We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in cape Town”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

It proves the hype it gets here and much more. Truly one of the nicest places I have stayed. The staff were fantastic. They give fabulous recommendation on hotels, places to visit. Anthony, Jean were fabulous and made our stay at Cape Town lovely.

We were in room 6 and it was wonderful and spacious. The breakfast had lot of variety and was awesome.

I highly recommend this and would love to stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Zenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This has to be one of the nicest places we have stayed on the continent. Very welcoming! After a late flight from JoBerg, the lodge had a car service pick us up at the airport and zipped us to the lodge. Nestled on a quiet street, we were greeted and escorted to chairs by the fire where the check in took place. Our bags were delivered to our spacious and well appointed room. We were in room 6. Wonderful. Great bed, fabulous bathroom and peaceful. They even have a cell phone for your use during your stay.

Charlay (sp) is the epitome of hospitality. Everything from restaurant reservations to sites to see while in Cape Town.

We were in the bush for 7 days prior and took advantage of the laundry service. In before 9 am and back the same day the the late afternoon. Fantastic .

Tea and coffee are always available. Wonderful breakfast goodies and made to order eggs. What a great kitchen. Too bad they only do breakfast which is included by the way. Since it was winter, the pool is not up and running. This is a small and intimate lodge where service is top notch. If there were 6 stars, I would give it to them. Thanks also to Jean Claude who also took such very good care of us. The staff is really there to serve and the do it so well.

We will certainly be back when in Cape Town. Save a room for us please!

Room Tip: Try for room 6. A great corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohnrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

What an unexpected gem Blackheath Lodge was. The apartment/room was so cozy.so comfortable, immaculate as was the rest of the hotel. The staff was superlative . Always willing to help you do anything you wanted to do and with a smile. I loved my stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone. With the help of trip advisor I made my reservations at this hotel and I certainly was happy with my decision.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Now I can see why people fall in love with Africa and its people. My husband found Blackheath on TripAdvisor. He planned a trip for us and another couple. The BL more than exceeded our expectations primarily because of the attention to detail and hospitality exhibited by the staff. Our main contact and all things Cape Town was Antony--more than generous with his time and suggestions. We did not have a bad outing or meal while we stayed. We were pleasantly surprised at our 'apartment'--we stayed in with another couple. While we didn't cook, but we loved having the kitchen and open air porch that gave us a view of the water! Absolutely wonderful. Everything about the room/apartment was great. The breakfast is delicious and served with a smile. Because the BL is, itself, so warm and inviting, it makes guests feel welcomed and they actually chat to each other. We met many nice people staying at the lodge.

The BL arranged for our transfer from the airport and also our rental car--very helpful. We did not want for a thing while we were there. The other wonderful aspect of the BL is their appreciation for their staff--it shows and we were happy to give a little to the education fund they have set up for some of their staff's children. Just a great place and great service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This wonderful lodge is operated by very warm and caring staff who took care of us like family. They found excellent restaurants for us each night that really added to the joy of being in Cape Town. The accommodations are great, breakfast is first rate with a cook who will make anything you desire and they have a huge selection of DVD movies to choose from. We would come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Blackheath Lodge is hands-down the best place I have ever stayed. The hospitality from the first minute we arrived until we walked out the door to fly home was incredible. The staff is so attentive and goes out of their way to call you a taxi, recommend a restaurant, or brew you some coffee or tea. The lodge was adorable, very nicely decorated, cozy, and comfortable. We looked forward to coming back at the end of every day! Breakfast is wonderful. It is not your typical breakfast buffet, but rather little quiches and other tasty homemade treats. You can also ask for a cooked breakfast if you would like. Coffee, tea, bottled water, and cake or cookies are available for self-service all day. The location was perfect. It was about a $5 cab ride to V&A Waterfront and never more than $10 to anywhere we went. It is about three blocks from the water if you want to go for a walk. I felt very safe in the neighborhood while we were there. Don't look any further - stay here! You will not be disappointed! Thank you, Blackheath!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I recently stayed at Blackheath along with 5 friends – friends who were also clients - as I recently launched a small group travel planning service. I booked Blackheath based on Trip Advisor recommendations. I had not previously stayed there and admittedly it is unwise to reserve unknown accommodations when booking for clients. But, I wasn’t thrilled with other lodges I have stayed at in Cape Town so I opted to try a new one, sight unseen. And,Trip Advisor’s positive testimonials were right on the money. The accommodations are lovely, the staff goes overboard to make your stay an enjoyable one and Antony personally and cheerfully attended to whatever request was asked of him. I couldn’t recommend the place more highly and will be returning again next year.
I also want to note that our group did two separate tours with John Lawrence of Big Blue Sky Tours and Trails. (john@bigblueskytours.co.za ). Not only is John a delightful person, but he is erudite, gracious and fun to be with. A retired history teacher he had everyone enthralled with his history lessons and his own personal experience during the years of apartheid. Check him out if you are contemplating a tour to the Wine Country or to the Cape of Good Hope.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $154 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing