We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant atmosphere, great food & service”
Review of Mondiall

Mondiall
Ranked #101 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mondiall is situated on the water of Cape Town's beautifull Waterfront with the best view of Table Mountain of any restaurant in the city. Open all day with Breakfast, Brunch (at weekends with Live Sunday music), and afternoon cocktails and evening Dinner, Mondiall is without doubt one of Cape Towns best dining experiences. Friendly staff, excellent service and mouth watering food make this place a must visit location for long afternoon lunches and a whole lot more!
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
793 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Elegant atmosphere, great food & service”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Mondiall does not disappoint, the tapas are great, all our main courses were also excellent. The service is also very good, and the wine prices are reasonable. It is well-located in the V&A Waterfront, it is worth a visit! Well-priced food as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Gerhard,

judging by the number of reviews you have submitted you are to be well respected in sharing your foody thoughts and opinions! Thanks very much for your feed back and please know that we strive to be the best we can each and every day, in all areas of the service and hospitality industry.

Look forward to seeing you again soon - kind regards,

The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    214
    91
    44
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be great”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We came all this way to be offered Norwegian salmon. We arrived at 7 and then basically were told there was no more seafood. The harbour's so close you could fall into it! How could this be..... In addition the staff failed to deal with an incident that happened with our neighbouring table. Resulting in us feeling more than unhappy with the experience. Real shame - because it could have been great. What we ate was lovely but not what we wanted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelleruk039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello - thank you for your comments - sometimes restaurant have 'bad' evenings that do not leave a good impression on its customers. There happened to be a particular run on sea food the evening you were with us, and at this time of year we do buy in almost daily. There is no excuse for our customers to leave feeling unhappy and we strive to keep high standards. Comments such as these help us address these sort of shortcomings.

kind regards,

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something missing...”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I was really looking forward to seeing what Peter Tempelhoff had to offer with his new venture Mondiall at the V&A Waterfront but came away feeling pretty unconvinced. I couldn't fault the service which was friendly and attentive and whilst the brasserie menu covered all the standard bases you would expect (meat, fish, salads etc) neither of our dishes had the wow factor. There's also something about the dining room that didn't quite work. The huge screen showing the World Cup soccer in this contemporary designed environment jarred for me. I am confused by what Mondiall aspires to be and what crowd it aims to attract? Not what I was expecting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank capetownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Matt - thank you for writing the review. Cape Town winters are a time where we work on offering our customers different experiences. Our World Cup experience is aimed to offer diners a game of world class football (I appreciate it is not every bodies cup of tea!) and a great plate of food. We have just yesterday introduced our winter menu and the Wow factor is very present. The football is over on 13th June and I hope you will come back and try us again and have a complimentary bottle of wine. Sunday brunches we are introducing jazz in the afternoon starting in a few weeks, otherwise no other big screen offerings are planned.

look forward to welcoming you back

The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great New Fusion Food in the Waterfront”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Mondiall is a well needed new addition to the waterfront's restaurant scene.

Most places in the Waterfront are touristy and have pretty average food. Except for Willoughby's which is brilliant. Mondiall is also an exception, the food and decor and service is very refreshing.

A fusion style menu and offering. Started with a caesar salad and then had an amazing Salmon Miso for mains which came asian style greens and noodles. Finished with an incredible ice-cream sundae.

Meals are served in great quirky type dishes such as wooden platters etc. Coffee cups where double insulated....very cool.

The waiter was brilliant.

Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NATO-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi There; thanks very much for taking the time to review the our restaurant and we are glad that you enjoyed your time at Mondiall. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon, we have some great new additions to our winter menu.

Kind regards The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, smooth operation... for 140 people!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've booked Mondiall for dinner for 140 international guests of a business conference, and everyone loved it! The venue has an amazing interior design, the service was very good and the food outstanding. Especially the tapas that we've had as starters. Thanks to the entire Mondiall team for a memorable evening for all our guests! I will definitely come back in my private capacity and try more of the delicious food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi there - thanks for reviewing us - and we are very Happy that your function was a great success - we pride ourselves in being able to cater for large numbers and appreciate your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondiall also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mondiall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing