We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Capetown”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #20 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Capetown”
Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed on the First floor in the Ghandi room. It is very large and has a great view of table mountain. Generally the upstars rooms are larger and have great views from the terrace.
The staff at Liberty lodge are friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are great.
It is easy and safe to walk to the center of Capetown from Liberty Lodge. The retun is uphill but a taxi is not expensive. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and for a drink in elegant surroundings the Mount Nelson Hotel is only a few minutes walk away ( use the rear entrance in Kloof Road).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustymiller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    48
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
187
59
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

I can't recommend Liberty Lodge highly enough. We had a great 5 days stay in a comfortable tastefully decorated room with balcony and view of Table Mountain. Ruth is an excellent host - she is friendly and welcoming and looked after us extremely well. She recommended, and booked, good restaurants, sites to see, taxi, bus and car hire info and even spent time helping us sort out a car to meet us from the train station in Jo'burg without charging for the call. A fabulous breakfast was provided outside in the patio garden with the help of Lisa. A great place to say while in Cape Town, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed here for eight nights at the beginning of February. From the outset, even before we arrived, Ruth was so helpful and friendly. On arrival at Liberty Lodge we found it (as well as Ruth and her staff) to be charming and very welcoming. Our room (Rhodes) was large, airy, spotlessly clean and had a good sized en-suite bathroom. It also had a great view of Table Mountain. A lovely breakfast was served each morning in the outside patio area, which was a great opportunity to meet other guests and plan the day ahead - with Ruth ever happy to help and offer advice. She is very knowledgeable and passionate about the city and is keen to recommend good restaurants and places of interest.

The location of Liberty Lodge was perfect for us. More suburban than downtown, but still within the city bowl and only a 10-15 minute walk from Long Street. There were
numerous good restaurants and bars close by, on & around Kloof Street and the area was busy and safe at night, without being loud or rowdy. The V&A Waterfront is probably a bit too far to comfortably walk, but is only a short drive / taxi ride away. Camps Bay is also very close by car.

All in all we couldn't have asked for more in terms of comfort, welcome and location. If we ever find ourselves returning to Cape Town, Liberty Lodge will be top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky_Racoon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We have just returned from an all too brief week in Capetown. Lovely weather and great venue but we must be 2 of the few people who never made it up Table Mountain as the lift was closed all but 1 day due wind. Bear this in mind!
We stayed at Liberty Lodge on Trip Advisor reccomendation and did not regret it one bit. All our booking arrangemnts and Airport pick up were delivered as promised.
The establishment is run by Ruth and her 2 very nice lady helpers. Ruth is very helpful with her local knowledge and advice.
Start the day with an excellent breakfast cooked freshly to order and usually eaten out side in the garden. Headout to enjoy your day and return to find your room carefully cleaned and prepared with various toiletries supplied. Relax on the roof terrace with a FREE sherry or a drink from the little honesty bar in the lounge. The pleasant lounge is available if you are unable to sit outside but our room RHODES- no numbers just names - was quite comfortable and spacious with TV. Come the evening you can walk to an excellent selection of local bars and restaurants in 10 minutes. There is plenty of variety and choice of an excellent standard. An inexpensive Taxi ride will take you further down town if you wish.
Downsides. It is not a hotel for the physically challenged or whatever politically correct euphemism I should use. The hotel is set on a fairly steep street which is not a problem if you have a car. There is plenty of on street parking.
If you have a ground floor room access should be OK but the Lodge does not have a lift and the stairs to the upper rooms are rather steep.
To sum up. A great place in a good location run by really nice people to a very good standard. It is almost 20 years since I had been in Cape town but hope to return in the not too distant future.
P.S. Visitors coming directly from the UK. Please take copies of the Daily Mail for Ruth if you can.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivek07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

A tough act to follow after An African Villa? We needn't have worried. Liberty Lodge was equal in every respect. Stunning room, comfort and location. Staff fantastic. Ruth is everything you would ever want as a host.
Will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkfromLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

The Liberty Lodge is in a great section of town and within walking distance or a short cab ride to some fantastic restaurants. Also, the views of table mountain from her deck are great. AND the breakfasts are too yummy. Ruth, the owner, is a excellent host and will set you up with anything you would like to do in the city. She is better than any concierge I have ever had. If you get in touch with her over email well enough in advance she get you into all the exclusive restaurants in the city. I recommend the Rhodes room if you can get it. It's spacious and has a big bathroom. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Ruth, the owner.
  • Disliked — Probably the tiny stairs to get up to the room because I am a tall guy.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Realgrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

In the very moment you get in touch with the nicest British English speaking owner you feel you'll learn a lot from her and the city she lives in.
With a stunning view of Table Mountain from our balcony and a beautiful and elegant room, we felt very welcome every day of our stay and Mrs Ruth was kind and available to suggest the best places to see, where to eat and which optional tour to get. Lucy was a delight, always smiling and cooking the best eggs of the whole honeymoon! I wish I had more time to chat with her as well! Next time we'll stay longer! And for your info, Cherry is for free in the living room! Great location on the hill, safe place, very convenient for great restaurants nearby and easy access to Table mountain as 1st place to visit when in Cape Town.

  • Liked — Mrs Ruth
  • Disliked — Stairs... not ideal with big luggage!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Virgoletta1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#10 of 155 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
938 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 155 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Property: Liberty Lodge
Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing