We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #21 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Liberty Lodge for our honeymoon and were completely smitten with the place. Rooms, staff, and location were simply fantastic. We just loved this place. We chose a room with a view of Table Mountain. The room was spacious, well appointed and felt so cozy. Parking was easy (and free) along the street and free wi-fi was available (though a bit spotty at times). Each morning at breakfast (which was always delicious), Ruth would check in our plans for the day and offer us tips and helpful information to accomplish those plans. There were many great restaurants on Kloof St. that were within walking distance of the guesthouse. It was nice to be able to have a few drinks with dinner and not worry about having to drive. Overall, a really great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jendeut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth P, Owner at Liberty Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Hi! Your very kind comments about the Lodge are much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon here - waking up to a view of Table Mountain will, I hope, be a memory that will last for ever. I was unaware that our wi-fi might have been a little spotty at times - thank you for pointing this out - this issue has been investigated and attended to. Wishing you many, many years of happy married life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Located in the very chic, cosmopolitan and trendy "Gardens" area of Cape Town, Liberty Lodge is a brilliant place to stay. Within a short troll of Long street, there are many trendy and cool restaurants and bars in the area and has great views of Table Mountain.

Myself and a colleague from work spent 3 nights in Liberty Lodge reently and we could not fault it! Ruth runs an excellent B&B.

The rooms are very clean and it is nice at times to just relax in the lounge area, where there are many guide books to read.

Although we were not bog breakfast eaters, the breakfast was excellent - very fresh and the coffee first rate.

I will most defintely be back...hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishguy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed on a regular basis at Liberty Lodge, all the rooms are beautifully equipped and the rooftop patio views..amazing. The location is in the heart of this beautiful city, everything you could want to do is easily accessible and Ruth is always on hand to give out good ideas and suggestions of things to do. She goes the 'extra mile' to make bookings and to get good discounts for her guests. The staff are all local and very friendly, Lisa is a pleasure and makes the best breakfast omlettes in town. Everything is locally sourced and fresh, and I would always recommend Liberty Lodge to anyone who dreams of visiting South Africa. Terrific value for money, very reasonably priced for the standard and service!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with Individual African names, but particularly nice is the 'Madiba'...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jandevearmetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came to Cape Town for business to conduct meetings. We had a lovely time staying here. We had our privacy to continue with our business in a comfortable and easily accessable setting. Beautiful interior and and nice large rooms. From the balkony upstairs you have a great view of Table Mountain. Although the weather wasn't the best, we stil enjoyed what Cape Town has to offer this time of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It was a real pleasure to stay there - initially planned to stay for a few nights but ended up staying for 9 - Lisa who works there and looked after the house when Ruth was on holidays was fantastic - always smiling and very helpful - I'll always fondly remember her phrase "Oh Father !" beautifully sprinkled into lovely chit chat as she served very nice breakfasts.

Room was perfect with free wifi ( which was what i needed when i was there ) and great views of Table Mountain and the city from the balcony.

Located near Kloof Street which is a lively and somewhat trendy area with loads of good restaurants and bars nearby - good food, atmosphere and banter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good location on quiet street a block from a street with good restaurants, such as Arnold's, and walking distance to downtown. Nice large room downstairs in old home. Ruth was very helpful and made you feel a guest in a private home. Easy access to Table Mountain and out of Cape Town, without going through congested downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Liberty Lodge for 3 nights in May and Ruth was the owner was very welcoming, offering us suggestions of what to do and where to eat. This was our final stop off in SA, having driven the Garden Route and none of the other Guest Lodges had been as welcoming and Ruth and the 2 ladies who work there are responsible for that - they were great! The location was excellent with a 5 min drive to the Table mountain cable car and about a 10 min drive to the Waterfront. The Guest Lodge offered on street parking and was on a fairly quiet residential street, so street noise wasn't too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addictedtotravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
La Grenadine
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
260 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing