We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a very cold-terrible stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of A Sunflower Stop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Sunflower Stop
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a very cold-terrible stay!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Sunflower stop on the night of the 13.07.12. I had booked a week in advance for a twin bedroom and we got a dirty room with toilet paper, pills and coins on the floor plus 2 other beds which took all the spaces room was extremely cold, we couldn't wait for the morning to come. Over and above we were very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThembieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunflowerstop, Manager at A Sunflower Stop, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review with us. All reviews, good or bad, help us to improve our backpackers hostel. We are very sorry you had a disappointing stay with us and hope that at the time you let a member of staff know that the room was dirty. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and this is normally the thing that most people positively comment on. I can only apologize for the coldness too, even if it was winter, we don't supply heaters in the rooms due to them being a fire hazard, but we do supply as many blankets as you like on request.
Again, sincerest apologies for your stay.
Thanks,
A Sunflower Stop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    126
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
62
103
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this Hostel at the beginning of July 2012 because it was rated quite high. We cannot share this opinion!
The rooms are okay and clean but very noisy and you can't expect privacy (you hear everything quite loud outside and they hear you). For this reason you cannot sleep before everyone sleeps and you have to get up when the others do! The communal ablutions are not clean.
The parking facility is non existant - you are just told to park somewhere on the street. Furthermore the staff is not that nice than in other hostels - they just gave us the keys and that's it (they do not show you the kitchen, ablutions and are not interested in helping you as in other hostels).
The internet is also not working properly. We always got disconnected and had to try several times to connect. By the way - the "unlimited internet for wifi" is limited to 500MB and costs 20 Rand and you can only use one device.
All in all it was one of the worst hostels we stayed in and we had so much better hostels for less money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosa_123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The best thing about this place is location. It's in Greenpoint, right in front of the Olympic stadium. As such, it's at the juncture of everything - Waterfront is 15 minutes away on foot and everything else is a short taxi drive away. It's also a BazBus stop. So you can get anywhere you want quickly and conveniently and don't get all the noise from in/around Long Street.

The second selling point is the staff. They are extremely friendly and very helpful with any tour bookings, tips or anything else.

The rooms are quite spacious and clean and the bar is quite nice as well for pre-drinks before you hit the Long Street.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at sunflower stop for 5 nights and overall had a fantastic stay. We had a double room with shared showers/toilets. Room was clean and comfortable but cold because there is no heater but they leave extra blankets for you to beat the chill. Staff were fantastic, helpful, full of good advice and always happy to answer our never ending questions at any time. They helped us plan and organise trips and also gave us good ideas not covered in the usual tourist guides/lonely planet books! Hostel is well set up and you can have free tea and coffee and unlimited wifi for 20R. Toilets and showers are very clean. Location is excellent. 10 mins from waterfront and 25mins from city centre. safe to walk about day or night. Glad we stayed here and would definitely book again next time were in cape town. Thanks guys.

Scott

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
463 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Husband and I spent five nights at Sunflower Stop and had a fine experience. The rooms are tiny (we had a room to ourselves and essentially the only thing that could fit was the queen bed and our backpacks) but clean and fine just to sleep.

Pros:
- friendly staff (except for one woman...she just seemed unhappy with life, not rude per se)
- bar open late
- w/in walking distance (at least for us late 20-somethings) to restaurants, green point stadium and the waterfront (though that one is a bit of a hike)
- fully equipped kitchen (just bring the food!)
- internet onsite (though it's not free)
- good value
- lots of tours the staff can help you book (though you have to pay in cash for all of them)

Cons:
- nothing really, though I suppose an iota of more space in the bedrooms wouldn't be horrible

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany_11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hostel is near Green Point Stadium and 10 min walk from the Waterfront. You can get downtown in 30 minutes walk.
We got there by car and parked it on the pavement in front of the hostel. We stayed in this hostel twice: first time we stayed one night and we had a small but clean bedroom with bathroom. The only drawback is that it was on the Main Road so it was quite noisy.
When we came back they gave us another bedroom, this one was better.
People at the reception are very kind: they kept our luggage for some day and gave us many useful information.
Tea and coffee offered between 8 and 10 a.m. Kitchen at your disposal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hostel is nicely situated, close to the harbour and with shops within easy walking distance. The hostel is close enough to Long Street to make nights out easy with a cheap taxi fare, but also far enough away that the area is quiet in the evenings, although as always just be careful walking around at night on your own. The hostel itself is lovely, a large clean kitchen and computer room upstairs and a bar and pool area downstairs. The hostel is immaculately clean and well maintained. Above all, the staff are what make this hostel so great. They are warm and welcoming and will help you with and problems or questions you have to ask them, and they are also up for a laugh. Overall the hostel simply feels like a home away from home, I cannot imagine anyone staying here and saying they have not thoroughly enjoyed their experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackingpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
608 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Property: A Sunflower Stop
Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing