We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel all around”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely hotel all around”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Some travel friends stayed at SugarHotel 3 nights before meeting up with our tour group. First we indulged in the jet lag spa special, which was absolutely worth the money! The rooms are spacious & well appointed (the soaker tub & heated floors were fabulous). We looked forward to breakfast each morning in the lovely dining room.The staff so warm, welcoming & helpful, which makes you feel at home in a new city. They also recommended a private tour guide who was absolutely wonderful. Thank you Sugar Hotel for a lovely stay...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    68
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
186
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in the Sugar Hotel in Cape Town, and it was a real jewel. We were here for a conference and it's a good walk to the Conf Ctr. Breakfast was perfect, the staff could not have been more helpful. It was less expensive that the other hotels I looked at but the others could not have been more perfect.
We were in room Two (out of 7) overlooking the pool. Others have remarked on the road noise but we did not find it at all troublesome.
Without reservation, I can say that if you want an intimate hotel with all the amenities, you can not go wrong at the Sugar.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlBest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Sugar Hotel with our 2 year old son. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. Nkosi was amazing, he made us feel extremely welcome and was very accommodating - Which is always appreciated when travelling with a child! The room and bathroom were both lovely and spacious. The bed was very comfortable! The breakfast was amazing! We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleKry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for 8 days basically happy, however a few issues and we want to give an honest review that may help them to address these in the future:
If you are used to staying in hotels then you will find this as a high-end B&B. I am comparing this to the price bracket of this establisment as well.
Pros:
- Excellent breakfast as mentioned by many guests, it is true! Best breakfast we have had compared to many places.
- Excellent Service from Nkosi and Oncemore (other members not so good, average)
Good Location, however not the safest area and certainly would not recommend this area for girls or families. (I know as I am from Cape Town originally and spoke to some of my local friends as well, whose eyebrows went up when I said I was staying in Green Point). So do be careful here.
- Nice Spacious Bathroom (Room 5)

Cons:
- We were promised a room with a pool when we originally booked, therefore booked a more expensive room(with a pool), however when we arrived it was an empty pool and were given no prior notice or acceptable apology, except that's the way it is...Like what can you do now, you are already here...
- Airconditioning was not working when we arrived, no prior notice, and only when we requested it, was it then fixed.
- Safe enclosed parking, however limited to only 4 parking bays and when we arrived one evening after 11.45pm, we had to park outside in the street, due to no more parking spaces being available.
- Room Service average and inconsistent, as we twice had to go downstairs in the evening to request toilet rolls.

In conclusion, overall good, however would not really stay here again compared to other options available in this price catergory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Boutique hotel in cape town ticks all the boxes. Extremely friendly and hospitable staff ensured our stay was perfect.
The rooms were clean, quiet and extremely spacious, the bathroom was enormous and filled with luxurious amenities. The bed was large & comfy which made for an easy nights sleep after a long flight from Sydney.
Location was spot on, short drive from the airport, short walk to the V&A waterfront and only a short drive to table mountain.
With a lovely breakfast & safe/secure parking it really is impossible to fault this hotel.
My one regret is that we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a birthday celebration here and enjoyed the atmosphere, personal service, great facilities and fantastic food beautifully presented. Highly recommended, but it is a small intimate venue, so reservations are advised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stunning little gem of a hotel, check in painless, room very spacious, beautifully decorated with a lovely large bathroom. Enormous, comfortable bed, although pillow was not great! Recommend to reserve parking if you have a car as off street parking is limited and a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast fantastic - beautifully presented and included in the price of your room. Would have loved a nespresso or equivalent little coffee machine in the room. Overall had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town for business of pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing