We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Nice Staff”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #24 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location Nice Staff”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The place is easy to get to (if you are driving). It's is very clean and well-appointed. It has a welcoming feeling and is in a really safe area. The location is quiet - - if you have an upper room. We had a room in the front downstairs and the road traffic was loud enough to keep us awake even with our jet-lag. The other couple we were travelling with had the downstairs room in the back and had no noise problems (although if the weather was nicer people would have had breakfast outside their door.) Breakfasts were yummy and large. Ruth and the staff were gracious and attentive.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room if you are noise sensitive (they were booked when we reserved our rooms.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eventr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    48
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
187
59
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at Liberty Lodge for 4 nights in early November at the end of a trip for work. Although I hadn't organised my trip before I arrived I was very lucky to end up here - as well as being a lovely place to stay it is also a great base for exploring Cape Town on foot and visiting the Western Cape. Everything you could need has been thought of in terms of comforts and Ruth seemed to be able to cater for any whims. If you like to swim I'd recommend a trip to Sea Point. Breakfast was great in terms of both food and company. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed with Ruth for six nights in November. She was one of the most attentive and gracious hosts I have ever encountered. She was extremely generous with her time and knowledge. Always ready to recommend a place to eat or a person to contact. The lodge itself is located in a pretty part of the city. It is beautifully maintained. The breakfasts were delicious! The rooms perfect. It will definitely be my to-go lodge when next I am in Cape Town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs facing the balcony have a wonderful view and are a great sun spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent one long week at Liberty Lodge and could not be happier! Ruth, your host, is your passport to Cape Town! Liberty Lodge is in a very safe area and close to many good restaurants and bars.
Breakfast is great!
Be warned, once you go to Liberty Lodge, you will always go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abidjan_ChrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only stayed 1 night but could have stayed longer. Nice room with en-suite, comfortable lounge with loads on books for reference. We were able to take the freshly cooked breakfast in the courtyard due to the lovely weather. Ruth is very helpfull with information on what to do and where to go and more than happy to book taxis etc. Cracking view from the roof terrace looking up to Table Mountain.
Ruth thanks very much for making us so welcome at such short notice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay at the Liberty Lodge. Everything was as advertised (quite rare nowadays) and Ruth is a charming hostess. Four rooms only make it a little gem. Breakfast is opulent. The coffee, sadly, is not top. Why not buy an espresso machine for a morning cappuccino? We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Liberty Lodge in September 2012 for four nights. We found the accommodations to be very comfortable and convenient for our purposes. We did plenty of sightseeing, and my friend ran the Cape Town marathon. We stayed in the Ghandi room, which, conveniently, had a door to the roof-top patio. The room itself was cozy, so having access to the patio made it feel more expansive. But the best part about staying at the Liberty Lodge was its owner, Ruth. She provided the BEST restaurant recommendations both near and far. The lodge is located in a neighborhood that is replete with fantastic, affordable restaurants that offer a wide range of cuisines. We ate Indian, Thai, pan-African and pizza, all within easy walking distance. We loved, loved, loved The Bungalow in Camps Bay, which we never would have found but for Ruth's recommendation and directions. And the breakfasts provided by Ruth's staff were well above par -- omelets made to order, cereals, yogurt, juices, toast, and French-pressed coffee. Ruth was always at breakfast to provide guidance and thoughts about what to consider doing in Cape Town. She also was invaluable help to us when we got into a little fender-bender with our rental car. Thank you, Ruth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolliDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tintagel Guesthouse
#10 of 155 in Cape Town Central
235 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
255 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#40 of 155 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Property: Liberty Lodge
Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing