We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruth makes you feel as her friend”
Review of Liberty Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Liberty Lodge
Ranked #23 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We have stayed at the Liberty Lodge for 3 nights at the Madiba Room on the 1st floor with views over the city and a public terrace. We felt very welcomed from the first moment on. It is a traditional house in a nice and secure neighbourhood, maybe a bit near a busy mainstreet, but it was not disturbing us. You may walk out of the house and find a lot of nice restaurants (especially the Cafe Paradiso with a wonderful little garden and good food/wine). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served outside (when good weather) on a little patio in the shadow between beautiful flowers.
I can only recommend the Liberty Lodge to customers who do appreciate a nice intimate athmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelberlin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 387 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed two nights at Liberty Lodge at the start of our 2-week holiday in Cape Town and it's exactly the right place to start! Ruth is a warm and friendly hostess and her wealth of information and advice was a great help to orientate ourselves in this wonderful city. Liberty Lodge is homely yet offers good quality hotel comfort. The breakfast, taken in the courtyard garden, is a grand affair of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, health bread and eggs in any way you like! Don't miss the famous omelette cooked by Lisa!

1  Thank GiantPanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from South Africa and we spent 6 nights in total at Liberty Lodge. On our arrival, Ruth the owner, had arranged an airport pick-up for us which was really handy as we arrived in late from Ireland and were really tired after the long delayed flight and anxious to get to the Lodge. We stayed in a lovely large double bedroom and on opening the curtains on our first morning, could not get over the amazing views of Table Mountain!! We met Ruth that morning at breakfast, whereby she sat down with us and asked what we would like to see around Cape Town and what our general plan were. She made several great suggestions and went out of her way to book several tours for us. Breakfast is lovely and Lisa makes everyone feel so welcome with her warm smile and cheerfulness. If you are lucky enough, you will get to sample of her now famous omlettes!! The area surrounding Liberty Lodge is safe - we could walk to the several nearby restaurants at night without a problem. On leaving, Ruth once again arranged an airport pick-up for us and packed a food bag for us as we were leaving at 5:45 in the morning. 'All part of the service' was how she put it! Would I stay at Liberty Lodge again - in a flash!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nlpete25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Canadian78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank blondah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,038 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
648 reviews
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilton Manor Guest House
#37 of 156 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Lodge

Address: 33 De Lorentz Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Liberty Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years, this classic Cape Town bed & breakfast has earned an enviable reputation for relaxed and genuine hospitality. Originally a Victorian gentleman's house, Liberty Lodge became a fabric emporium and even a bordello in the 1940s! Today, it combines a skillful mix of Victorian, Art Deco and contemporary decor, with some stunning feature pieces. Perfectly situated to make the most of your Cape Town holiday or business trip, Liberty Lodge sits on the lower slopes between Table Mountain cable car station and Cape Town CBD. Restaurants and cafes abound in trendy Tamboerskloof and tourist sights are in close proximity. The four uniquely decorated rooms are equipped with air-conditioning and heaters, an electronic wall safe, hairdryer, a range of toiletries and most importantly comfortable beds! Complimentary wi-fi and safe on street parking is available. A hearty hot and cold breakfast is served every morning to set you up for the day either inside or outside in the charming ground-floor greenery courtyard. This homely Tamboerskloof Bed and Breakfast provides your respite from a busy day and is run by owner, Ruth Parsons, who extends a warm, personal welcome. Liberty Lodge appeals to young and old, singles and couples, on holiday or working, all of whom know that convivial surroundings and a comfortable bed waits.No Children under 12 allowed!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liberty Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Liberty Hotel Cape Town Central
Liberty Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing