We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highly recommandable lodge to visit Capetown”
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Antony and his crew offered a professional but also very personal service. They let believe that we were at home: comfortable and well furnished room, cosy garden, remarkable breakfeast with freshly cooked goodies. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and met interesting people among the other guests.
Antony's recommendations for highlights to visit in three days were perfect including the restaurants.
The location at Seapoint is convenient

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you are headed to Cape Town for holiday with friends, family, or significant other, look no further. This is the place for you! From the second you start the booking/inquiry process, you'll see the attention to detail and feel the warmth of the host Antony. Before we got there, we had many questions about excursions, car rentals, and tours. Antony gave us the breakdown of all of the options at various price ranges for us to decide. He is just wonderful that way!

The lodge is a very cozy and stylish B&B near Sea Point of Cape Town. It is located about a 10 minute cab ride from everything so it's a very central location. This lodge is located in a very quiet residential area of Cape Town so you're guaranteed the quiet relaxation you deserve on your holiday. The ocean is less than a 5 minute walk. The VA Waterfront is a quick taxi ride. Table Mountain and all the other attractions are close by too!

My friends and I booked 2 rooms at the lodge for a fun getaway after a business trip. We were so fortunate to have gotten the 2 newly upgraded room at the lodge. Room 1 at the lodge is right next to the front door but there is an additional door to buffer all noise from the hallway. Furniture in the room is not only super comfortable, but very stylish as well. It's definitely the wonderful taste of Jean Claude and Antony mixed in! The bathrooms are marvelous as well with luxury toiletries and a heated towel rack. There is a chaise in the room for reading a book or relaxing during the day. Internet is absolutely free at the resort and you can use it anywhere you like. Each room comes with a TV and a DVD player if you ever find the need to watch a movie.

Breakfast is superb at Blackheath! I find that the apple crumble is the most amazing item ever and I helped myself to more than my fair share. The chef will make eggs to order, but you should put in the order as soon as you arrive to not wait in a long queue. There are a variety of freshly baked goods, cheeses, meats, cereals, and anything you could possibly want. The dining hall overlooks the pool so it's got a great view while you dine.

I think what sets Blackheath apart from any other resorts I've stayed in is the warmth and hospitality of the hosts - Jean Claude and Antony. Antony will make sure all of your trip details are perfect. He's a bit of a perfectionist himself if you look at the details of the lodge. He helped us with our car rental and mapped out our entire drive down to the cape of good hope. He pointed out all of the stops to make and the places to dine. Jean Claude is sweet as well and he offered to walk me at night when I didn't feel safe walking to the store alone. He will help with all the takeaway orders or give you the best dinner reservations on a Friday night! The other two hosts, Soda & Lime, are absolutely fantastic as well. They are the tabby cats of the owners and they pretty much stay close to Antony all day so you don't have to worry about allergies. Those are the sweetest cats and make the stay just that much more fun!

Thank you Antony and Jean Claude for everything! I'm so sorry for the delay in this review but I wanted to make sure I did you justice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here for a week combining business trip with holiday - couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Great breakfasts, helpful hosts, friendly staff, clean rooms, pleasant atmosphere - close to everything.

Definitely recommended and hope to visit again sometime!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdermos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent two nights in Cape Town at Blackheath Lodge and it was simply perfect!!!
The lodge is really nice!!! It is positioned in a quiet area, which is such an important feature when you stay in Cape Town! Breakfast is fantastic!!! The room was so cool, very big and well furnished!!!!
And the owner, Antony, is one of the most friendly people we've ever met: he has been very very kind to us!!! Believe me: it's wonderful to stay at Blackheath!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy-puffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have visited Blackheath Lodge on 3 occasions now in the past 6 months, and each time I have been impressed by the lodge and its talented team. Its a little oasis with an absolutely impressive level of detail... From the smart modern and luxurious individually detailed rooms with some little personal tocuhes that make all the difference to its relaxing pool area to the team's outstanding customer service and knowledge of Cape Town and beyond, it ticks the boxes on every level...
The team are simply brilliant, and nothing is a problem, but they think of everything, so nothing ever becomes a problem... Very few places I can say that about... (and great breakfast... looked forward to it every day) I would recommend this little jewel to anyone visiting Cape Town, whether for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Lovely guest house located in a relaxant place. The breakfast on the inside garden is unforgivable and the staff is great. Really recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This Lodge is very nice and comfortable, the rooms are large and well furnished. But it's not only this, we enjoyed so much this place because it is a whole experience, they really care about your comfort. Breakfast is really good, you will have it in a charming veranda. They will give you advice on the best places to visit. We liked very much the position, in seapoint, near the ocean, and very close by car to the waterfront and city center.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwendalin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
MannaBay
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,105 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $154 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing