We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding start to our South African holiday”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2009

From the moment we arrived and until the moment we left our every need was taken care of by the wonderful staff.

Can't recommend the place highly enough and would definitely stay there again.

Great loation, great service and great accomodation

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonandcarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,613 - 1,619 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2009

You feel so at home in this place. Everything is perfect. Very comfortable and nicely decorated rooms, very pleasant pool area and terrasse, good location. Antony makes you feel so at ease. Every request is answered at and he gives you good tips for maximising your stay. To be recommeded for a cool and fealxing stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooolsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed in Blackheath Lodge for 5 nights and had a lovely time. From the pick up we had ordered from the airport to our last few hours, everything was terrific.
We had flown from London through the night so arrived very tired and our room was ready by 10am to let us have a wee nap.
All the staff were very friendly from Anthony to the night security guard. We had a car and were encouraged to use it or take taxis which we did. We did walk to a restaurant one night but when you see nobody else out walking it makes you more on edge that the idea of walking itself!!!
The breakfasts were very good although my husband would have liked a hot breakfast every morning. Having said that the quality on food on offer was second to none.
Our room was very comfortable and the furniture fab. The bed was great! The bathroom was a little basic but very clean nonetheless. Being able to make a cup of tea in the room was also a plus!!
The pool area is lovely but we didn't have the weather in September to take advantage of is.
The Seapoint area itself is an ideal base for exploring the city - its less than a five minute drive to the Waterfront. We walked to the V&A Waterfront a few mornings and walked home from the city also on occassion (while still bright!)
We received great restaurant recommendations from Anthony and he will book your table also for you. My own favourite was Il Leone ( I think that was the name) - a lovely Italian restaurant.
All in all this is a fantastic guest house with the best staff!

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank Dublinadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Believe the hype, this place is great! The owners and staff are simply wonderful, they can't do enough for their guests and are genuinely interested in trying to make your stay with them the best possible, from making resturant reservations, to booking taxis, to offering suggestion based on time of day and weather etc. They really can't do enough for you. Breakfast is wonderful, with owners and the staff buzzing around helping everyone make plans for the day. At the end of our three day stay i felt like i was saying goodbye to friends. We had a large room with a really comfy huge bed (and i'm fussy about beds), beautiful linens and the whole place is decorated in a lovely shabby chic style with chandeliers and sensible lighting. I overheard a fellow guest at breakfast saying "why would you stay in a hotel when you can stay in a place like this" and i couldn't agree more. I hate staying in purely tourist areas of big cities and staying here meant that when you went to resturants and bars etc you were mixing with capetowners not tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank missinggene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This was my second time in Cape Town and my second stay at the Blackheath Lodge. I travel a lot around the world and I have rarely found such a good combo of location, comfort, value and service.

The hotel is located in the heart of sea point in a very cute street bordered with nice little houses and colourful gardens. If you want to go out at night, the best part of towns are just minutes away (waterkrant and camps bay in particular). In the morning, a walk to the sea front will only take you 2 or 3 minutes - perfect for a nice morning run!

The hotel itself is a very nice property. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are decorated in a very nice way. There's a small garden with a nice pool. A good point: the hotel provides towels that you can take with you on the beach.

The customised service is really what makes the Blackheath such a special place... it's almost like having a local friend who knows all the best places, including the best bargains in town!

PS: One last point: on our last stay, 8 months after the 1st one, pretty much all the staff were still there.. you can really feel that's there is a good vibe and that people are genuinely happy to work there! A special mention to Antony, John and Jean-Claude who looks after the guests at night!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank citylifeLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had a wonderfull time in Cape Town and beyond. This was mainly due to Antony and his team at Blacklodge. He advised us about the best places to visit and recommended great resturants to eat at. They really went out of their way to help us, we even went to Antonys dentist . Thank you.
Blackheath has wonderful rooms and the beds were so comfortable, Great power shower in a large bathroom. I think the thing that made it so special was the attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious im still thinking about the seeded bread. It was lovely to have a glass of wine or two on the veranda overlooking the pool.
The location at Sea Point was good, we walked to the V&A in about 25mins it was a lovely walk following the coast .There are coffee shops etc to stop at on route.
You won't be disapointed if you stay at Blacklodge it can only inhance your holiday. We would love to come and stay again. I can't believe our luck that we picked Blacklodge. Its a shame Antony is not on hand to sort out all our future holidays.
Karen and Alex Surrey

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank titehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Staying at Blackheath Lodge was an absolute joy and it was a major factor in the success of our stay in Cape Town . This is a hotel which is part of the holiday experience and not just a place to lay your head, where you will be introduced to other guests in a relaxed and informal atmosphere and where Antony and his team always seem happy to see you. From the moment we arrived at Blackheath Lodge until the depressing date of our departure we felt a if we were being welcomed in by a close and loving family.
The lodge itself is very welcoming and well laid out with the focal point being the courtyard pool area. On many days we would return, overheated and thirsty, and sit in the shade around the pool, with an ice cold beer. Our room was large, air conditioned, tastefully furnished and very clean, with a huge bed.
Breakfast, served on the verandah, was always a perfect start to the day with a wide selection of delicious fare (My wife still dreams about the quiches).
Antony and John were always on hand to give advice on places to visit and restaurants to try, to book taxis and generally take the stress away.
We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnBigJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,106 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $154 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing