We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colonial Corner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Colonial Corner”
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Having previously arranged with Anthony, our transfer met us at the airport and quickly transported us to the lodge, on arrival we were met by the softly spoken Jean-Claude who quickly ensured refrshments were on hand and offered any help and advice we required. Room was furnished to a high standard with a warm elegant decadence. Breakfast was my best part, sat on a terrace with the warm sun on your shoulders overlooking well kept gardens and small pool being served by an enthusiastic happy team. The Quiches were amazing and all produce was fresh and tempting! Well done blackheath you lived up to your reviews and our expectations we hope we can come back sometime soon....

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
997
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Mark and I found Blackheath Lodge on Tripadvisor and contacted the owners Antony and John directly via e-mail. Because it was a busy time of year they could only accommodate us for two nights out of four. This did not mean that they left us at our own devices. Antony recommended another hotel in Franschoek and then another one in Hermanus constantly communicating with us to make sure these hotels met our requirements. Antony also organised our car hire to get to these places. When you have never been to a country before it is immensely reassuring to feel that someone is looking after you.

Our flight was delayed by nearly 12 hours but one phone call to Blackheath lodge told us this was not a problem and we were met at arrival. The hotel we were taken to was small but very tastefully furnished and decorated. Antony and John's taste is impeccable. The room was decorated in colours of pastel beige and cream, the king size bed was one of the most comfortable beds we ever laid in with lovely crisp white sheets.

Breakfast on the little terrace is a lovely experience with tables covered in white tablecloth and overlooking the swimming pool.

Antony did not abandon us even once we arrived at his hotel. Plenty of advice, directions, offers to book restaurants. Nothing is too much for the owners of this lovely place.

After our two nights we went travelling for a few days using the hotels that had been booked for us and which did not disappoint us. After two nights touring the area of Cape Town, we decided to have our last night at Blackheath lodge which by now felt like home. On that night and after all the travelling we did not feel like going to a restaurant. Not a problem, wonderful Jean-Claude ordered us a pizza which we sat eating over a bottle of wine and discussing our adventures with him and some other guests.

If you want to stay away from chain hotels, enjoy a cozy, friendly environment with great personalised service go and find Blackheath Lodge and its owners, you will not regret it.

Caroline and Mark - February 2009

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinecherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Having just spent a glorious Easter weekend at Blackheath Lodge (our second stay there this year actually) I just had to let you all know that it is without doubt the very nicest place to stay in Cape Town :-)
Antony & John are the most warm and welcoming hosts that you could wish for and their staff (without exception) an absolute delight.
You feel at home from the moment you arrive and Antony & John go more than the extra mile to help plan your stay in Cape Town and the surrounding area. Their local knowledge is invaluable - and in particular their local restaurant recommendations :-)
The decor and furnishings are extremely tasteful and the rooms are lovely and comfortable!
......and finally, breakfast on the terrace in the morning sun is an absolute treat not to be missed.
We've alreday booked to go back in July and again in October.
Stay, enjoy, remember!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I cannot say more than this is the ONLY place to stay in Cape Town for those who want to feel truly wanted as guests by Antony, John and their amazing team.

This delightful guesthouse is beautifully decorated and furnished. The breakfast terrace is a joy to sit at as the sun strengthens in the morning and the only real decision is whether to indulge in the full cooked breakfast offered by the ever smiling 'it is my pleasure' Una, or to sample the amazing house speciality quiche.

We stayed in room 4 overlooking the pool. A large airy room with all necessary amenities and a very comfortable and large bed with crisp white cotton sheets.

Seapoint is a lovely relaxed area on which to base your trip to Cape Town and is an enjoyable 25 minute stroll to the V&A area along the sea front or a mere £4 in a cab. This place just couldn't be positioned any better.

Whilst there, we were advised every step of the way on where to go and eat and what to see and do. Antony and John are so enthusiastic about making their guests have the holiday of a lifetime that it is as if they are experiencing everything for the first time along with you. What hosts!

It will not surprise anyone to know that we fully intend on returning to Blackheath Lodge - the sooner the better!

Stay anywhere else at your peril! - we visited the newly opened and expensive One & Only whilst there and it was totally soulless ( a real F.U.!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan-P-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Anthony and John offered an exceptional service, much more than anywhere else I’ve stayed. They made a lot of great recommendations and also helped us plan our trips to the wine lands, along the garden route and booked other hotels and our hire car. The service, food and wine were very good and you feel very much at home. Overall the Blackheath Lodge is a very nice place that I would recommend to friends, especially if you want them to send you off to great restaurants in Cape Town!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich_fos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

This was our first stop on our Cape Town / Garden Route holiday. Great place, ideally located, very very friendly and helpful staff, they really couldn't do enough for you and Anthony was just so funny, a real character who we were very sad to leave behind. Lovely room, great shower, really lovely pool area and loungers. Lovely terrace for pre-dinner drinks from the honesty bar.
Only slight criticism was the breakfast selection, compared to our 10 other accommodations their breakfast was quite limited and the staff didn't make it very clear what cooked breakfast was available, we felt we had to ask rather than be offered.
Other than that, top marks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Arriving late in Cape Town after a very busy week which included the wedding of my best friend Erica to her John we where pleasantly surprised.

The drive from George to Cape Town was extended by our stopping to do a 2 hour game drive and then the forever road works. Giving Anthony a call to tell him we are on our way and what do I get - the most friendliest response imaginable. Telling us to take our time all is good - shall he organize us a place for dinner??

So after a few u-turns - thanks to us not reading the signs we give Anthony another call and 1 2 3 he has us on the right road heading straight to the Blackheath where he stands waiting with Jean-Claude outside the house to help us into parking spots and to get all the bags loaded off.

I have to say at this stage we are driving two cars and are 8 people that needs directing!! With-in minutes all of us are in our rooms with our luggage waiting there like magic. It being a Saturday Night during the Easter Holidays and already past 8pm we take solace in the fact that we might have to enjoy take-aways for dinner but that is not the case!! Anthony has managed to book us in for dinner at a wonderful place and organized two taxi's to take us down there while we where getting out of our dusty traveling clothes.

This people was just the first few hours. Breakfast was divine each morning with the most friendliest of staff offering you your eggs any way you please and bringing it with a smile! Making special fruit salad's for Mike with no pineapple in and frying our John's eggs in oil instead of butter to make sure everyone is having the best possible start to the day.

Then assisting with daily road trips by giving us great maps and advice was Anthony and Michelle and John with some extended ideas to the ones we had already!

Phoning to the lodge at 6pm to ask for dinner reservations somewhere cause we have no idea what we want was never a problem with any of them and like magic the taxi's would arrive in due time to take us to our dinner so we did not have to drive in the evenings.

Then came the wondrous meal prepared by Michelle! O MY GOSH! What a wonderful evening it was. Mixing with groups from Holland, UK, Australia, Ireland, US, South Africa, Norweigh and I think there was some Swedish people as well! All sitting together licking our plates clean after the culinary delight that Michelle prepared for us in True South Africa Style!

Checking out also meant saying good bye to our friends as all where departing in directions that would not meet up for some time and all this was made even less painful by the assistance of Anthony, Jean-Claude, Michelle and John!

Bill described his room as the most comfortable museum he has ever been in - the elegance, the beauty all together with comfort! My room I loved! Cozy QUIET and complete with Play Station Three (that I can not understand to save my life but it was fun to tease the boys with) Erica and John enjoyed a room away from the noise of the boys room so that they could start enjoying life together as Mr and Mrs Munnelly!

The hidden away computer with internet connection was a life saver for those of us suffering from "Facebook with-drawl"

Drinks by the pool in the afternoon where others came to join in was a guilty pleasure we all enjoyed and will miss every time that it is 5pm and we are not sitting outside by the pool with buddies and beer!

What can I say - the rooms where fantastic, the venue was wonderfully placed but the reason we will go back is for Anthony, John, Michelle, Jean-Claude and the rest of their AMAZING team! Well done guys!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerRoyalHickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing