We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a birthday celebration here and enjoyed the atmosphere, personal service, great facilities and fantastic food beautifully presented. Highly recommended, but it is a small intimate venue, so reservations are advised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeraille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    59
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
169
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stunning little gem of a hotel, check in painless, room very spacious, beautifully decorated with a lovely large bathroom. Enormous, comfortable bed, although pillow was not great! Recommend to reserve parking if you have a car as off street parking is limited and a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast fantastic - beautifully presented and included in the price of your room. Would have loved a nespresso or equivalent little coffee machine in the room. Overall had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town for business of pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

WOW is all we could say! From the moment we stepped inside this amazing little hotel we felt at home! It smelled so welcoming and fresh. The room was fantastic as well the service! The food was always very good and well presented. We were welcomed by Nkosi, the check in was wow. Would Definitely recommend this hotel to anybody that would like to be at home away from home in a luxury environment!! Nkosi and oncemore... Weldone!! to the whole team WELL DONE! you will definitely see us again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 818Anneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Almost everything was perfect during our 5 nights stay at this great hotel in Cape Town.

We had a luxury room, both bedroom and bathroom were really spacious and attention to detail was every where. Deco is sobre and classy.

Although the hotel is small, whenever you arrive, someone is immediately there.

Breakfast was good, with a plus for the "Egg benedict with salmon"!

We were really happy of our stay there, and might stay again there on our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMMOAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed one night as this great hotel after a wedding in the wine region. The rooms were excellent (2 rooms, 2 couples, all OAP's!) could have had a party in the bathroom, all furnished and decorated to a high standard with everything provided.
The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice including very healthy options.
We were greeted by Oncemore, yes that is his name, who along with the rest of the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, they even washed the car for us before we took it back to the hire company.
An easy walk to the waterfront would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at the wonderfully located Sugar Hotel during the Easter weekend and after completing the "most beautiful marathon in the world" were spoilt by a lovely massage in their spa! The friendly staff, gorgeous cappuccinos, healthy breakfasts and stunning rooms made our stay all the more special! Thank you for all your finer touches and friendly smiles! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 or 5 with beautiful view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a terrific stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a stylish bathroom, decoration, small private pool at the balcony and a very good bed. They also serve the best breakfast I had in a hotel in S.A. Location also great, close to the Waterkant and Waterfront. If I had to mention something: the bed linen was a little worn and some loose tiles at the swimming pool. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaesarK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing