We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to begin and end our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An excellent place to begin and end our trip”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had four days split into two stays at the beginning and end of a 2 week trip travelling the Garden Route. This was our first visit to South Africa and Cape Town and our warm welcome at Blackheath set the tone for the rest of our trip. The location is convenient, the rooms are excellent, the public areas and pool are delightful and the best part is the fantastic breakfast even down to personalised decorated plates one morning. Antony, Michelle, Jean-Claude and the rest of the team make your stay as perfect as possible and if we visit Cape Town again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyLouSolihull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    122
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
227
997
148
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I do not want to repeat all the excellent reviews, so: every single positively mentioned aspect is simply true. If you visit Cape town, this is the place to be. Perfect location, Antony, Jean-Claude and the rest of the staff are really exceptionally friendly and competent.

Although they now have 15 rooms, Antony still manages to make your stay a very personal, individualized experience.

Top notch!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank you Michelle for a fantastic stay at Blackheath Lodge!

Wonderful rooms ... amazing breakfasts ... great central location. Arriving at Blackheath Lodge after our 20hr flight was a complete delight. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming and the lodge itself is cosy, airy and all round lovely!

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in central Cape Town, stay at Blackheath Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

After a long journey to get to Cape Town, Blackheath Lodge was the ideal place to land. Anthony and the team ensured we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. They ordered take away food and set a table up for us on the first night when we were too tired to go anywhere. Plus introduced us to some great South African wines.
Our room was spotless with plenty of space. Great personal touches too, from wonderful bed sheets, to interesting paintings and lamps!
The breakfast was amazing. Homemade everything and real attention to detail with cutlery and crockery.
All in all a very classy lodge with plenty of quirky touches to make it a very special place. If we return to Cape Town, we know where we will be staying...!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Colorado
Level Contributor
300 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The two owners and their excellent staff members could not have delivered finer product and service. Our experience from a quiet room, exceptional breakfast offerings, six blocks from the beach and sea walk, numerous restaurant offerings, and easy/low cost taxi access to most of the city sights/restaurants could not have been better.

If you DON'T like conversing with fellow passionate travelers, desire clean and quiet sleeping quarters, consume an excellent meal to start the day, or have hosts/staff that make you feel at home, then please avoid the Blackhealth. This is a travelers delight for couples of all ages.

If you are relying on the BH to arrange a guided drive to the southern cape, please detail your travel requirements. Discussions with other lodgers and trekkers at Cape of Good Hope, Cape Point, and the Cape Point Lighthouse indicates a full-day driver/knowledgeable guide ranging in price from 1300 to 1500 rand depending on the season. We would suggest a private driver/knowledgeable guide in a nice auto versus a multi-person van and only driver that is not an expert of the area. For the prices noted above, you will still need to pay entrance fees, cost of meals, and provide your own snacks/required fluids. Remember to take your camera and binoculars for the wildlife and spectacular views. Don't forget a good pair of walking/hiking shoes/boots, sunscreen and insect replent.

Room Tip: We were in #4 but the other guests loved their accommodations. The pool is very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Blackheath lodge was the first place we stayed on our 2 week visit to SA and it was a fantastic start! We couldn't have asked for more. The place is beautifully styled, the breakfasts were delicious (best scrambled eggs on the whole trip we decided!), great location, and wonderfully helpful and welcoming hosts! Lovely to have the pool and garden area. They were very helpful in recommending places to eat and even leant us beach bags, and also a head torch and cool pay for our evening picnic up Lions Head!
I would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at this superb Boutique hotel. It is certainly different from the normal modern hotels and all the better for that. The little pool is perfect (if not VERY warm) breakfasts are superb (expanding waist lines) prices very reasonable , and the staff are lovely and very accomodating. Michelle was the manager there for most of our stay and she really helped make our holiday special.Thank you Michelle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Property: Blackheath Lodge
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing