We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most charming lodge and wonderful experience!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A most charming lodge and wonderful experience!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on a recent visit to Cape Town and were totally impressed by Blackheath Lodge. The owners and staff certainly understand the concept of hospitality, as they did everything possible to ensure that our stay was most pleasant. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed, and the meals and amenities were excellent. The staff was very helpful in recommending and arranging reservations at local restaurants, and for recommending local attractions. Thank you thank you thank you! I have already recommended Blackheath Lodge to several friends who are traveling to South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have travelled the world extensively and Blackheath Lodge ranks as one of the best places where we have stayed. Anthony was a charming host and the service of staff was exceptional.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with high quality fittings. What sets this place apart from others is the feeling of being in a home with comforts and extras such as a welcoming communal sitting room and home baked cakes and biscuits available during the day. This is a place we would unreservedly recommend to all our friends.
Mark and Jenny, Melbourne, Australia

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferfairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Blackheath Lodge was a big hit and surpassed our expectations. Seapoint firstly is a good location to explore Cape Town from. We had hired a car so easy access to downtown and areas such as Camps Bay - both about a 10 mins drive.

Blackheath Lodge has a sophisticated and welcoming feel to it. Every effort is spared by the team to make your stay incredibly comfortable down to the very finest details of laundry, local mobile phone, posting letters and the toiletries in the bathroom. Anthony, the co-owner, leads guest relations admirably, with a personal touch to ensure everyone is set up for the day ahead. The breakfasts are superb with freshly baked continental items and a high quality cooked option if you want it.

It caters for couples or families and I think whether it's part of your honeymoon or your family holiday to Cape Town, you would find Blackheath Lodge utterly charming and extremely good value for money. Importantly every staff member has a smile on their face to make this a memorable stay and somewhere that I would give the absolute highest recommendation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pichon96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place has a great combination of comfort (good bed, GREAT shower), location (walking distance to the beach), and fantastic customer service. Breakfast was very good and offered an excellent variety and staff were always very helpful and smiling offering excellent ideas on day trips and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel. Our room was very comfortable, and all the staff were both charming and helpful. Communal lounge where hot drinks available all day. Breakfasts were excellent! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I don't want to share this review, as I don't want to have to compete for rooms if I am fortunate to return to Cape Town! My daughter and I stayed here inJanuary and I returned in July with my husband and other daughter. It was like returning home! The same precious staff were there to greet me and provide all the special treats (my secret!). Antony is a fabulous host and Charle is equally welcoming and helpful. Want a great restaurant? Ask Antony. The breakfast is too good, and after an ample starter of quiches, fruit, smoothies, granola, crepes, the cooks ask you for your hot selection of eggs and bacon, etc. They actually look disappointment if you do not order more.
The guest house is beautifully set up with an intimate communal cafe/bar/living room and other several quaint sitting spots. My favorite guest house on all my travels!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanmalawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Reviews I read were 100 per cent accurate regarding Blackheath Lodge in Capetown. It was such a pleasure to stay there. We had a large spacious room which opened to communal lounge and kitchen for making hot drinks......we didn't use this as the main relaxing lounge by reception was the place to be.
The tours we wanted to go on were willingly and helpfully reserved for us, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is included in the rate and is superb.
Blackheath is located 10 mins out of the CBD but transport not a problem as they have a taxi company always able to transport you.
Loved our stay and would happily return. Thank you Blackheath Lodge.

Room Tip: Just ask for large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing