We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and friendly service you could ever find in Cape Town”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great and friendly service you could ever find in Cape Town”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Blackheath Lodge in September 2013. I read lots of review on this place and that's the main reason I decided to stay here. Honestly, it is my best decision! The staff were so kind, friendly and helpful. Though I planned everything in prior, they still checked on me if everything was alright. The only thing that could perhaps be changed was probably the change of the bed sheet. I was there for over a week and the bed sheet was never changed. But it was still a very pleasant experience and nice & cosy place to stay anyway!

As the place is located in Sea Point, it was easy to commute to several places. I would recommend anyone who is planning to visit Cape Town to stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ground_space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    123
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
234
1,020
149
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hudson, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As soon as we walked into Blackheath, my husband and I knew we were going to love it. The hotel is located within a residential community roughly 3 blocks from the ocean and in a very safe neighborhood. We were immediately greeted with a welcome cocktail of our choice and received a quick tour of the grounds. What a cozy and funky place! It is very classy, yet colorful and a complete one of a kind. We were shown to our room which was very clean and warmly decorated. The grounds are sprinkled with community bars/sitting rooms in which all drinks are self poured and are paid for on an "honor system" which was very refreshing. Each room has free Wi-Fi and we felt beyond safe given you not only needed a key fab to open the main door, but each room obviously had its own lock, too. We decided to walk along the ocean to the V&A Waterfront Mall which took us about 45 minutes but was a beautiful and very safe journey. Breakfast in the morning started with a mini-buffet of quiche, toast and juices followed by our choice of a home made omlette (with any and all toppings you wanted) or scrambled eggs. The food was excellent and beautifully presented. My husband and I absolutely loved our night at Blackheath and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I had a very nice stay in Blackheath Lodge. We were in honeymoon and Cape Town is a good place for a romantic and adventure trip. Antony was an excellent guide. The room was confortable and the breakfast was simple but good. In our last day I lost my silver pendant in the Lodge. After that, my husband called to Antony and he sent my pendant to Brazil. I`m very happy to receive it. And I`m very grateful to Antony! I would like to come back, certainly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was fantastic, my brother and his wife were upgraded to a beautiful room on the top floor which they were very pleased with. The atmosphere was very comforting and relaxing, the whole hotel is beautifully decorated and will definitely be where we will return to on our next visit to SA.
Antony was a gracious host who was genuinely interested in what you had planned for your day ,making suggestions of points of interest and things to try.
When we got engaged we were treated to celebratory drinks in the bar!
Nothing was too much to ask, the staff were friendly and did everything they could to make the stay as enjoyable as possible.
A most fantastic experience, including the pleasure of soda the cat visiting each morning for breakfast!
Thank you Blackheath lodge

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood Bay, BC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent five nights at the lodge this past August. Had a great stay at this nicely located B & B in Cape Town. The staff were very good and they worked hard to met any need that cropped up. Lots of great restaurants nearby and they were more than happy to make reservations and call cabs as needed. We used the lodge's rental Mini Copper S one day and it was great fun traveling around town and down to Cape Point (go through Hout Bay via Chapman's Peak Rd... incredible!!)

Breakfast each day was included and featured the cereals, juices and pastries along with a complete hot breakfast. The attention to detail in the great room, bedrooms, breakfast area and lounge was fantastic.

We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend this great accommodation to anyone traveling to Cape Town.

Dave
http://bigtripjournal2013.blogspot.ca/2013/08/yes-well-its-cape-town-now.htm

Room Tip: Pool area looked great but as it's winter we didn't bring swim trunks :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I certainly believe the good reviews here, nonetheless, our experience was not exactly the same:
- Our room was pretty much the size of the bed + 40cm on each side
- Breakfast was limited until 10am (probably fine for most...)

The Mini convertible we had is nice and I certainly think that this is a good choice for most - but we would choose a different one for next time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elian382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found the Blackheath Lodge to be a perfect compliment for our stay in Cape Town. Charle, Godfrey and the staff were absolutely fantastic. One of the greatest features was each room had its own cell phone for your use. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing