We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my first time in Cape Town and a good friend of mine recommended Blackheath Lodge. I was debating choosing a hotel with a view on waterfront or this one, and I'm so glad I chose Blackheath Lodge. There may be no view, but the lodge is so adorable and service so exceptional that I quickly forgot about the view and was very happy about the place. It is located in a quiet street, you can walk down to the beach area, and there are restaurants nearby or short taxi ride away.
Antony was really a real host, and so was the staff. You can see that they are happy to be working there, and the owners give back generously. They also have an education plan for their staff's children.

The entire place is decorated with so much attention to details, from the honour bar to the "do not disturb" sign! Very original. The breakfast was perfect.

I will have to return to Cape Town for an extensive visit, I was there only for 2 nights, and I would very much like to return to Blackheath Lodge.

Thank you for a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Each rooms seems very different, and I assume size vary.Mine (10) was very quiet, and had a little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idefourny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    117
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
218
951
145
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've been a long time user of Trip Advisor reviews prior to booking, but I've never posted a review on my behalf. After my wife and I stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for 3 Nights in June, I felt compelled to share with the world what a pleasure it was to stay at such an amazing property.

Antony is an amazing host and he went above and beyond to help us personalize our stay in Cape Town. If we had a question, he not only had the answer...he had a plan. We've never experienced such a level of personalized conceirge service at any hotel. We had a shark diving adventure planned, that was cancelled due to bad weather. This threw a huge wrench into our Cape Town plans, but Antony picked up the phone to call other Shark tour companies to see if they were going to operate on that day. It ended up that no companies were going out to sea, but Antony called again the next day and was able to book a trip for us out of Simon's Town. The effort he put into making our hopes of diving with White Sharks come true was something truly special and something you won't find at any other hotels.

Let us not forget...upon arriving, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the standard double room that we had booked had been upgraded to an amazing two bedroom suite. If you are thinking about booking the suite for your stay...don't hesitate. It has an amazing bathroom with a rain shower, a balcony view of the ocean, a barbeque and two chaise lounges on the outside deck, a kitchenette, and an extremely comfortable bed. We were so happy with our room!

And one last thing...breakfast was amazing. The eggs and bacon were do die for and we couldn't eat enough fresh fruit. They also have a Nespresso for guests to make their own lattes and cappucinos. There's a Nespresso store at the V&A Waterfront so if you have a favorite blend that Antony does not carry, you could always pick some up and bring it over. =)

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with the Blackheath Lodge. I'd love to go on and on about our stay, but I need to get a good night's sleep. Thank you to Antony and the amazing staff at Blackheath Lodge (especially Jean-Claude) for all the memories. We will certainly be staying here again when we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2013 and could not have been happier! Antony and his team went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible, even before we arrived! The rooms were delightful, the breakfasts were delicious, and the afternoon tea was lovely (especially for the cold and rainy weather we had while in Cape Town). Two day trips and a car rental were easily organized for us, and many restaurant recommendations were spot on. We would not only highly recommend everyone stay here, we can't wait to return to our new "home base" in Cape Town! Thank you Antony and team!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to go for our honeymoon to South Africa in May 2013. The first accommodation was the Blackheath Lodge. And I have to say it was an excellent beginning of our trip.
Warmly welcomed by the owner we were invited for lemonade as the room was not ready yet (we were pretty early). We directly had a nice discussion and he was very interested in our trip. So he gave us tips where to go and what to do.
Also, he recommended excellent restaurants for the evening. So trust his words and you will not do a mistake.
Overall hospitality was excellent. Whenever we had a question the owner or an employee was there to help, to make bookings, etc.
This made the place unique. But not only because everybody was so friendly but also because the place is cosy and romantic; there is a small pool in the patio surrounded by palm trees. The rooms were elegant and the breakfast room very nicely designed. You actually did not want to leave for the day.
Food (this place only serves breakfast) was excellent too. You had a choice of fruits, brownies, etc. Coffee was also great (it seems simple but it is not that easy to really make a good one).
Also, you could decide on how you want to have your eggs, with which ingredients, etc.
Everything tasted very good.

Overall, there is really nothing to complain about. And I am very critical.
Should I be one more time in Cape Town I definitely will choose this place again as here the customer is really king (also this seems to be easy but is very seldom fully practiced). Blackheath Lodge is one of the rare exceptions. It is a small oasis (of calm) in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights June 2013. The welcome was amazing, all of the staff couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the public areas were also very welcoming with wi fi access and coffee, tea and an honesty box for any other refreshments. I felt very at home. Not forgetting Soda and Pop the resident cats. Location is also good for airport, CBD and the coast although you'll probably need a car. Good value and for me much better than staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8. Although it faces the street it was very quiet, no issue there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corbo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Blackheath Lodge for three very enjoyable days and nights in October 2012. The innkeeper, who is probably the most accommodating and helpful host we've ever met, arranged for someone to greet us at the airport, for our transfers to and back from the lodge, and for our tours of the area. The lodge is located in a quiet neighborhood near the waterfront and several restaurants, and has easy access to the city center. We were able to walk into town along the waterfront which took about 30 minutes, or grab a taxi, which costed about $6 US. Our room was charming and comfortable, and the bathroom had one of the most invigorating showers I've encountered whilst traveling. The decor of the rest of the inn was delightfully colorful and reflected the innkeeper's delightful sense of style and cheerful personality. The breakfasts were a culinary experience and the service staff were friendly and most accommodating. I have to say that I felt truly cared-for during our stay at the Blackheath Lodge and would recommend it to even the most discerning travelers out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kafayolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Arrived after overnight flight from UK to a warm greeting. Staff very helpful and willing to go the extra mile by arranging taxis and restaurant bookings. Short walk to beach area and walkable to the Ocean Front shopping area and Acquarium; taxis needed for main town. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#12 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing