We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooo want to go back !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol - UK
2 reviews
“Sooo want to go back !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

Keeping it fairly brief.......an amazing place to visit. The hosts with the mosts are just fantastic, the staff are always happy to help and those breakfast quiche thingy's are just to die for. Rooms are of top spec, pool is just enough and if your there as a group then get Sophia in to cook for you. Location is just perfick for everything you need and the hosts with the mosts will book restaurants, trips etc... for you. I soo hope I get to go back next year !!

  • Liked — Location, staff, rooms, abiance, atmosphere, friendliness
  • Disliked — I wast there long enough !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank serebro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
225
989
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

The BlackHeath Lodge is a home away from home; I stayed there in late April, just a few weeks ago. I'm not one that likes to be around a touristy area when traveling, and the BHL was perfect for me. It is a private oasis in an upscale neighborhood; the Atlantic Ocean is only a few blocks away, along w/ 24 hour convenient stores & eateries, just like home, which is New York City.

I had the opportunity to see most of the rooms, because I was there with 10 other people, that was a mix of family & friends.

The rooms with their high ceilings are furnished in a lavish style of comfortable modern furniture w/ a laquer finish, when I entered the room there were two plush chairs w/ an ottoman , adjacent to a flat screen tv, along w/ an armoire to hang your clothing, which also included a safe for your valuables, the beds were king size w/plush comforters & had two plush luggage stands at the foot of the bed, the bathrooms are roomy & have beautiful glass showers & some rooms include a fireplace.

I occupied room #4 which had window pane doors, that opened out overlooking a beautiful courtyard w/ a stairwell leading to the pool within the garden w/ it's large palm trees & shaded areas, to the left is the veranda where you can sit in the morning sun while your being served breakfast by the staff which is included in the cost of your stay.

Breakfast is indeed the most important meal of the day there, you have time to assess your plans for the day & reminisce about your previous evening.

A variety of breakfast treats await you, such as fruit juices & smoothies, an assortment of fresh cut fruit, bowls of grain & oats, egg & bacon muffins fresh out of the oven, placed on the tables, that are beautifully set with linen table cloths. There is a study just of to the right depending on where your standing, just for the purpose of relaxing & perusing the various books & magazines.

I have to mention the personable staff, which would include the always accessible owner & host Antony, who will assist you with everthing from a converter to guiding you through your plans for the day, a man of his word.

I loved the genuine, hospitable, jovial, trusthworthy staff, which you come to recognize more w/ each passing day, as dear friends & neighbors.

Thank you Lisa, Jean-Claude, Nokwanda, Wasfie, TuTu, Una & the two Peter's, you made my stay most endearing & you will all be missed, until my return.

  • Liked — The privacy
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BernardNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at Blackheath Lodge just for one night but it was a truly wonderful experience.

The lodge is delightful with beautifully decorated rooms and every last detail so well thought of.

Breakfast on the veranda overlooking the pool was lovely as was a quiet drink on the sofas in the evening.

But what made the stay even more special was the attention of Antony who looks after you during your time there with just the right balance of care but not slipping into intrusion - perfect.

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in and would recommend it 100% to anyone staying in Cape Town.

Andrew and Ros

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hamwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a night in Feb 2008. Staying at Blackheath Lodge is like staying in the luxury home of your good friends. From the moment you arrive, you feel looked after and welcome, and no request (information, directions, advice, restaurant reservations) is too onerous for Ant, one of the guesthouse’s two owners. Blackheath Lodge consists of two adjacent houses on the slopes above Sea Point, overlooking the Atlantic. The décor is relaxed but elegant, with touches of African style. The bedrooms are spread throughout the two original buildings and the nerve centre is the lovely courtyard with its lush plants, and the sparkling blue swimming pool, which provides a sheltered oasis even on windy days. Drinks and breakfast are served on the tranquil wraparound verandah under crystal chandeliers - all exceedingly lovely.

Our light and airy room was on the first floor and had a panoramic view towards Lion’s Head, as well as a window looking directly down the hill towards where the ocean. The room was huge and very well-equipped with a king-size bed and particularly lovely linen; a selection of drinks and nibbles; a TV and a small library of DVDs; and a seating area. The bathroom was also large and the shower had panoramic views over Lion’s Head - hard to tear yourself away, really!

Breakfast the following morning was served on the wraparound verandah overlooking the pool - we ate at a slightly raised table under a small crystal chandelier and felt like visiting royalty! From the small buffet you could choose from a selection of cereal, yoghurt, fresh pastries, fresh fruit, mini quiches, a cheese board and a fruit tart. In addition, we also had eggs of our choice cooked to order and a bottomless cup of excellent coffee.

The location is great for tourists as you are close to the V&A Waterfront as well as beaches and restaurants. There is free off-street parking (with a security guard at night) if you are driving yourself, but alternatively the lodge will be happy to arrange taxis for you, and they can also arrange an airport shuttle to collect you on arrival for an additional fee. In South African terms (R495 per person per night incl. breakfast), it is not budget accommodation, but if you are paying in foreign currency it starts looking tremendously reasonable (about £33 pppn), and what you get is outstanding value for money. This is a place I would definitely return to!

  • Liked — Location, beautiful room & buildings, excellent service
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cooksister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

Our stay was excellent, the hotel was very nice and clean and our room had everything we could need. The breakfasts were amazing. what made our stay particularly special was all the effort made by anthony tand all the other staff to make us feel welcome and offer us suggestions and hint and directions - nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed in Blackheath Lodge for five nights and have to say that Anthony was brilliant. He really made the stay thoroughly enjoyable. He recommended very good restaurants and activities to do and I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Every morning we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
One great touch was the afternoon tea which was offered when you came back from a day of traveling around.
This was our first stop in South Africa and after here everything had to live up to Blackheath.
Very relaxed hotel with a good atmosphere. Great!!!

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights and had a very good experience. Anthony, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful, and Jean Claude, the night attendant was fantastic. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the garden and pool while having breakfast is a wonderful, relaxing experience. The room - one of the larger, I understand - was very good-sized with a separate sitting area. One morning I rinsed out a couple of t-shirts and hung them to dry in the bathroom. When I came back that afternoon, someone had ironed and folded them. It's the small things like that separate the good from the very good.

Parking was very easy and always found a spot right in front.

  • Liked — Good service.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing