We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place we stayed in South Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived at Blackheath at 3.00 on a Sunday having driven 500 km from Knysna.
We were going to see Springsteen at the Bellvue Velodrome that night. Antony welcomed us, got us a drink, showed us to our room, organised some sandwiches and told us our cab would be there at 6.00 to take us to Bellvue. When the cab came he gave us a mobile with the hotel and taxi driver's (James) number in it. Introduced us to James and explained he was taking us there and would pick us up. He did all of that and we had a great night.
We didnt do a thing. Antony sorted it all.
The next day we headed off to the Winelands but came back to BL for four further nights. What we loved about it was
* the quality of the welcome and advice given by Antony, Charle, Godfrey and Jean Claude. The helpfulness of all of the staff
* the hotel itself - North Lanes Brighton look feel and vibe
* the other guests - friendly and welcoming
* great breakfasts food and drinks
* Cape Town in general but Sea Point and the promenade in particular
* it felt like home
We plan to return to SA and will stay at BL again

Room Tip: We stayed in two both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simongeorgep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and so pleased you had a great time including the Bruce Springsteen concert ! We look forward to welcoming you back to Blackheath Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
225
990
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Four of us - myself, husband, mum and dad - stayed here for six nights in January. It's the perfect b&b when visiting cape town........honestly, I cannot think of a single thing that would improve Blackheath Lodge. Rooms were excellent, breakfast superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were always on hand with advice and assistance. If you are going to Cape Town, stay here. You definitely won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank linda_cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I have never been so sad to leave a place. Blackheath Lodge is like coming home to your own family. The staff take so good care of you and seem to be able to think of the things you want and like, before you know you want it yourself:-) Delicious breakfast, friendly staff, beautiful decoration in rooms and other areas of the hotel. Very clean and comfortable in every way. We absolutely loved every minute of our stay at Blackheath Lodge and are already longing to come back. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meretepontes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The perfect home from home. This place makes Cape Town even more special.

I don’t know where to begin. This place made my trip to Cape Town so much more than a holiday. I usually stay in larger hotels so wasn’t exactly sure what to expect at the Blackheath Lodge. I left it not wanting to ever leave but also coming up with this – it’s like staying with family who actually want you to be there, but at the same time you can be completely on your own if you want. It was fantastic.

I usually start reviewing things like the property but it’s the staff team here which deserves recognition above all. Whenever you see one of the team you get the feeling that they’re genuinely happy to see you. I’ve never experienced this before. They want to know if there’s anything they can do for you and make sure you’re happy. It was wonderful. I want to list everyone here but am afraid I’d miss someone off. Thank you guys.

I didn’t even notice checking in. We were given a welcome drink and taken to our first room (they were almost full when we arrived and only had an “overflow room” for us. Room 14 was absolutely fantastic. It was like an incredibly comfortable hidden nest. If this was the spare room I wondered what the next one was going to be like. The decoration in the room was gorgeous (and this was mirrored throughout the property – such a fantastic combination of colours, textures and styles). It was a smaller room but this only made it cosier. The bathroom was fantastic and had fresh flowers and Charlotte Rhys toiletries (my new favourite).

After a night in nearby Stellenbosch we came back to experience room 12 for two nights. Take a look at the photos I’ve uploaded. The room is large – with one double bed and two singles. It has a vast sea-facing balcony with huge open windows, a large BBQ, an outdoor shower, sun loungers and a large couch. Both the view of the sea from this room and the room itself were spectacular. This room has a small kitchen area too, making it ideal for a family. The bathroom was large too and has an amazing rain shower right in the middle of it.

The property is immaculately maintained and spotless. Housekeeping do a great job in the rooms. The pool area is very enticing, especially in the sun. I would’ve wasted hours here if we weren’t in town for such a short period of time. Other guests did make full use of it… It’s essentially a small inner courtyard garden full of amazing greenery and flowers. It was so peaceful.

The bar area is very cool. I remember remarking about the colour of the walls here – my dream house would be decorated like this place. You’re always offered a drink too – alcoholic in the evening of course – and there is an all-day self-service tea/coffee area which had the most amazing cupcakes I’ve had for years. I unfortunately had to spend a day doing work on my laptop but sitting in this bar area was a great setting for me to do so.

Breakfast was great. You’re not overwhelmed by too many choices, options or even other guests – it is very leisurely, again going back to the feeling of you being at home. There’s a buffet selection which had plenty of options (and some different ones each day – try the quiche) and you’re also offered a hot breakfast (incredible bacon).

There aren’t any fitness facilities here of course but you’re only a few minutes’ walk from the seafront and some of the best running views around. There’s also an open “gym” area on the seafront which is free to use – very cool.

The lodge’s owners, Antony and John, and their wonderful team have created a place I’ll return to as soon as I can. This place is special and you’re guaranteed a great time in town. It adds another dimension to Cape Town’s already addictive qualities. I don’t think even a longer review here could capture how awesome the Blackheath Lodge was but I hope I’ve conveyed some of the admiration I’ve found for this place. If I’ve missed anything out I’ll make sure I put it in my next review, which can’t come too soon.

Room Tip: If you have a family - see if you can get room 12. If you don't have a family - ask for room 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moaksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony T, Owner at Blackheath Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
From all of us at Blackheath Lodge, we are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Can't say enough positive things about our experience at Blackheath. From the warm and colorful decor, to the excellent location, to the most incredible breakfasts and the very friendly staff.
But wait, you might be saying, this could describe a lot of B&B's out there. True, but what makes Blackheath stand out beyond all these already amazing attributes, are the extras. The 24/7 tea, coffee, snacks and candy available for you to help yourself. The true feeling of comfort and just being at home. The phone and mini computer available in your room for your use. The hosts on hand at a drop of a hat, to help you with what ever you need. Genuine interest in helping you plan your day, advice on the different sites, ordering a taxi or making sure that the wallet that was left behind got to us at the airport, asap by taxi! Thanks again, Anthony. Don't know what we would have done without your quick thinking and being ready to act.
Do yourself a favor, really, and stay here if you are traveling to Cape Town. You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: The spacious loft room with the two King beds has a large private balcony and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

One of the best Hotels I've been to. Very well run, good location, fine breakfast, clean rooms, everything the way it should be. The owners know their business. For example, their is a cell phone in the room, with all the necessary telephone numbers. Go there, it is worthwile.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Blackheath Lodge is well located in a safe residential area of Sea Point and offers its guests a relaxing and warm environment from which to explore the area. The owners/hosts were all personable and very helpful.The 'kitsch' decor in the dining area was fun to explore! Breakfast (included in the rate) was superb! The pool area is perfect for relaxing and cooling off. Our room (#9) was a bit cramped. The bed was very comfortable but with it being right next to the door it offered little privacy. Nevertheless, we were not disturbed by other guests coming and going. The reception area offered some interesting last-minute shopping. This was not the Taj (our first hotel in Cape Town), but it was perfectly suited to our needs for the last two nights of our South African vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing