We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Hospitality at its Best!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cape Hospitality at its Best!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We cannot think of enough superlatives to describe our experience at Blackheath Lodge. John and Anthony and their wonderful staff (Charle, Godfrey, and all others) are very friendly and work hard to meet their guests every need. Seems they have thought of everything from the quality of bedsheets to a local cell phone to a cute little Cooper to rent for the day. Breakfast is wonderful and even coffee is bed is not too much to ask. They will arrange all your bookings, taxis, travel and tours in SA if need be. We enjoyed chatting with them evenings in the bar or at breakfast. Lovely people, great location, an enhancement to your holiday in beautiful Cape Town.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and used the common area as our own living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    123
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
1,020
149
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Having read all the glowing reviews on tripadviser, it was almost an invitation to find fault. However, there is no fault to be found.
The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was superb. The service was excellent and the staff could not be more helpful - Anthony, Godfrey, Charlene (sp?) - we're always on hand to help with car hire, wine tours and advice.
The Blackheath Lodge was not simply somewhere to sleep - it enhanced our experience and enjoyment of Cape Town.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Cape Town - look no further - book here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment is spacious, well appointed and has a lovely wood burning stove for the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_RedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights here and what a gem it is. Staff are a "team" ready to assist with any requests we had. Restaurant and day outing recommendations were superb. Breakfast was delicious with always a smile. A real gem!

Room Tip: We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights at the Black Heath lodge, recommended by our travel agent from Victori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed in Blackheath lodge for 4 nights in Jun 14. From start to finish it was a wonderful place to be. The service here is first class. The lady on recption and all the staff are so welcoming and booked all excursions for us and really couldnt do enough, advised us on restaurants, places of interest etc. The room we had was fantastic very large bed with a lovely bathroom. Hotel in quiet area no traffic noise. The breakfast each day was also top quality with a hot breakfast with a huge range available on the buffet also. Located within 25min walking of waterfront or 5 min in taxi. 10 min walk to beattiful beachfront boardwalk. We did not use the pool area because of the time of year but it was still cleaned every day which shows their attention to detail. There is also a lobby area with a large open fire, a laptop computer for guest use and a large selection of books. Top class.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We visited Cape Town for three days from the 5th to the 7th of June this year and what a wonderful place Blackheath Lodge was to start our trip.The staff are all fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them and their knowledge of the area - what restaurnts to eat at, what trips to go on is extensive. They were welcoming from the start with delicious home baked biscuits and cakes which after coming off a long flight from the UK was very appreciative. The rooms are really lovely with attention to detail visible in all parts of the hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast was a delight each morning in one of the nicest little terraces. It was lovely to be able to interact with the owners who made you feel very welcome which you don't always get with the larger hotel chains. All we can say is we'll definitely be back to Cape Town and Blackheath Lodge will be the first place we'd look to book. Try it for yourselves you won't be diappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

we visited Cape Town from the 31st tiill the 4th of June this year and stayed at BlackheathLodge. Coming off 21hours of traveling and being greeted with freshly baked biscuits and warm and welcoming staff was an indication of the days to come :) what can i say ? This place feels like home ! all the staff go above and beyond theyre means to help and guide you and make you feel as welcome as possible, the rooms are so beautifully decorated and the beds are extremly comfortable. Whenever we travel, we always look for small, welcoming places like this, makes the trip much more personal and this was certainly that. You meet and interact with the owners who are simply wonderful and get to know them also which was such a nice thing to do :) Cape Town is a magical place and it captured my heart..this place added to that :) I highly recomend it for anyone who is visiting :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I travel a lot with my job and get very tired of chain hotels so always try to find something different. This is a great place that did not disappoint. Thoughtfully and tastefully decorated, and well maintained by an an excellent team. Jean-Claude is the unsung hero! It has a homely and welcoming feel and is in a good location in a nice part of town. If you're looking for something a little different, I recommend Blackheath Lodge without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNash78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing