We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 on Loader Guest House
Ranked #126 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This very reasonable (at least in winter) guesthouse is in a charming and safe neighbourhood. The rooms are quirky and appealing, but have everything you need (e.g. great bathroom.) The folks are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is fine, but sitting having your coffee on the roof and watching the sun come up over CT and slowly light up Table Mountain -- that's priceless. Only complaint is that the wi-fi didn't really work, which I hope they will fix. If you need a very reasonably priced driver to take you round Cape Point and Wine District, ask Dirk about Jimmy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at 17 on loader twice this year and l now call it home when I am in Cape Town. The house is conveniently located, close to all the nice cafes and restaurants on a quite street at the top of a small hill but still surprisingly very quite. The icing on the cake is the roof terrace with magnificient a view of Table Mountain and the city.
You can walk into town fairly easily and Waterkant is a very safe neighbourhood even at night
They staff is extremely welcoming too! Coffee lovers would be pleased to hear that unlike other guest houses or hotels you can come across in Africa they serve decent coffee in the morning. A definate fantastic value for money. Book it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been staying in Cape Town a few times over the last years but 17 On Loader sure will be the one address to go back to!
In many guest houses, lodges and B & Bs, it appears to be tricky to get the balance right between letting a (solo) traveler enjoy being alone and yet being there when she/he does welcome a chat and needs some advise or help. In 17 On Loader no problem, they instictively seemed to when to stand back and when to approach me. Their original idea to deposit your breakfast in a basket in front of your door, and leaving you subsequently to choose your own spot to munch away the contents (after having received some suggestions on arrival), is grand. The lovely arrangement on the roof sure beats a lot of other places - what a view of the mountain, what a sense of solitude, what a place to read a book, scribble a postcard or just dream away whilst staring at the changing clouds hovering around the peaks and cliffs! I also much loved the eco-friendly amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Fantastic location and excellent service. Dirk, the owner, was really helpful and very friendly as well as the rest of staff (I'll never forget Barbara's smile every morning). The room was very clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda_ribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Everything about this establisment was done well. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The common areas were elegantly and tastfully furnished. The morning meal service was plenitiful, fresh and delicious. The location is perfect for all, in the heart of Waterkant, close to downtown, waterfront, shopping, recreation, nightlife, hikes and all that capetown has to offer are within a very short drive or walk... I found this place to be a serene oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtahanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at 17 On Loader before going on to tour the rest of the Western Cape. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house as a great place to stay in Cape Town. Dirk and his staff (in particular Antony and Barbara) were extremely helpful. We are really missing our breakfasts in the morning sunshine on the private terrace in front of our room (17D). We appreciated the added bonus of having a secure place to leave our hire car as it was only a short walk to use the Hop On-Hop Off Bus and Railway services to see the surrounding areas without having to drive in the manic city traffic. There is also an abundance of excellent local restaurants and the V&A is only a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing