We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellevue Manor Guest House
Ranked #103 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really a good accommodation in Cape Town, smart, easygoing, close to the waterfront area, located in Sea Point, a quiet and safe neighborhood facing the ocean just below the Lion's Head Mountain. Gary, the landlord, is a really special person, kind and caring. He will help you to explore the city, to book the visits to the major attractions and to know eveything about cape town's citylife, what to do and where to go. The place is nice, an old XIX victorian house with wooden roofs and a cosy atmosphere. Few rooms with bathroom, variable sized.. if you need a bigger one ask for it. Good prices, easy to reach and big tasty breakfasts. They provide also a swimming pool and some bigger accommodations (suites) in a building close to the manor, anyway have a look at their website for further informations about them. Good choice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Central, cheap and very nice place to stay in Cape Town. Gary the owner is very helpful and can give you maps of Cape Town and tips on what to do. We stayed 3 nights and had a great time. Breakfast is very rich and good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Belevue Manor before a three week Overland trip and we ended up using our own camping pads and sleeping bags as the room was dirty with hair on the sheets. The main door gate is locked at night and our key did not work so if there were a fire, we felt locked in and it made for an uncomfortable night. There is wifi but it didn't work later in the evening as the manager turned it off when he left. He didn't think it was odd.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BainbridgeBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Tastefully decorated with all the small touches that add to the character of a place, this charming double story Victorian manor was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. My single room contained a double bed (comfortable with gorgeous linen), the usual amenities and a very spacious ensuite with a shower/bath. There is also a lockable safe in the room. In what would have been the backyard, there is a small bar, pool and lounge area. Breakfast is included and the range, while simple, is great - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cooked! And wi-fi is also available for free, although it's not always reliable. While not located in the city centre it is easy enough to get around either by taxi or by using the big "tourist buses". Of course the beach is only a few blocks away which is a bonus and there are plenty of places to eat, many within walking distance. The staff were very helpful and friendly, it almost felt like I was staying at a friends place. It's clean, quite and charming and very good value at around AUD$75/night. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location in Seapoint was perfect, two blocks from the sea and a short taxi to the waterfront area or downtown. Inclusive breakfast was wonderful and made this place a bargain at $80 per night. The small staff took good care of us and made us feel at home after four weeks in an overland truck.

Room Tip: We booked on line to get the low season rate which included the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
375 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The BelleVue Manor is a great place to stay in Cape Town for those looking for a small property with a personal touch.

Gary, the owner, is very helpful when it comes to needing help to book tours or getting a ride into the city. He kindly loaned me his laptop so that I could check e-mails from my room. He was a gracious host throughout my stay and I would definitely return.

Located just off the main street in Sea Point, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The city centre is a short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

As part of an overland tour group, we were booked into this very welcoming and smallish character-hotel. However, some of the modern additions do not add to the ambience, especially some of the bathrooms in the otherwise okay large rooms. Our 'private' bathroom was several steps up and with barely any room to move in the small space, we (who are of average build) had a hard time standing between the vanity and the toilet and getting out of the shower. Despite having a 'window', it could not be opened, and the door was only a very shaky sliding thing that provided little privacy. Okay if you're friends or close, but not if you're sharing and are shy.
Staff were especially nice and helpful; breakfast was abundant, with various options, and the location was very good. Within walking distance (seemed to be a fairly safe area) was one of our newly-discovered favourite restaurants (a S.African chain) called Ocean Basket. Excellent value for the price and yummy seafood - HIGHLY recommended in Cape Town, but no so much in Zambia! Would stay here again (price okay for this city), but in another room.

catnapcalgary

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank catnapbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#63 of 109 in Cape Town Central
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Break...
#72 of 155 in Cape Town Central
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Manor Guest House

Property: Bellevue Manor Guest House
Address: 5 Bellevue Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established Accommodation Gem (***Graded) offering excellent value for money services across a broad spectrum: from the Meet & Greet at point of entry into our beautiful Mother City, to a friendly beer around the pool, our accommodation options are varied: family self-catering cottages, units & apartments, bed & breakfast - a favorite; lunches & dinners by arrangement, small - medium groups; car hire; tours & transfers in & around Cape Town, endless others. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellevue Manor Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing