We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackheath Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$762
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
$143
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$154
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveler rating
1,788
132
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,788
132
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phonesea pointhome away from homedvd playerrestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffstay in cape townsouth africalittle touchescape pointbreakfast was deliciousour honeymoondinner reservationspersonal servicewestern capelovely roomcamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose the Blackheath Lodge for a 2 night one day quick romantic stop-over for it's location and excellent reviews and weren't disappointed! Having been lived in Seapoint for a few months 15 years ago, it was nice to be in the area close to the center of town and V&A waterfront.

We had been in contact via email with Charle beforehand and had arranged for an airport transfer to the hotel as we arrived late and weren't keen on renting a car at the airport and driving in the dark in an unfamiliar not so safe place. We came from freezing weather and it was nice to be able to sit outside with a nice cool drink before retiring to the gorgeous spacious room - bed was indeed very comfortable and bathroom was clean and tastefully decorated :)

Breakfast buffet and the cooked breakfast were excellent in both choices and quality and the breakfast area is charmingly decorated, as is the rest of the hotel both inside and outside spaces.

Staff are all very friendly, and deliver excellent service with great personality.
We felt genuinely welcome and very spoilt.

My partner spent the day by the pool enjoying doing absolutely nothing in the sun while I went off for the day to meet a friend I had made when I was there previously; so we didn't make use of any of the available daytrips or activities. However hopefully we can come back and stay a bit longer a next time and see a bit more of the wonderful cape region.

Apologies for the shameless plug but should anyone want a local lunch experience in one of the main streets of Woodstock, please go see my friend Shaakierah at her cornershop cafeteria http://goo.gl/maps/vtp52 for the address. She makes great home cooked Indian food!

Thanks again for a wonderful stay to all who make the Blackheat Lodge such a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Lovely room but the one we were in had the 7 sins spelled out at on the wall opposite the bed, which was a bit odd to us.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Spent 2 nights here to start a weeks trip to South Africa. As per all other reviews, we found it excellent, clean, comfortable, felt safe etc... The thing that really stood out was the willingness of the staff to give top recommendations for an enjoyable trip, and give advice beyond your stay with them. Anthony and Charle planned our entire week long trip at no extra cost, and their recommendations were consistently excellent! Definitely recommend and would return!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is easily the best hotel experience we have ever had; mostly because of the staff although the rooms, facilities and location are also great. Blackheath Lodge is small and absolutely charming. The rooms are all unique and have a feel of home. The beds are very comfortable. The staff couldn't possibly be more helpful, particularly Charlie who was always there to take care of all our needs and to think of things we might like but didn't know to ask about. She is a very big part of what makes this hotel fantastic. The breakfast is really lovely too and there is always wine, coffee, tea, sweets and cookies to nibble on if you so desire. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwikate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What a gorgeous little hotel!!!
Really friendly staff, everything looks fresh and clean and vibrant.
Quaint quirky decor- from coffee pot lampshades to their signature "B" everywhere, no detail overlooked.
Room had a DVD player, air con, a little mobile phone in case you have an emergency call to make. The bed is amazingly comfortable to the point I want to know who their supplier is!!! Haha

Thank you guys, what an awesome stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lakota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is pretty much close to perfect. We were visiting South Africa from New York City and Cape Town and this hotel took me back to my California days. From the minute you enter to the minute you leave, you will be absolutely delighted by the little charms and comforts of this place. The decor is all hand-picked by Antony and his partner and Charle is the sweetest manager.

Its located so perfectly by Cape Point in Cape Town, one of the best areas. The rooms are just beautiful and luxuriously homey. You get the comfort of being in a rich-friends house guest and the relaxed atmosphere of your own home. From the pillow mists, to the towel warmers, the glasses of wine filled for you waiting in your room, to the honor system of writing down what you used - to the amazing port wine in the living room - the devil is in the details and Antony got it right. My friend and I actually miss our time spent at Black Heath and i think it will be hard to trump our experience there.

We were honestly noting down everything we used and when checking out were expecting to see the bill for it, but we were comped almost all of the things we used and were really pleasantly surprised. Even thought their pool was being re-painted during our stay and there was a bit of paint smell in the lodge, it was STILL SO PERFECT. We'd like by the empty pool, in the lounge chairs staring at the sky at night just feeling a sense of serenity and happiness.

Their cute little cat is awesome for any pet lovers. He will come hang out with you while you have breakfast. So fluffy. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms downstairs across the pool. It has its own living room and the amazing port :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aparna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews