We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Cape Town experience!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the very start Antony and his team provided the highest level of customer service- five stars aren't enough! He was extremely helpful in tailoring activities and dining to meet my needs. The property itself is gorgeously decorated and Antony's impeccable attention to detail made the stay really relaxing. It was so easy to explore the city knowing you being provided truly expert information and a week seemed too short. Each day started with and amazing breakfast made to order and after a day of sightseeing and dining I enjoyed relaxing with some local wine in the cozy poolside and dining areas. Having nightly chats with Jean-Claude, one of the wonderful staff members, was always a special treat. I plan to go back at the first opportunity and will continue to spread words of praise for this amazing guesthouse.

Room Tip: Just tell Antony what you need- he'll take care of the rest!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushstache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
There are newer reviews for Blackheath Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Two colleagues and I recently spent a week at the Blackheath Lodge-- the perfect advertisement for Cape Town hospitality. Antony and his staff were extraordinarily knowledgeable and helpful. Our days began in the breakfast room with fabulous temptations designed to require us to walk off the morning splurge. The interior is wittily stylish with comfort in mind. My only complaint is that the soap dispensers didn't work very well (and I'm a bar soap fan), but that's a small price to pay for an otherwise great experience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyed everything from the delicious breakfast to the very friendly staff! the cold white wine by the pool in the early evenings, the old cat, the noisy birds, the rooms and the DVD collection :) Thanks to everyone at the Blackheath Lodge.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank shoejring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location. Antony’s attention to details as a B&B operator are excellent. His recommendations for what to see and do in Cape Town and surrounding areas are “right on”. The breakfast buffet is well done and his staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent a whole week in the Blackheath Lodge mid of march 13 and we LOVED this place for Antony and its team, always there for anything you need and full of ideas ans suggestions, for the great atmosphere of the place and its amazing decoration, for the perfect location in Sea Point.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASG187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent a delightful 6 nights in Blackheath Lodge at the end of March 13 at the beginning of my first trip to South Africa. Even before I arrived Antony had provided so much information and help in planning my trip which was invaluable and his recommendations spot on! The safari at Sanbona was amazing. I felt I was part of the family by the time I arrived met by their driver at Cape Town airport. The lodge itself is charming with so many special little touches and quirks. The team from are all cheery and helpful and will happily arrange restaurant bookings, taxis, take aways and lots of chat and interesting stories. I took up the opportunity to use the Blackheath Mini Convertible and with my daughter had a fantastic trip around Cape Point, Chapmans Peak and Boulders Beach. The lodge is in a really safe area and it is an easy walk to the V&A Waterfront.

Blackheath is in a different league! The attention to detail and the level of service and personalisation is incredible. Congratulations to Antony and his team for creating such a wonderful boutique Hotel. Hope to be back some day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Blackheath Lodge for three nights at the end of an eight week trip, three of those weeks under canvas. On arrival, we were immediately offered a hot drink, made to feel at home and questioned as to whether any help could be provided for our stay in terms of arranging trips etc. The decor of the guest house is very appealing and includes a small craft shop. The central courtyard and small swimming pool area is impeccably maintained and there are abundant flowering plants. There was a wood burner to provide atmosphere and warmth in the dining room, plenty of books on wildlife and South Africa and the breakfasts had the personal touch - tiny quiches and cakes, fruit salad and an optional cooked English breakfast. There is a car available to hire from the lodge and the owner is involved in various projects to help both his staff and the community. All the staff were incredibly friendly and we were sorry to leave. I would thoroughly recomment Blackheath Lodge to anyone visiting Cape Town..

Room Tip: The gust house is located in a peaceful area of similar low rise buildings - no issues with noise or...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theglasshouse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $114 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing