We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed in Blackheath Lodge for five nights and have to say that Anthony was brilliant. He really made the stay thoroughly enjoyable. He recommended very good restaurants and activities to do and I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Every morning we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
One great touch was the afternoon tea which was offered when you came back from a day of traveling around.
This was our first stop in South Africa and after here everything had to live up to Blackheath.
Very relaxed hotel with a good atmosphere. Great!!!

  • Liked — Friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
997
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights and had a very good experience. Anthony, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful, and Jean Claude, the night attendant was fantastic. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the garden and pool while having breakfast is a wonderful, relaxing experience. The room - one of the larger, I understand - was very good-sized with a separate sitting area. One morning I rinsed out a couple of t-shirts and hung them to dry in the bathroom. When I came back that afternoon, someone had ironed and folded them. It's the small things like that separate the good from the very good.

Parking was very easy and always found a spot right in front.

  • Liked — Good service.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This place is just fabulous.. Antony is so charming, he takes care of you and makes all for a lovely moment in this wonderful house.The twin room was fantastic, the garden, the small swimming pool and the famous breakfast perfect. It's was like a dream.. Thanks again Antony ! Blackheath is located at Sea Point next to the beach and between City Ball and beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. Françoise (& Viviane)

  • Liked — The style of the house - the reception
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NRJFRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This is a great guest house in a very central location.This place felt like home, very relaxed and friendly.They have a lovely veranda overlooking a pretty garden and pool which is a relaxing place to sit and have a glass of wine during the evening or to have breakfast.The staff are very helpful and friendly and Anthony was a delight! Very helpful.
We stayed at quite a few guest houses over a 2 week period and some were much more expensive than this one.Blackheath was in my view the best value for money with comfortable and good sized rooms.The bed was absolutely perfect.Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Liked — good sized rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JARROGATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2008

went there with a group of 12 and just knew the place from its homepage - getting there we were overwhelmed by the location. a beautifull property with nice individual and spacious rooms. everythings is clean and the garden is lovely! The breakfeast served on the deck is delicous and the dinners they arrange on the deck can be compared to the top restaurants of Cape Town!
Antony and the Blackheath Lodge Team made us feel home and supported us in whatever wish we had! a place to be and a place to get back again and again!

Wolfgang from Stuttgart/Germany

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stoffelStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unterhaching, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

What a great place! My wife and I stayed in a nice, spacious room equipped with a delightful comfortable bed, TV including a DVD player with a variety of movies on DVD, a desk and a sofa plus an en-suite bathroom with a roomy shower. Wireless Internet is available with a bandwith of about 400 kbit/sec.

Antony, the owner, is probably the most friendly and helpful person in South Africa. Any questions you may have concerning your stay in Cape Town, restaurant recommendations, trips and sightseeing, he is the person to ask and he will always come up with a great solution for you.

The whole lodge reminds you of a charming english country home. The place is very clean, there is a small salt water pool in the inner courtyard. A mouth-watering breakfast is served on the deck.

The lodge is located about 5km away from the Waterfront and the area is absolutely safe to walk. At night, however, it is recommended to take a taxi.

We would love to come back to this wonderful place. Truely a home away from home.

  • Liked — The overall experience of excellent accomondation and service
  • Disliked — I really can't think of anything...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UncleSamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We spent an excellent week at the Blackheath Lodge in late January 2008.
The team at Blackheath were extremely friendly, and continuously went out of their way to assist us with all our needs. Anthony and John were very forthcoming with ideas and advise to ensure that we had a good day planned every day, and always had tips about places to eat and visit. They even assisted me in organising how i would propose to my now fiancee during the trip.
The outdoor courtyard area is very comfortable; and provided us with the opportunity to relax, swim and read after a few days of very intense touring.
The lodge is close to Waterfront for dinners in the evening and close to beaches of camps bay and clifton - a car is probably a good idea -- and Jean Claude (7 foot gentle giant night staff member) made sure that we (including our hired car) were safe.
Thanks to all the team for a great stay and holiday.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoelWMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing