We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fun hotel for something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
Ranked #79 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Fun hotel for something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Such a great concept - worth it from a fun night in Cape Town, the rooms are great and creative - we have now stayed their twice, both times fantastic - top room pick - The Karaoke Room, always nice to have a sing in the shower :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Mische

Thanks so much for sharing your stay with us. Next time be sure to check out another room, or even our new room "Sailor Jerry".

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    85
    42
    22
    7
See reviews for
10
108
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place really is the ultimate boutique hotel - every room is totally different and truly amazing! We were shown around a few rooms - must be seen! It's in a lively part of town and we totally enjoyed the trip :)

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hudson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hi There

Thanks for the great comments of our lovely hotel. We pride ourselves on having something unique and offering guests the opportunity to check out all our rooms while they are staying with us.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springs, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

What an amazing stay! I must admit that I have been looking forward to gracing the absolutely stunning rooms of this place for quite some time, and therefore might be slightly prejudice in reviewing the place. One thing I can honestly say however is that it was more than I expected, maybe because I shared it with a special someone, or maybe because your place is all that! Constantly having to battle the urge to ask whether I may view the rest of the rooms the hotel has to offer, I undertook to return and stay in every room available, soon! Friendly staff, cold beers, strong coffee and the 'Long Street-vibe' makes this place my Cape Town destination for next couple of years. Well done to whomever is in charge here. You know what you are doing!!!

Room Tip: I staid in the 'do not disturb'-room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelvanHeerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Michael

Thats wonderful to hear you finally managed to make it to us and we're so glad to hear you had an amazing stay. Next time you stay with us please feel free to ask what other rooms we have available so that we can show you the rest.

All the best and thanks again for your kind words.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

They say a break is as good as a holiday and my one night stay at this quaint arty hotel was just what we needed. We were made to feel right at home by Este - she welcomed us with a big smile and immediately offered us a welcome drink. We stayed in the Open Room and were treated to a comfy bed surrounded by the most fantastic photography of sunrises and sunsets. The hotel was a perfect base to explore the many restaurants and nightlife that Long Street offers- it made me feel like a teenager again. Thank you to Este and the fantastic staff of Daddy Long Legs- we had a fantastic stay and can't wait to get back to your place to experience another night- we still have another 12 rooms to experience. Thank you Janine and Mourchelay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi Janine and Mourchelay

Thanks so much for sharing your lovely stay with us, glad you had a great time. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future to check out all our other rooms.

All the best.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent prices, amazing rooms, excellent service, great location, nothing to dislike!
We took three rooms and kept switching to experience different rooms, and they were amazing all three of them. The prices are very fair, and I would definitely stay there again to experience a different room!

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme and story, go on their website and pick your favorite room upon book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YZNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi There

Thanks for sharing your lovely stay with us at Daddy Long Legs. We encourage all our guests to check out as many different rooms as possible during their stay, as you could potentially have 13 different experiences in our 13 different rooms.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived for a long weekend in Cape Town and had read about this place on the Internet although the article was from a couple of years ago. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. On Long St so in the heart of the city bowl and close to Bo Kaap, the city gardens, the mall, shops, a number of pubs and nice restaurants. Also easy walking distance to V&A Waterfront. The rooms are all decked out uniquely, I stayed in the Mak1one room which features a large installation descending from the roof above the bed and graffiti art and orange warning light in the bathroom...whatever that is for ;-) completely recommend this for first time visitors and return visitors to Cape Town. I'll be back there soon...hopefully to check out another couple of their amazing rooms.

Room Tip: Check them out on the Internet - if you like a room design ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_Regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Jono

Thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Daddy Long Legs. We strive to be as welcoming and friendly as possible to ensure all our guests have a splendid and most memorable stay with us.

Just for interest sake, the orange warning light in the bathroom is a reminder of the negative aspect of authority over graffiti and the misunderstandings around it.

If you loved the "BeingMakOne" room we would suggest checking out our brand new room "Sailor Jerry" which was launched this month, upon your next visit with us.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Jason Rodwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to be a tourist in your own country you have to spoil yourself by staying here! We went back to SA for holiday and met up with our cousin in CT who was staying at the hotel. Somehow between the dripping atmosphere and the great house wine (red..mm..) we just had to stay over. First of all - best staff in the country. They arranged for one of the apartments up the road in 5 minutes. They have a sense of humour and live up to "local is lekker". The apartment was clean, beautiful and conveniently located next to our favourite chinese restaurant in Cape Town. Not too noisy (but who cares anyway - it's Cape Town people..) and they have earplugs if you really want to pass out. Parking is not the easiest to find, but that is everyday life. You get more than what you expect after paying. Definitely going back. Soon.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Hello Carin

Thanks so much for sharing your time that you spent with us, we cherish all feedback from guests and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best from myself and all the staff here at Daddy Long Legs.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#87 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#66 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Hotel
Tudor Hotel
#94 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Property: Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
Address: 134 Long Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in the Daddy Long Legs Independent Travellers Hotel is like being part of an interactive art exhibition. Each room is uniquely decorated by an artist, poet, photographer, designer or musician, creating different themes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Daddy Long Legs Boutique
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing