We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Wonderful Experience, Start to Finish”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #56 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Wonderful Experience, Start to Finish”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe our experience at this hotel. The staff was super attentive, the breakfasts divine, the custom-offered tours and private car beyond belief, and the location simply perfect. This was my first time in Cape Town, and I was worried about booking a boutique experience, but the Sugar Hotel was the absolute right decision. Great value for the quality of service. Absolutely nothing negative in any aspect.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and I've read that one has a private jacuzzi...sounds like a good pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    68
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
187
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed over on 15 June and everything about this 7-room boutique hotel impressed us so much that we can't wait to return! We were warmly greeted by Nkosi who checked us in and showed us around the hotel while Billie Holiday wafted in the background. The decor is fresh and modern, but still warm and inviting. We were lucky enough to be booked into Room 4 which is one of 2 rooms with private patios and plunge pools.The room was a fair size with an enormous bed large enough to sleep a small village! *Bliss* Adjoining the bedroom was a dressing room (with armoire) and a large bathroom with a deep soaker tub, shower big enough for 2 (or 3), underfloor heating, and Charlotte Rhys products. Clearly no expense was spared to make this a pleasurable and sensory experience for guests and we struggled to keep our eyes open in that comfy bed. We reluctantly dragged ourselves out of bed for Breakfast the next morning but the sun streaming into the dining room, and the lovely view over the patio and lap pool soon warmed our hearts. Breakfast started with fresh fruit, granola and yoghurt and was followed by a warm breakfast of our choice. I had a feta & bacon omelette, and hubby had the full English breakfast - both were excellent and it was the perfect way to end off our stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have private patios and plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of evenings at the Sugar Hotel this June. This was our first time in Cape Town. We arranged through the hotel to be picked up at the airport in a private car (highly recommended). We were absolutely delighted with the quality of this hotel, the staff and the location. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are large, bright and spotless. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, recommending activities and restaurants. The breakfast included with our room rate was fresh, hot and delicious and served at your table in a beautiful pool side cafe. The hotel is about a 15 minute easy walk to the waterfront (where there are multiple stores, restaurants and where you can catch the hop on, hop off bus). A fantastic property that we highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Full_Nelson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with every aspect of the Sugar Hotel, especially the friendly staff. Nkosi greeted us and had our luggage taken to our room while we checked in. We were given great dinner recommendations, assistance with booking activities around Cape Town, and accommodation of my special request for flowers and champagne in our room (this was our anniversary trip). The location was ideal, walkable to the Waterfront shops & restaurants without the crazy Waterfront hotel prices and close to the downtown area as well. Our room was huge and luxurious, and our rental car was safely parked in the off-street, gated parking area. The amenities were also impressive, with an on-site chef willing to prepare a special meal at our request and a spa and pool on-site as well. When we return to Cape Town, there will be no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Where does one begin?
As my partner and i don't enjoy the larger more commercial hotel / Resort properties, the Sugar Hotel was exactly what we were looking for. With only seven rooms all luxurious and each with their own individual identities the hotel has that real feeling that you are staying with really good friends in their private home rather than in a large hotel.

The rooms were spotless, staff could not go further out of their way to make us feel at home and there was an ever present presence of the owners giving that extra homely touch.

I would highly recommend the Sugar Hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Thank you again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlsgateone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in Sugar Hotel during Easter 2013 and was bowled over! The staff, rooms, breakfast, easy access to the city was absolutely amazing! Would highly recommend anyone that needs to recharge and break away to enjoy the Sugar Hotel's luxury and home away from home feeling!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lovely hotel with HUGE rooms and gorgeous bathrooms. Every amenity you could imagine or need. Delicious breakfast. After returning in the late afternoon, we were told the bar was "not actually open" and the we would need to "use the mini bar". We were disappointed as we wished to sip our wine outside, but on check out the charge was removed due to staff's inability to provide us with bar service. Nice to see the right thing was done for the guest. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Main Road rooms noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo58-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing