We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackheath Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$761
$428
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$671
$648
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$201
$186
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$171
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$550
$423
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$155
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveler rating
1,788
132
14
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,788
132
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phonesea pointhome away from homedvd playerrestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffstay in cape townsouth africalittle touchescape pointbreakfast was deliciousour honeymoondinner reservationspersonal servicewestern capelovely roomcamps bay
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We felt very pampered and unlike other travel experiences we have had in 'chains', the staff at Blackheath Lodge cared about our comfort and took care of our needs. It was amazing, we would love to go back.

Room Tip: To my knowledge there was no fitness center, unless you count walking down the big hill to the waterfront for supper and back up the hill after!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A good recommendation for travelers that prefer smaller, quiet and friendly lodgings just outside the city’s bustle and noise. It is a great starting point to any attraction.
Upon our arrival, Antony and his team welcomed us warmly and ensured we were settled in to the tastefully decorated and spacious rooms, ours with a view out onto the bay.
Situated away from the city noise but within walking distance, we were directed to our choice of several restaurants nearby. Easy access to N1 and N2 are minutes away by car. The airport is approx. 20 minutes away.
The inn has 14 rooms but has a quaint feel with its dipping pool, eating and reception areas. The after hour service is on an ‘honour system’ with water, soft drinks, beer, wine and coffee readily available.
The staff was friendly, attentive and ensured we were well cared for. Both Antony and Michelle, who was present in Antony’s absence, were well versed in the area’s attractions and quick to explain the specific days and times we should consider in order to capture proper lighting (i.e. Table Mountain in the morning) and best viewing (Capes Point & Good Hope). They were most helpful.
A wonderful start to our vacation, thank you Antony & staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the bay, they (2 rooms) are upstairs and have French doors that open for a great view and open air sleeping.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackstoneNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was the gypsy of Blackheath Lodge, I stayed in 3 rooms over 4 nights. The first night in the fabulous penthouse room, lovely room for 4 people with a stunning balcony looking onto the sea. The second and third nights in the over-flow room, which although I would not recommend as a choice, for the 2 nights and as only one person it was acceptable. The fourth night in an upstairs room in the main house, this was my favourite room - loved the decor.
The real gem that is Blackheath lodge is the wonderful attention to service from everyone who works there - Antony, Jean-Claude, Michelle, the kitchen staff and the rest. Personal attention is an understatement. Far nicer to stay here than in an impersonal hotel!
Note: none of the rooms had baths, only showers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimbostoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here in Sept 2012. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Anthony and John are wonderful hosts and are so into making your stay as good as possible. The rooms are very comfortable. The breakfasts are worth waking up for. They have an honesty bar. They will even order a takeaway for you to eat there. Their helpfulness was just amazing.
Truly a must place to stay in Cape Town as it is also situated close to everything you want to see.
Will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chumba C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is just an absolute Jewel!!! The staff - led by Antony and John - go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make your stay PERFECT! All the little details that makes a place special are there - the love and attention put into everything and at the same time it is so relaxing. This is the sort of place where you will get the best tips when it comes to restaurants&things to do - it just made our visit spledid. Well done - I'll be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alba1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews