
They staff is extremely welcoming too! Coffee lovers would be pleased to hear that unlike other guest houses or hotels you can come across in Africa they serve decent coffee in the morning. A definate fantastic value for money. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been staying in Cape Town a few times over the last years but 17 On Loader sure will be the one address to go back to!
In many guest houses, lodges and B & Bs, it appears to be tricky to get the balance right between letting a (solo) traveler enjoy being alone and yet being there when she/he does welcome a chat and needs some advise or help. In 17 On Loader no problem, they instictively seemed to when to stand back and when to approach me. Their original idea to deposit your breakfast in a basket in front of your door, and leaving you subsequently to choose your own spot to munch away the contents (after having received some suggestions on arrival), is grand. The lovely arrangement on the roof sure beats a lot of other places - what a view of the mountain, what a sense of solitude, what a place to read a book, scribble a postcard or just dream away whilst staring at the changing clouds hovering around the peaks and cliffs! I also much loved the eco-friendly amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona Es
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Fantastic location and excellent service. Dirk, the owner, was really helpful and very friendly as well as the rest of staff (I'll never forget Barbara's smile every morning). The room was very clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda_ribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ageles
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Everything about this establisment was done well. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The common areas were elegantly and tastfully furnished. The morning meal service was plenitiful, fresh and delicious. The location is perfect for all, in the heart of Waterkant, close to downtown, waterfront, shopping, recreation, nightlife, hikes and all that capetown has to offer are within a very short drive or walk... I found this place to be a serene oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtahanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#105 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#37 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Charles
The Charles
#98 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#102 of 155 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Property: 17 on Loader Guest House
Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing