We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just great!”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2008

went there with a group of 12 and just knew the place from its homepage - getting there we were overwhelmed by the location. a beautifull property with nice individual and spacious rooms. everythings is clean and the garden is lovely! The breakfeast served on the deck is delicous and the dinners they arrange on the deck can be compared to the top restaurants of Cape Town!
Antony and the Blackheath Lodge Team made us feel home and supported us in whatever wish we had! a place to be and a place to get back again and again!

Wolfgang from Stuttgart/Germany

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stoffelStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,659 - 1,665 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

What a great place! My wife and I stayed in a nice, spacious room equipped with a delightful comfortable bed, TV including a DVD player with a variety of movies on DVD, a desk and a sofa plus an en-suite bathroom with a roomy shower. Wireless Internet is available with a bandwith of about 400 kbit/sec.

Antony, the owner, is probably the most friendly and helpful person in South Africa. Any questions you may have concerning your stay in Cape Town, restaurant recommendations, trips and sightseeing, he is the person to ask and he will always come up with a great solution for you.

The whole lodge reminds you of a charming english country home. The place is very clean, there is a small salt water pool in the inner courtyard. A mouth-watering breakfast is served on the deck.

The lodge is located about 5km away from the Waterfront and the area is absolutely safe to walk. At night, however, it is recommended to take a taxi.

We would love to come back to this wonderful place. Truely a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UncleSamDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

We spent an excellent week at the Blackheath Lodge in late January 2008.
The team at Blackheath were extremely friendly, and continuously went out of their way to assist us with all our needs. Anthony and John were very forthcoming with ideas and advise to ensure that we had a good day planned every day, and always had tips about places to eat and visit. They even assisted me in organising how i would propose to my now fiancee during the trip.
The outdoor courtyard area is very comfortable; and provided us with the opportunity to relax, swim and read after a few days of very intense touring.
The lodge is close to Waterfront for dinners in the evening and close to beaches of camps bay and clifton - a car is probably a good idea -- and Jean Claude (7 foot gentle giant night staff member) made sure that we (including our hired car) were safe.
Thanks to all the team for a great stay and holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoelWMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at Blackheath!!! The staff was unbeliveably welcoming to all of their guests. The morning breakfast that was inclued in the price of our stay was a treat as well.

Highly recommend Blackheath for anybody who is traveling to Cape Town!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sbcook90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adventurekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thwolke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eddie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,537 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $155 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing