We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find, a haven of excellence.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
“A gem of a find, a haven of excellence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

Their hospitality and friendliness made us feel so at home that we would definitely go back. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Restaurants were recommended and booked for us each evening taking the pressure off us in finding a good place. The breakfasts were the best we have had ever. It made our holiday. One big advantage for us was the convenience of being close to the start line of the Cape Argus cycle race, so those of us who participated could cycle there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
225
990
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

For my very first tripadvisor review, I can't imagine a more deserving group than the crew at Blackheath Lodge. Anthony and company sweep you right up like family - their sole purpose being to make every moment in Cape Town as memorable as the next. Centrally located, the lodge is a 25 minute seaside stroll to the V & A waterfront and only a $4 taxi ride to most areas of interest. The rooms are thoughtful (fine linens, coffe/tea kettle, affordable mini bar, blow-dryers) with a personal decorative touch, which makes you feel like your staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. Breakfast is always a treat on the veranda: fresh fruit and yogurt, quiche, granola or a perfectly moist omelet exactly the way you want it. Blackheath is a very special place and I feel lucky to have found it for my first solo trip to South Africa. I will return to Cape Town and to the Blackheath family as well.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

I have delayed writing this review because often when too many people know about a great thing, it changes, and often for the worse. However, that's not really fair is it, so here goes...
There could have been nowhere better to start our honeymoon than Blackheath Lodge. We arrived 2 March 2009 exhausted from the wedding and the long journey and within 5 minutes, the tranquility and beauty of Blackheath began to work it's magic and smiles crept back onto our faces. Anthony and John are charming hosts, providing limitless hospitality and good humour. We were 'taken in' and looked after, to the extent that our itinerary was redesigned and taxis booked! With they're help, we sampled many of the lesser known delights that Cape Town and beyond has to offer. The Lodge has an element of old world charm with it's quaint breakfast porch overlooking a small pool. The rooms are light, clean and spacious, furnished elegantly. Nothing is too obtrusive. From our bed, the sea would flicker into our vision from behind the soft white curtains that moved with the breeze. Breakfast was wonderful and delicious. With fresh smoothies, tarts, fruit, cheeses and hams as well as Umas' amaising home cooked variations on full breakfasts, served on the porch in the morning sun with grace and charm. What could be better? We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

An amazing boutique hotel, tucked away in a quiet part of Cape Town, but still a great branching out location. The hotel decor is divine and the welcome and care I received second to none. Travelling on my own I felt extremely safe, and meeting fellow guests who have returned time and time again was testimony to the service you can expect on arrival at Blackheath Lodge. Even better, its fantastic value for money and would suit any traveller.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed here for five days after coming off an overland safari trip in which we had been roughing it in tents, and we really couldn’t have picked a better place for some well deserved spoiling and R&R!

Our room was enormous, the garden and pool area are charming and breakfast is served on a lovely white veranda which is a real suntrap. Breakfasts are really tasty –the egg quiches and homemade granola slices were my favourites. Each morning Antony asked us what we were planning on doing that day and helped us with maps and routes ,making bookings for us for the day trips and arranging car hire for us.

We tried to get into La Columbe restaurant whilst we were there as we wanted to eat somewhere special – Antony tried to book it for us whilst we were out for the day but they were fully booked and so he took the initiative and booked us into two other restaurants for our final two nights which both turned out to be really superb.

The lodge is a five minute walk from the sea and you can walk into town and the waterfront area in about half an hour.

We were also asked whether we would like to join in with a ‘Cape themed meal’ one evening which was a great way of meeting the other guests.

Overall, I can’t recommend this place highly enough – we would love to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carokuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Definately my favorite place I've stayed in on my two week trip through the Western Cape. I arrived rather stressed from a long drive back from Mosselbaai not accustomed to driving on for me the wrong side of the road. When however I stepped into Blackheath Lodge I was ushered onto the balcony and all the stress evaporated when I looked at the oasis of calm as Antony and his staff took care of us. The service is impeccable. The garden with the heated pool sheer heaven. Best is to relax in the evening with a glass of wine or a beer brought to you by Jean-Claude at regular intervals and have a chat with the other guests or owners. It really felt like home...with the exception that you don't have to do anything. I really didn't want to leave and can recommend Blackheath Lodge to everyone passing through Cape Town!

Yves & Alice
Belgium

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YvesDebroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

This guest house is one of the most freindly, peaceful, relaxing and unique places we have ever stayed having travelled extensively throughout the world over a number of years.
The location is a great, walk just 2 minutes to the shops, bars, and restaurants of Seapoint or if your feeling energetic stroll to Camps Bay or the Waterfront.
Antony,John,Lisa JC and the crew are the most friendly helpful hosts you could hope for.
Always on hand to recommend restaurants, tourist attractions, trips out of cape town, you name it they can advise you on it.
One evening Antony arranged the chef to serve a superb home made dinner for 20 guests where the local wine was flowing and a great evening was had by all.
The breakfasts are so relaxing on the lovely balcony over looking the gorgeous enclosed gardens and pool area that you won't want to leave .You can easily chill for an hour or so indulging in homemade breads,quiches,or have your eggs cooked to order.
After a hard day on the beach up table mountain handgliding off Lions Head or shopping at the waterfront ,you are greeted by JC or the team roffering a chilled glass of wine on the balcony..Bliss
The rooms are great this is our second visit to Blackheath the first time for 3 weeks and this time 2 weeks.Room f4 is huge with a large kingsize bed tastefully decorated with antique and african artifacts.
The cleaning service is of an extremly high standard and the laundry service impeccable.
This gem of a place is a real find with no negatives to report whatssoever.
Antony and the team are fantastic hosts paying so much attention to detail in all aspects of their accomodation and service.
We will definately be returning again next year for another fantastic friendly relaxing and hassle free holiday!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kvc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing