We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Blackheath Lodge is a stylist boutique guesthouse in Sea Point, an upmarket area of Cape Town. The rooms are luxurious and the colourful, slightly quirky living room area a good place to relax. Staff are friendly and will gladly accommodate special requests like early breakfasts.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Blackheath Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our stay here was very good and the staff could not have been more helpful. Very good recommendations on where to eat. It is very quiet and extremely comfortable with large beds.

We were upgraded to the Suite, which was very pleasant. The only small downside was the aircon in the bedroom tended to be difficult to control on a low fan speed.

Room Tip: Check the aircon!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankthewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

After reading a great number of the recent and older reviews, there is not much to add. We stayed here for 11 nights over the Christmas and New Year holidays -- and Blackheath "wears well" and consistently deserves all of these superlative reviews. Antony, John and the staff have created and maintain a hotel environment, to which we will compare all others in the future. We did not find another hotel during our stay in South Africa and Abu Dhabi that we felt provided the same level of personal, caring service and a comfortable, welcoming environment. As a matter of fact, we decided we could only name a couple of other hotels in all of our business and leisure travel that compared.

Just a couple notes about the staff's personal attention and competence:

1) We had a medical emergency during the morning of our arrival to the Lodge. When we arrived at the Lodge to drop our bags, Charle had sorted out which hospital to send us and the taxi was ready to take us to the emergency room. After we returned and in the coming days, the staff was very caring, providing odds and ends that we needed, such as clingwrap for showers and extra towels.
2) The taxi service, all previously arranged by the staff for all of the guests on New Year's Eve, did not arrive to take the guests to their various NYE destinations in Cape Town. So, John took out their car and drove all of the guests to their various destinations in time for their reservations. Above and beyond call... And, doing this...after a putting on a wonderful NYE cocktail party for the guests!

So, as you think about where to stay in Cape Town, don't even think about going anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigheliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. Agree with all the comments posted by previous reviewers and just wanted to add a note to say how nice the breakfast staff were and how brilliant the actual food was! The afternoon cupcakes were delicious.
Charle the manager was very helpful in recommending restaurants and making reservations, arranging taxi's etc, which was great.
The only (very slight) negative for us was that our bathroom (room 9) was a bit small and in need of a bit of an update. The room itself, although a deluxe room, was a bit on the small side but beautifully decorated with a lovely comfy bed! I left it a bit late to book for our dates so had to book a deluxe but if we return, I'll book a larger room!
BL also has a tips fund to help their employees pay for their children's schooling, what a great thing to do!
Would thoroughly recommend BL.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at Blackheath for 3 nights on a recent trip to Cape Town. They gave us a really warm welcome and the warmth of the owners and staff remained all through our stay. They gave us great recommendations on things to do and places to eat at. The rooms were well appointed and everything was neat and perfect. One of the rooms was rather small, but the rest of the experience made up for it. Breakfast was included and was very good as were nice touches like snacks served at tea time. They even provided a local mobile phone for use.

Blackheath is located conveniently as well and we even walked to the V&A Waterfront one day, albeit a longish walk. We would happily stay here whenever we visit Cape Town in future and highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

There's really not much to say that hasn't already been said. Blackheath was a perfect choice for our first trip to Cape Town and we will absolutely stay there when we return. Great advice and help from Antony and Godfrey, wonderful breakfasts, delightful room. Simply cannot say enough good things.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #5 and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Blackheath is fantastic. The entire staff makes sure you have everything you need and more. They are so thoughtful. My daughter and I were sitting at the pool and they came around and served us ice cream as a surprise! It is small and beautifully appointed. It has really changed my mind about boutique hotels. They are now my first choice. They greet you by your first name and always are making sure you have everything you need. They make you feel as though you are a celebrity. The food is wonderful and you can order an individual hot breakfast every morning as well as the food they have on the buffet to choose from. Selfishly is it better than I ever would have ever expected and now that I write this, everyone will know about it. The only problem is that it is too far away from my home (the US). What a treat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoforreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $114 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing