We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service with a Personal Touch”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service with a Personal Touch”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is easily the best hotel experience we have ever had; mostly because of the staff although the rooms, facilities and location are also great. Blackheath Lodge is small and absolutely charming. The rooms are all unique and have a feel of home. The beds are very comfortable. The staff couldn't possibly be more helpful, particularly Charlie who was always there to take care of all our needs and to think of things we might like but didn't know to ask about. She is a very big part of what makes this hotel fantastic. The breakfast is really lovely too and there is always wine, coffee, tea, sweets and cookies to nibble on if you so desire. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwikate2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
233
1,017
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What a gorgeous little hotel!!!
Really friendly staff, everything looks fresh and clean and vibrant.
Quaint quirky decor- from coffee pot lampshades to their signature "B" everywhere, no detail overlooked.
Room had a DVD player, air con, a little mobile phone in case you have an emergency call to make. The bed is amazingly comfortable to the point I want to know who their supplier is!!! Haha

Thank you guys, what an awesome stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lakota75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel is pretty much close to perfect. We were visiting South Africa from New York City and Cape Town and this hotel took me back to my California days. From the minute you enter to the minute you leave, you will be absolutely delighted by the little charms and comforts of this place. The decor is all hand-picked by Antony and his partner and Charle is the sweetest manager.

Its located so perfectly by Cape Point in Cape Town, one of the best areas. The rooms are just beautiful and luxuriously homey. You get the comfort of being in a rich-friends house guest and the relaxed atmosphere of your own home. From the pillow mists, to the towel warmers, the glasses of wine filled for you waiting in your room, to the honor system of writing down what you used - to the amazing port wine in the living room - the devil is in the details and Antony got it right. My friend and I actually miss our time spent at Black Heath and i think it will be hard to trump our experience there.

We were honestly noting down everything we used and when checking out were expecting to see the bill for it, but we were comped almost all of the things we used and were really pleasantly surprised. Even thought their pool was being re-painted during our stay and there was a bit of paint smell in the lodge, it was STILL SO PERFECT. We'd like by the empty pool, in the lounge chairs staring at the sky at night just feeling a sense of serenity and happiness.

Their cute little cat is awesome for any pet lovers. He will come hang out with you while you have breakfast. So fluffy. I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms downstairs across the pool. It has its own living room and the amazing port :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aparna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We liked it very much. The people are so nice and we liked the art style. The breakfast was fresh and good quality. There is a small Pool and some lying chairs. Our room was small, but very nice. The bed was good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We only spent two nights here and wish it had been longer. From the warm welcome, right through to the friendly breakfast service, everything was first class and designed to make the stay comfortable and relaxed. We particularly liked the loan of the mobile phone to help with calling taxis. The location was perfect on a quiet street but within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saynotopotatoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My colleague and I spent a week at Blackheath in early February and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation and level of service from all the staff. It is obvious that Anthony and his team have put a great deal of effort to ensure guests have a memorable stay. Would highly recommend Blackheath to both business and pleasure travellers alike. Looking forward to my next stay. Thanks so much guys.

David

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent a week at Blackheath Lodge in February and we are pleased to say that it was the best guesthouse we have ever stayed at. Anthony and his staff made sure our experience was beyond the ordinary; the rooms and generous common areas were stylish and comfortable, and the ever so helpful staff ensured we always had great dinner reservations, timely taxis, and interesting hints on exploring Cape Town. We highly recommend the Blackheath to anyone visiting the Cape.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing