We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of tranquility..go for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 on Loader Guest House
Ranked #122 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A haven of tranquility..go for it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at 17 on loader twice this year and l now call it home when I am in Cape Town. The house is conveniently located, close to all the nice cafes and restaurants on a quite street at the top of a small hill but still surprisingly very quite. The icing on the cake is the roof terrace with magnificient a view of Table Mountain and the city.
You can walk into town fairly easily and Waterkant is a very safe neighbourhood even at night
They staff is extremely welcoming too! Coffee lovers would be pleased to hear that unlike other guest houses or hotels you can come across in Africa they serve decent coffee in the morning. A definate fantastic value for money. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
27
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been staying in Cape Town a few times over the last years but 17 On Loader sure will be the one address to go back to!
In many guest houses, lodges and B & Bs, it appears to be tricky to get the balance right between letting a (solo) traveler enjoy being alone and yet being there when she/he does welcome a chat and needs some advise or help. In 17 On Loader no problem, they instictively seemed to when to stand back and when to approach me. Their original idea to deposit your breakfast in a basket in front of your door, and leaving you subsequently to choose your own spot to munch away the contents (after having received some suggestions on arrival), is grand. The lovely arrangement on the roof sure beats a lot of other places - what a view of the mountain, what a sense of solitude, what a place to read a book, scribble a postcard or just dream away whilst staring at the changing clouds hovering around the peaks and cliffs! I also much loved the eco-friendly amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona Es
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Fantastic location and excellent service. Dirk, the owner, was really helpful and very friendly as well as the rest of staff (I'll never forget Barbara's smile every morning). The room was very clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda_ribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ageles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Everything about this establisment was done well. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The common areas were elegantly and tastfully furnished. The morning meal service was plenitiful, fresh and delicious. The location is perfect for all, in the heart of Waterkant, close to downtown, waterfront, shopping, recreation, nightlife, hikes and all that capetown has to offer are within a very short drive or walk... I found this place to be a serene oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtahanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at 17 On Loader before going on to tour the rest of the Western Cape. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house as a great place to stay in Cape Town. Dirk and his staff (in particular Antony and Barbara) were extremely helpful. We are really missing our breakfasts in the morning sunshine on the private terrace in front of our room (17D). We appreciated the added bonus of having a secure place to leave our hire car as it was only a short walk to use the Hop On-Hop Off Bus and Railway services to see the surrounding areas without having to drive in the manic city traffic. There is also an abundance of excellent local restaurants and the V&A is only a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

With a perfect location this guesthouse is the best place to stay when you're in Capetown. Waterkaant feels safe and you can walk to shops and restaurants, even in the evening! I highly recommend 17 on loader guest house!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#35 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant Lodge
De Waterkant Lodge
#104 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#36 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Charles
The Charles
#93 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#109 of 156 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Property: 17 on Loader Guest House
Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing