We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Great Location”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value & Great Location”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is a great value for what you get. I have stayed there with my husband and 13 months old son and we have enjoyed everything in the hotel. The breakfast is nice with lots to choose from the menu, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Our room was on the main street but gladly we did not get bothered by the traffic noise as the windows were sound proof.
We have requested a baby bed prior to arrival and it was already in our room when we arrived. However they don't have a child seat at the restaurant which made our breakfast a bit of a challenge. Also, I found the service a bit slow and unorganized but that's probably because there was only one person who's looking after the entire hotel and the service which is very common in boutique hotels. The following day we have asked for breakfast in our room and they had no problem to bring it up to our room.
About the location it's a walking distance to the waterfront and there are lots of nice restaurants for lunch/ dinner in the neighborhood. The walk to the waterfront and in the neighborhood is pleasant as you see lots of nice houses, hotels and lots of greenery.
We would not hesitate to come back especially that the staff were very friendly to us and to our little son.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    68
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
187
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maianga, null, Angola
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

There's nothing we didn't like about this hotel, everything was just perfect. It's truly a five star hotel without feeling it in your pockets. The rooms are excellent: spacy, modern, comfortable and they even offer you tea, coffee and cookies for free. All staff is very helpful and the quality of service is high - a special thanks to Oncemore! The hotel is small so all the attention goes to you. We couldn't wait to start the days with their tasty breakfasts.The pool is quite small but the weather didn't allow us to enjoy it. As to the location, the hotel is quite close to the waterfront - just 15m walking. We will definitely return to this hotel and we are already recommending it to our closest friends and family. Thanks Sugar hotel for five worderful days!

Room Tip: Room number 2 is just perfect, with lots of space and a view to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrieth Da Glo... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perfect place to spend my week in Cape Town. I have absolutely fallen in love with this city, and it's in part due to the awesome staff and experience at Sugar Hotel.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern. The location is convenient, close to the water front and walking distance to Long street. There are only 7 rooms, and the staff make you feel you are the one and only guest!

Breakfast started with a delicious yogurt, honey and fruit patter while you ordered a warm dish to be prepared to your liking. Great start to the day.

I can't stay enough good things about the staff. They went out of their way to help me plan every single detail of my tours and experiences around Cape Town. Nkosi (who was working for most the week I was there) and the other staff working at the reception were always there for you to give recommendations, make reservations, and truly customize your stay in Cape Town.

I hope I can visit again and stay in this beautiful and intimate hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The great thing about this hotel is the small size; meaning that the hotel is pretty quiet and the staff get to know you by name and offer great service. The room I stayed in was perfect size, very modern and had a sweet little balcony with small pool (too cold for swimming this time of year though). The breakfast served in the downstairs cafe was awesome, freshly cooked and much better than the usual crusty hotel buffet. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the waterfront (or a cheap taxi ride). Very well priced as well. Would stay here again if I get the chance to return to CT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can tell that great thought went into every detail of this boutique hotel. The rooms are modern and high-end, yet extremely comfortable. The hot breakfasts to order were a delicious way to start the day. The owners and staff are by far the biggest plus of this hotel! They went out of their way to make sure that our stay at the hotel and in Cape Town was fantastic. Overall, beautiful hotel in a great location with fantastic service. I will definitely return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were 4 friends staying at Sugar hotel for 2 nights 5/6 July 2013 What an experience from the time we arrived the staff treated us as if we were the only guest around they helped with our luggage and made us feel welcome. Nkosi was great and the breakfast was wonderful.

I would have loved to enjoy dinner at the hotel. The spa was great I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I will recommend the Sugar hotel to all my friends, and I will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Hotel for 2 nights. We got there really late on the Thursday night, it was pleasant to see that they were expecting us, and the "porter" went to the extent of carrying our luggage up the stairs at 11pm! The room was great, loved the balcony and the bathroom/shower. The towels didnt smell freshly laundered though (that's the only downside throughout our stay at the hotel).

Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to at the Sugar Hotel. Loved it.

Location is very convenient.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TafiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing