We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oi!!!”
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oi!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Good price but there are a few things to improve on.
Please have ice available any time and dont say you dont have.
Please try to install AC as the fans do not work.
Breakfast should have variety - fruits should be included as there arent much option for vegans.
Other than that I was treated like a queen by the receptionist on Saturday and had a lovely spacious room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INSAUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    107
    58
    23
    16
See reviews for
23
96
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The hotel is situated in an excellent position, the very best for visiting Cape Town!
I spent 1 week with my wife, always found the room cleaned. Some fornitures are not new. Unpleasently there is no air conditioning, there is only a fan. There is'nt any free-parking, you have to pay for it. Breafast is good but not the best I ate in SA. We never ate at the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f_carbonchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Cape Diamond recently during our visit to Cape Town. The hotel is centrally located and convenient to many attractions. We had a relatively spacious corner room on the second floor. The only drawback was poor lighting in the bathroom - a light over the sink would have helped. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant isn't much to speak of - they seem to serve only buffet meals which are overpriced. However, there is a wonderful Mid-East Food Bazaar just across the street with great food and very reasonable prices. If your taste runs to other cuisine, there are quite a few restaurants within several blocks of the hotel. The hotel internet rate is exorbitant but just half a block away is an internet "cafe" where you can access the web for just 5 rand an hour - a real bargain (the hotel charges ten rand for ten minutes!). The Cape Diamond is good value for the money. Be warned that there is no air conditioning in the rooms although there are ceiling fans - which don't always do enough in the hot summer days. We would rate this as a two to two and a half star properly

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotaryRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We had no idea about the hotel scene in Cape Town before booking and when confronted by a plethora of choices we were a bit impulsive in suddenly opting for the Cape Diamond. As it turned out it wasn't a bad choice always bearing in mind it has few pretensions and certainly no aspirations to luxury status.

The hotel is situated in a bustling area of central Cape Town within easy walking distance of street markets, bars, restaurants and vaguely trendy, slightly hippyish shopping. It isn't near the relatively up-market Waterfront or the ritzy shoreline at Seapoint but from the upper floors and the roof terrace you can sit in a hot tub and look up at Table Mountain [though I never did]. We went out at night to eat and there were no signs of security issues although the hotel staff did indicate that some localities were safer than others.

The building appears to be a conversion of an art deco commerrcial structure and its stylistic origins have been preserved in the interiors leaving it with a plausible claim to be 'boutique'. The downside of this is that the tall narrow building has a cramped quality manifest in bedrooms without much spare space and very small shower units. In partial compensation there was a balcony which extended the full width of the floor. Given the temperatures whilst we were there the air conditioning was a must. There was a smallish cafe/restaurant on the ground floor which served a perfectly respectable anglicised breakfast and a limited menu at other times. The hotel had access to secured parking in an adjacent multi-story; very convenient if like us you were stopping a couple of nights before driving off.

I cannot speak highly enough about the amiable and helpful service at the hotel. The staff were not flunkeys or a highly trained and uniformed cadre; they were simply basically professional young people who seemed to take a genuine interest in what we wanted and offered all the support and advice we needed. The hotel was popular with what seemed to be gangs of Antipodean backpackers and to a degree the ambience of the hotel reflected that. It had an easy-going bustle which occasionally irritated but generated an overall impression of amiability. The only other slight gripe I would offer is, as in other South African hotels and guesthouses, I noticed a tendency for cooking smells to linger as though the ventilation systems didn't quite cope with the demands made on them.

Overall though this was a nice introduction to South Africa and South Africans. I must stress that by local standards this was not expensive; we paid about £70 a night for the room and breakfast so my comments should be read in that context. If you want extensive services, a great location, lots of space then this isn't the hotel but be prepared to put a hand considerably more deeply into your pocket. So I would certainly recommend but with qualifications.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were on a tour and Cape Town was our last stop. After spending weeks living in a tent, staying at The Cape Diamond Hotel was perfect. The hotel surpassed our expectations!

The hotel was very nice. Our room on the fourth floor was very nice. Looked very modern, wood floors and comfortable beds. The hotel is located within the central hub of the city, close to shops and walking distance to markets etc. The Waterfront, a definite must to visit was a 20 minutes or so walk. There is a great internet place nearby that was so cheap!

The staff were superb! One of the staff members saved us from a huge error. We mistakenly got our departure date wrong and she pointed this out and saved us embarrassment. The staff also were very polite and surprisingly remembered who were and when we made enquiries, they instantly knew our room number and who we were. The staff in the restaurant were very nice. We only ate the buffet breakfast there and it was plentiful. The usual eggs, bacon, cereal, sausages, juice etc.

The only bad thing about this place was the slow lifts.

On the roof top is a jacuzzi. We found it too windy to actually use it.

Best places to eat was definitely Long Street! Loved Longmarket Cafe, Royale Eatery for the best burgers, and there was a chic sandwich place on that street too!

There are great markets. Loved the markets called Green Market Square, located in Shortmarket Street. They are amazing and we managed to buy many bargains there. I suggest starting at the lowest price and negotiate from there.

The streets of Cape Town were also very safe, there is security everywhere!

In summary, great place to visit!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advocate_of_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rouen
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2010

nice place to stay
in the cape not easy to find a room on the high season
but this one is good , rooms are not too big but ok for a few days

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrinajacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights here after 2 weeks in the bush. The hotel is located 2 blocks from Green Market Square and 2 blocks from the hop on hop off bus line. The rooms are clean, I was not exactly impressed with the lack of privacy for the bathroom. Breakfast was great and the staff was extremely helpful and best of all the price was right. Unfortunatley they overcharge for the WiFi

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#71 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#87 of 109 in Cape Town Central
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#98 of 109 in Cape Town Central
240 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Property: Cape Diamond Hotel
Address: Corner of Longmarket And Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing