We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A secret treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just the nicest place. 15 rooms. Filled with artworks. An honour system at the bar. Staff wonderfully nice. Breakfast wonderful. A little sunny pool. A lovely area. Prompt responses to emails. One could go on, but just really wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek_Law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
225
990
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a place of charm, grace, and impeccable taste, ideally located in my favourite part of Cape Town: the vibrant, bustling neighourhood of Sea Point. It's just a short away from a long walk, the splendid Sea Point Promenade, which offers a grandstand view of the city's most spectacular daily attraction. Sunset. (Sunrise is pretty good too, if you're the alarm-clock type.) But Blackheath Lodge in itself was the highlight of my short business-stay. It is expertly run by Anthony and John, who are warm, witty, and welcoming hosts, and who leave no detail to chance. There was even a small cellphone in my room, for personal use, with pre-loaded numbers. And a laptop too. That is typical of the care with which the lodge is run. The room was spacious & comfortable, with a patio that offered its own wonderful views. Breakfast was tasty and served with flair and style. The bar is relaxed, convivial, and inviting. I highly recommend Blackheath Lodge for a business or holiday stay, or a business stay that feels like a holiday. A special thank-you, also, to Jean-Claude, for his unfailing patience and assistance. I hope tio return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I only had one night in Cape Town and was traveling as a single girl. I wanted a safe location that could help me see as much of Cape Town as I possibly could in 24 hours. Blackheath Lodge was amazing in every aspect! The airport transfers were top notch and really nice guys. The lodge is beautiful and quaint, ensuring personalized service. The rooms are beautiful and first class. I was really impressed by the local cell phone they allow you to use, which already has all neccessary local numbers in it - I have never seen that before around the world - absolutely brilliant! The breakfast was delicious and freshly made to order. The private tour they arranged for me was excellent and for a great price - I conquered Cape Town in 9 hours! Even when I was running late getting back to the hotel for my ride to the airport, they looked up my Doha number and gave me a call to make sure I was alright. If you want to walk to the beach...it is like 3 minutes away. A taxi to the V&A Waterfront was $3 USD. I highly recommend this lodge to everyone and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose Blackheath (2 couples traveling) because it had a high rating on Trip Advisor. As it turned out, it was better than any of us anticipated. Antony and his team are top notch. They are friendly and very helpful with great suggestions for everything from dining to the best tours to take. It felt like we were staying with very knowledgable friends who were truly interested in us having the best Cape Town experience possible. If you like small, interesting hotels with unique design and outstanding service, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Jolty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The whole Blackheath Team was so nice to us and we really enjoyed the stay pretty much. The location was perfect, especially our room no 6. The team also organised some outstanding trips in and around Cape Town for us, including great recommendations for good places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Blackheath for two weeks while photographing for a non-profit in Cape Town. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff was excellent. I felt like I was at home here. Antony, Jean-Claude, Peter, Sharlee and the rest couldn't have been nicer. A local cell phone was provided for the duration of my stay making local calls very affordable. It's a short walk to the V&A Waterfront, and all other sightseeing excursions were possible using local taxis. All in all a great place to stay while in Cape Town. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethiopsear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a fantastic place to stay and the service a second to none. Antony and his team are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is very good, you can walk to the Waterfront in about 30 minutes if you're fit, the ocean is near and the Lodge is close to cafes, restaurants and shops. The decor is eclectic and luxurious, rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. Thoughtful touches like cellphones, an honesty bar and a lovely pool area to relax in make it a delight to stay there. It feels as though you are part of the family! Breakfasts are gorgeous and generous, served in a beautiful terraced dining area with a wood burner for the colder days. I was there for over two weeks and enjoyed every minute of my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollyven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing