We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the mezza starter and their recommendations of the day”
Review of Mondiall

Mondiall
Ranked #105 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Mondiall is situated on the water of Cape Town's beautifull Waterfront with the best view of Table Mountain of any restaurant in the city. Open all day with Breakfast, Brunch (at weekends with Live Sunday music), and afternoon cocktails and evening Dinner, Mondiall is without doubt one of Cape Towns best dining experiences. Friendly staff, excellent service and mouth watering food make this place a must visit location for long afternoon lunches and a whole lot more!
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Try the mezza starter and their recommendations of the day”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

First of 4 restaurants we tried in Capetown and one of the best. Good starters and service and good value. Global cuisine rather than local but it's on the waterfront so you would understand this. Pinotage is great, sit back and watch the sun set on Table Mountain and then take a walk along the dockside to walk the meal off.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Graham

thank you for taking the time to write a review on our restaurant and glad you recommend our Tapas - it certainly is something that we are promoting as a fantastic way to watch the sunset over Table Mountain. Hope the golf goes well and to see you again.

best of luck

The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    217
    91
    45
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Mondiall is beautifully situated at the Waterfront on the water with views of Table Mountain. The decor is a little cool and so also will you be if you sit near the windows . And if you are not in to noisy restaurants this is not for you as you will be yelling to each other to be heard. But, the food is very good. We had parma ham and figs; beetroot and goats cheese arancini; game fish tataki; fish tacos ; the sirloin with cafe de Paris butter and the cheese burger . We were too full for dessert but the have a selection of yummy coffees and desserts . Brilliant meal and the best service ever , thanks to Minion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Amber

thanks for taking the time to make the review and glad you enjoyed our restaurant and fabulous setting.
We will have Pashminas very soon to keep guests warm in the winter - sorry if the music may have been a tad too loud for you, we do have the ability to change the volumes in all areas in order to keep all customers happy where possible - often the mood here is very upbeat with many people enjoying themselves - we used to be an old Jazz venue and will be re introducing live music soon starting with Frenchman Rene and his percussion band every Thursday from 8th May. come and visit us again and we'll make sure you are kept warm!

kind regards

The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Observatory, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time a charm”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was an impromptu visit to Mondiall and we were very happy that we went!
M & I both had a home made ice tea to start - "Infini-tea" was the better one.
We were served bread and a really nice olive tapenade to whet the pallet and then proceeded to (what our waitress Helen described as) the BEST BURGER you will ever eat....she was not far off!
It is a Wagyu beef burger served with truffle flavoured string fries which were both totally delicious!
I opted for a Ceaser salad and was not disappointed either.
We weren't going to have a pudding but thank goodness we did. The chocolate marquise with poached pear and rosemary ice cream was just sublime. Possibly the best pudding we have had in a restaurant, ever.
But what made this evening really great was our waitress, Helen. She was on the ball and friendly! It was really refreshing to have service that was so attentive and personal without the usual Cape Town snide attitude you so often encounter from wait staff. So two thumbs up to Helen! Well done, we will be back and hope that you will be there to look after us!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichyParkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Super friendly service and a funky upbeat atmosphere. Although we didn't book and it was a Friday evening we were not turned away as with another close by establishment. Instead we were invited to take a drink at the bar whilst they found us a table. The food was really delicious and we enjoyed the theatre of the kitchen being played out in front of us. The menu was really varied and the wine list was excellent. Brilliant evening!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Sharon - thanks so much for your feed back and glad you enjoyed our culinary theatre! We appreciate you taking the time to air your views - look forward to seeing you again soon.

best regards

The Mondiall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner & Drinks”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great food with perfect location @VnA Waterfront#LoveCapeTown #gotosouthafrica with great service and intense menu♡

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhondaSJ-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Owner at Mondiall, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi - thanks very much for your review and hope to see you at Mondiall again soon!

All the Best

The Mondiall 'Kitchen & Bar' Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondiall also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mondiall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing