We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”
Review of A Sunflower Stop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A Sunflower Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed at the Sunflower Stop because it was close to the stadium and I was attending the U2 concert. Some bad reviews here caught my sight, but I booked anyway and do not regret it.

I'm really picky with shared bathroom facilities and they were very clean, very tidy here. Also, my husband and I were in a double room and they had a safe in it, so no problems at all with safety. The staff was very friendly and very efficient too.

The only complaint I can add is that early checkouts have to be done the night before until 7 pm, which is quite early. Some friends that were with us and didn't speak english very well almost missed it because they don't warn you upon checkin (there's only a written sign in the reception). Luckily, we told them and asked the manager to wait so no harm was done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 367 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at Sunflower for 5 nights and we think this accommondation was good. We weren't really the target group for this place, since we neither was between 20-30 or into "going out at night and partying" but we liked the place anyway.

We stayed in a private twin room and that was okay. The first room we got was rather small and placed behind some big trees in the garden. The other room was better since it was just in front of the garden.

+
Nice clean rooms
Clean bathroom
Good kitchen and garden (nice pool+bar!)
Helpful staff (we did 3 tours through Sunflower and the staff was very helpful when booking this)

-
No AC resulted in lots of mosquito bites since we had to have the window open during the night
Lots of noice from the bar and the road below during the nights

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda_Olausson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

This is a really nice place to stay at while you'r in Cape Town. Great people, nice bar, rooms are fine, good beds.. I enjoyed it. Really recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I stayed at Sunflower for 3 weeks in a dorm room.
The rooms were clean and serviced on a daily basis, the showers and toilets were very clean too. All the staff were very helpful and the barman was the life of the party.
Sunflower is in a great location, 10 min walk from V&A and 5 mins in a taxi to Long St.

I would recommend sunflower to anyone, and is well priced.

My only negative comment would be about other guests and their inability to clean up after themselves in the kitchen. CONSIDERATION!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was the first hostel i had stayed in and didnt know what to expect. It was fantastic, the place was very clean, the room we had was big enough and the staff were excellent. Marina was always excellent company at the bar at night.
We booked a Winelands tour through the hostel and had a fantastic time!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeandRodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed here with a mate in Jan 2010 as we were out watching the cricket. The hostel itself is tidy and is cleaned every day. Staff were helpful and polite. Free use of safe for valuables. Internet facilities fine. We stayed in a private twin with shared bathroom - no issues. The room was basic but we weren't in it long - beds comfy, showers hot. Kitchen area well equipped. The bar was cracking, nice place to meet up with other residents. 20 minute stroll to the V&A down a busy main road. Can see the new football stadium from the front of the hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltCiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Omg i can't believe peoples reviews they say its terrible and the staff dosen't help this is totally wrong. The staff planned all of our trips with-out any hassle. People were also complaining about the partys, wow isn't that what hostels are about. The Suflower Stop was great it had a kitchen, internet, nice rooms with clean bathrooms. I did not come across one problem and if i had one Sunflower Spot would fix it. I would not reccomend staying here for seniors but for young college students it's the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntfbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#81 of 112 in Cape Town Central
734 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
398 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 129 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
740 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Sunflower Stop

Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $21 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Sunflower Stop 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town
A Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing