We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as a guest and leave as a friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Come as a guest and leave as a friend”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Mountain Magic and we were amazed by the hospitality of Phil and Liz. They have been so useful and you never feel like you are bothering them. They made reservations in restaurants, called taxis for us, etc. The suite was big, with a living room and a kitchenette. The view over Cape Town was stunning. We came back to CT after touring part of the country and Liz and Phil accomodated us at Parker Cottage (another B&B that they run). Phil was coming over every day and we really had a good time discussing with him. I really recommend anyone going to either B&B as the service is stunning, the view from MM is amazing and the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Thanks WorldKri! So you got to experience both our offerings in one stay - and they both seemed to be what you were looking for. Parker Cottage and Mountain Magic are rather different places but we're glad you liked the size of the suite and the views here and enjoyed Parker too. About the pricing: we're keen to try to fit a variety of budgets and therefore expectations in the accommodation we offer. It's never easy to fit the price with the product so we're glad we got the level right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2010

...Opening line on the note under our door after having a break of 2 days away says it all. Liz and Phil have made every appartment in Mountain Magic feel like your personal piece of their beautiful home. Great views across Table Mountain and the city, superbly maintained appartments and a very friendly, homely environment. Liz and Phil went out of their way to make us feel welcome to their home and the city, with helpful suggestions on restaurants, trips, activities and even recommended a local Doctor when we needed one. In summary, the welcome, attentiveness, location and views could not be beaten in Cape town. already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPE_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed in the Palm Garden Suite for four nights while in Cape Town in August. We loved having a condo unit to spread out in and the option to make our own breakfasts. The location was excellent and we felt very safe. Liz was a wonderful host giving us many tips on where to eat and what to see. She also included breakfast supplies in the kitchen and frig. We had a car and it took us a while to figure out the streets at times, but when we return to Cape Town (hopefully), we will be experts and will definitely return to Mountain Magic Garden Suites.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The apartments at Magic Mountain are really fantastic. Ours was large, clean, nicely decorated and had it's own entrance so you have some privacy. I believe that all the apartments benefit from this.
Liz & Phil, the owner / managers couldn't have been nicer, they gave us recommendations for everything we needed, booked tours, restaurants and let us leave a bag there when we left for a 2 week trip.
There's a washing machine / dryer available for the use of guests (no charge) and they also provide breakfast (rolls / jam / cereal / juice) for the first day so you don't have to run around when you arrive. There's also a taxi hotline to a trustworthy local cab service from the laundry room. It really couldn't have been easier.
The location is also great. It's a little way from downtown, we did walk it once, it's totally do-able but also very cheap in a cab, especially if you don't want to walk up the hills! Just down the hill are a host of great restaurants and cafes if you want a quick bite and the view of the city and Table Mountain from the lovely garden is breath-taking.
If we find ourselves in Cape Town in the future, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tang_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

having had to visit cape t regularly over the past 18 months, MM is one of 3 places i have found to be worth a return visit. Tamboerskloof has to be the best area for anyone visiting cape t.
MM is everything the website says it is and the hosts couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sburg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I scoured Trip Advisor looking for a place to stay in Cape Town, and nothing sounded right… until I found this place. Perfect location right by Table Mountain and equidistant to city bowl and the beaches on the peninsula. In theory you can walk down to Kloof street and all the shops, but the walk back can be strenuous so you may want to rent a car (which I would advise regardless of where you stay – and MMGS will happily connect you with a rental car agency).

The owners are very friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The rooms are nice (we stayed in the Palm Garden Suite – which has a nice private balcony and sitting area with a braai – as well as the Bay Lights Suite – which is a bit smaller but has an incredible view) and since there are only a few, the place is relatively quiet as well.

Possible downsides include the phone (we had issues adding credit and getting it to work – but that was probably our own ineptitude) and a spotty internet connection. Also, beware that while they will accept credit cards, they strongly prefer cash. Since most ATMs won't give you more than 2000 rand per day, and you can't really find bills larger than 200 rand, this means that you will need to build up a large stack of bills over a course of multiple ATM trips. If you come from a country where banks charge hefty foreign ATM transactions (e.g. the US), you may actually pay less if you pay the credit card service fee.

That said, we had a great time at the Mountain Magic Garden Suites and would gladly stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to make it down to Cape Town again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinaasappelsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thanks very much, sinaasappelsap! This is a really nice review and we're very grateful for it. To answer your point about cash versus credit card, we do actually accept credit cards but for a surcharge of between 3% and 5%, which is what South African banks charge us. To be honest, most of our guests like to pay cash because it keeps costs down for them. We're not sure why you weren't offered this option during your stay and for that we do apologise.
Our internet connectivity has been upgraded since your stay and whilst not the fastest in the world, it's above average for the RSA. We offer free, unlimited WiFi (unlike the vast majority of hotels in the RSA, including some five star ones) but we don't offer super fast download speeds and we don't commit to our internet being comparable to international strengths and speeds. If we did so, we'd have to price ourselves out of our market, as typically, bandwidth is 300% more expensive in the RSA than in Europe or the USA, Gb for Gb.
It would be great to see you again and we're so pleased you enjoyed the stay. Nothing better than an honest and balanced review, either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I just spent a week in the Magic Mountain Suite with my two grown children. The location is beautiful and quiet, and the suite has a marvelous view of Table Mountain. Although it is a bit off the beaten track, there are several good restaurants nearby. Liz and Phil are great hosts who gave us many valuable suggestions. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
City Bowl
Gilmourhill B&B
Gilmourhill B&B
#42 of 125 in Cape Town Central
27 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Vip Cape Lodge
Vip Cape Lodge
#29 of 125 in Cape Town Central
79 reviews
The Manor House
#423 of 925 in Cape Town
3 reviews
City Bowl
Gap Lodge
Gap Lodge
#65 of 156 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Magic Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Magic Garden Suites

Property: Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Address: 7 Rael Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Magic Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Magic Garden Suites are situated in a quiet residential area on a no-through road. Each suite is a large self-catering apartment and all have their own balcony or patio. We're very family friendly, as two suites have their own garden and all guests can use our large pool and the green field next door. We try to offer a private and relaxing base to explore Cape Town that gives families freedom but private guests privacy and space too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Magic Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Magic Garden Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing