We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Cape town”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Cape town”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights in this comfortable and charming B and B on our first trip to fabulous Cape Town. It's in a very good location - you can walk down to the bay or to local restaurants with no trouble at all. Both Charly and Tony were great, very helpful and informative, from getting us taxis, making reservations on line, to giving expert directions and driving advice. The entire staff was great. Our room (#2) was a bit small, but very doable, and very clean and since we didn't spend much time in it, the size didn't matter. The bed is comfortable and the room is quiet. (There is an additional outside door to block the noise in the hall). When we return, we'll ask for a little larger room. The breakfasts are good, perhaps a little more variety would do, but the food quality is a "10." We enjoyed the ambiance and the other guests. We didn't even have time to check out the new wing or the outside - not warm enough to swim. We will definitely return to Cape Town and make Black Heath our home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,672
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
231
1,012
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent our first night in South Africa here and couldn't have had a better experience. Our room was beautiful and spacious - outfitted in small ways that we really appreciated. The location is perfect - walking distance to restaurants and the waterfront. Our hosts were quite helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. It was a combination of high quality buffet items and made-to-order plated breakfasts that were all delicious. We would highly recommend this property and if we are back in Cape Town again we would definitely stay here again. There are a lot of different levels and steps/stairs, so if you have mobility issues you should check with the staff there to make sure they can accommodate you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My recent trip to Cape Town was absolutely magical - not only was Cape Town one of those most magnificent and incredible cities I've ever visited, my stay at Blackheath Lodge was just as sensational. The staff were so incredibly friendly, nothing was too much to ask and the assistance with day trips/restaurant recommendations and bookings was fantastic. The rooms were outstanding - spacious, breezy and modern but with the homely feel to the lodge, were just perfection. We really could not have asked for more! Would 100% recommend anyone thinking about a trip to Cape Town to stay here!

Room Tip: The decor and room size in the new wing that has recently been added is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieLovesTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Blackheath Lodge in Cape Town. It is a charming place with an elegant African style. Our room was very comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was gorgeous! The breakfasts are delicious and the staff could not be more attentive and helpful. The location is great and we felt very safe. Parking was a little bit tricky as the street is very narrow, but it was not a concern. We highly recommend this gem in Cape Town.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBR0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I returned to this very stylish lodge since the South African worldcup four years ago. I really like the design and service. This time Blackheath had a new wing built, was firstly assigned to one of the room, but the newly furnished room had strong chemical smell, so we got upgraded to move to the older wing apartment. The new room has a deck/balcony over looking the sea, a large living area and lovely design. Moreover, the service was very good and responsive as I remember a few year back. We were there for 3 nights total (1 night at the new wing and 2 at the old wing).

Please see the detailed rating where I gave lower rating to sleep quality/cleanness/rooms mainly due to the one night stay at the newly furnished room. If you are living in the old wing, everything is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights with two adult children celibrating two birthdays. We couldn't have booked a better place. Staff, rooms, breakfast, pool and bar were all very nice and the atmosphere was fanstastic. The best staff ever, so nice, friendly and helpful. We got help with all sorts of bookings and suggestions. We really appreciated the restaurant and vineyard tips. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per_Sollentuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Blackheath Lodge continues to go from strength to strength. Antony and his team are committed to ensuring that you have the perfect stay. This was our second visit and we can't wait to return. It really is the best place to stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Take a look at the 'new' rooms, they are especially stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dance76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing