We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in CT!”
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loved our stay there! Rooms are gorgeous, small, intimiate feeling. Oncemore, from reception looked after us well. Lovely breakfasts. We appreciated the double-glazing on the windows that keeps the noise out. Also loved the deep bath and the Charlotte Rhys bath and shower range everywhere.

Will certainly recommend to anyone for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katinka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Bedroom 2 was the one for us. It was a Wonderful stay with an excellent breakfast. The tastefull and beuatiful decor made us feel very special. Very friendly and helpful staff made our stay a wonderful experience. Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 814Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

7 bedroom boutique hotel with great staff and service.
Marvellous breakfast- the variety was great, could hardly walk after late bruch at 10h30

Close to grear restaurants, can recommend Piqualle
Stayed in room 5 with a small pool.
Modern AC, TV, and fast wi fi

Room Tip: Spa available
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff, the rooms, the food are all great. We have felt at home here. This will be our hotel of choice here in Cape Town. We got room 5 with our own pool, love it! A must for anyone looking for a home away from home

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dremolitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only spent one night in this lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town, and it left us wanting for more. From the beautiful decor and the stunning, spacious room, to the professional staff and yummy breakfast - it was a true delight. Most impressive were those small touches and attention to detail more often than not lacking in most other establishments. Oh - and - it was the most gigantic bed we've ever slept in - talk about luxury! This one is definitely on our "return to" list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrazyCat_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Based on previous reviews, we booked into the Sugar Hotel and were not disappointed. It is extremely comfortable and the simple clean lines made it a delight in every way. With only 7 rooms, it certainly allows for personalised service and the staff were delightful, with visible input of the owners to ensure upholding of standards. The breakfast was simple, but delicious with decent fresh coffee in the rooms as well as the dining room. The rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable with great linen; there is good allowance to place suitcases when unpacking and ample cupboard space. Bathrooms have both bath, shower and separate toilet and are well appointed, even with a filtered water tap and there are bathrobes and slippers provided. The dining room flows out onto the pool area where one can relax (with good wine on offer) in privacy and comfort. The only potential disadvantage could be the seeming lack of elevator, but as there are only two flights of stairs, this was not a problem for us at all. We would definitely stay there again, as it offers great comfort and extremely good value.

Room Tip: We were in Room 7 which was very quiet, despite looking out on the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews my husband and I decided to book the hotel. The moment we arrived and enter into the reception area (looks more like a home living room), I fell in love with the hotel! The staff showed us where everything was. He was genuinely friendly. I loved all the details in the hotel - the minimal eclectic African designs, the spaciousness of the rooms and bathrooms, the comfortable bed, the bath salt... It was just too bad we only stayed 2 nights. I'm already recommending the hotel to the people I know who are planning their trip to Cape Town. It's a great value for money too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tpjmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#57 of 111 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#19 of 111 in Cape Town Central
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 111 in Cape Town Central
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#51 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $130 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill - the "rump" of fabled Lion's Head mountain. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc's Table, our in-house restaurant offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing