We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Town Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Magic Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Brighton UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Town Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed with Liz and Phil for 7 nights in the Bay Lights Suite, overlooking the city bowl. It was superb in every way. The standard of the accommodation was first rate, clean at all times, very well serviced. Its setting in lovely secure gardens with a nice sized pool with Table Mountain as a backdrop was lovely. We swam every morning to wake up and have never had a pool with such a stunning view.
Liz and Phil could not have been more helpful, they even went out of their way to help us book tickets to see Celine Dion.
Its position on the edge of the City Bowl was lovely. It is in a very quiet neighbourhood, but only 5mins from all the action and lovely restaurants in Kloof Street and Long Street.
We had a car for the entire time, which we picked up at the airport, although it is not really necessary for the City from the accommodation, but was very useful to get further afield to Cape Point and Botanical gardens etc.

Ken and Karen Nice
Brighton
UK

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2008

we've chosen mountain magic garden suites after hours of research to find the perfect place in cape town for a family with 2 adults and 2 children (2 1/2 and 5) - and we definitely found it!
my husband and i have been travelling through sa many times before as a couple and we've always stayed in very nice and sometimes also expensive places - which was nice, but is not really suitable with children! now we pay much more attention to the following details: we definitely need 2 seperate bedrooms (a lot of hotels don't even have rooms with connecting doors), we love to have a garden, which allows us to stay "at home" for half a day if the children need some time off, a swimming pool is cool (especially in january!), but only if it's fenced off (at mountain magic garden suites it is) and last but not least - children must be welcome (a lot of places in south africa have age restrictions - which we very much regret). we found all that at this nice place in gardens - a safe and quiet neighbourhood with a great manageress (thank you liz!) and friendly staff. she even organized a very nice babysitter for one night, so my husband and i could go out - i had no doubt that our children wouldn't be in good hands. so we definitely recommend mountain magic garden suites to families with small children - we will be back for sure!

  • Liked — children are welcome; very good value
  • Disliked — unfortunately too far away to walk to restaurants with our children
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bullfrog_africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed at Mountain Magic garden suites at both the beginning and end of our one month vacation in South Africa. It was the perfect place to start and end the holiday. After a long flight we were received with a warm and friendly welcome by Liz and her staff. The apartments are very clean and comfortable with everything you might need to feel at home. The garden is beautiful, there's a great pool and the view is breathtaking, as close to Table Mountain as you can get. We have two small children who thouroughly enjoyed playing in the garden, swimming in the pool and even being able to walk down to Kloof st. and Long st. Liz and Phil went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were very helpful with useful travel tips. They also provide a very useful guide to the neighbourhood, nearby restaurants and take aways, maps etc. There is wireless internet, laundry and a phone equipped with a calling card so you can call home upon arrival. In short, we found there were many services provided that you would not expect or hope for considering the very reasonable price. All this made our stay as a family very easy and relaxing and I cannot recommend it enough! It is also worth considering that it is within safe walking distance to shops and restaurants and you can save the money on a rental car while staying there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Line11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed for 10 days and had a wonderful time. It's great value for money and it's location is superb. The rooms are clean and have all you need for a relaxing stay. The hosts are very helpful and welcoming. Definate self-catering recommendation. For the money I doubt you could do better.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

I am an avid user of tripadvisor for all my trip planning - Spain, France, Thailand, etc. My most recent trip to South Africa turned out to be my favorite vacation! My stay at the Mountain Magic Garden Suites helped make it so. This place is great because of two things 1) PRICE 2) JIMMY. The price is great since the plane tickets are so darn expensive to South Africa. I'm sure most of you reading this review are visiting South Africa from far away. You will spend way below $100 for each night and have plenty of room. I stayed in a small apartment, which was adequate to nice, but cheap as heck. Jimmy is the proprietor made my stay in Cape Town incredible. After reading other tripadvisor reviews on how friendly and helpful he is, I knew I could benefit from his already great reputation. I wrote Jimmy an email with what I planned for my Cape Town visit, which he responded with his suggestions/changes to make my itinerary perfect. Baia was the perfect restaurant to eat - highly recommended, great seafood. He made ticket reservations for Robben Island - must book before you arrive. He also set me up on a tour of the coast with Bobby Brodemus (Beautiful Daytours/Cape Escape Tours) - fantastic tour! I can't say enough how great the tour with Bobby was. He was knowledgeable, personable, and took us on an extra sidetrip just to see whales. I would highly recommend his tour. My wife and I took the Citysightseeing Cape Town double-decker bus tour around the city - tour was a great way to get around, tour guides were mediocre at best. Both Bobby and Jimmy made my South Africa vacation the best out of all my travels around the world. Also, I found out about Mountain Magic because An African Villa was booked for the nights I wanted to stay. Jimmy emailed me suggesting Mountain Magic . An African Villa is #2 most popular under Cape Town Hotels - Jimmy runs this place too. If you travel to South Africa, please consider any place run by Jimmy and a tour with Bobby - I think Bobby's email is [--].

  • Liked — Jimmy
  • Disliked — pool was not great
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chrischennyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Our 6-day stay here was just fantastic. We had the suite on the top floor which provided an amazing view of the city bowl and the bay. The daily apartment cleaning was excellent and the size of the place was just perfect, especially since we spent most of the day exploring the area.
The kitchen is a little tiny, but that was just fine. It had a small fridge, a microwave, sink, and cabinets. No stove/oven, but the "hotplate" worked just fine, so we were able to enjoy quaint breakfasts and dinners at home. (They provided us with our first day's breakfast!) The heated floors provide plenty of heat for the bedroom, though the kitchen and bathroom floors are not connected to this.
A little heads-up: walking probably isn't an option. Safety is not an issue (its in a very nice neighborhood), but the area is quite hilly.
We'd love to stay here again on our next trip to Cape Town. Jimmy's care and hospitality combined with the cozy feeling to make us feel more like residents than just temporary guests.

  • Liked — Views, hospitality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jksteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

When Jimmy Tander's B&B properties (one of which is An African Villa) were full over the New Year's period, he offered us the alternative to stay in his self-catering accommodation. We like privacy and lots of space so made a booking. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in the Mountain Suite which was huge and had great views of Table Mountain. It was well-furnished, very secure and in a great, trendy neighborhood. Jimmy and his staff were wonderful, and the price we paid was half of what we would have paid for an average hotel room.

It was a perfect base for getting around Cape Town and the surrounding area, with or without a car.

We'll definitely stay there on our next visit to Cape Town.

  • Liked — Space, privacy and location
  • Disliked — Could find no faults
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a gay-friendly property, so homophobes beware
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lesroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
City Bowl
Radium Hall Guest House
Radium Hall Guest House
#51 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
City Bowl
Vip Cape Lodge
Vip Cape Lodge
#33 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
City Bowl
Gilmourhill B&B
Gilmourhill B&B
#41 of 130 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Magic Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Magic Garden Suites

Property: Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Address: 7 Rael Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Magic Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Magic Garden Suites are situated in a quiet residential area on a no-through road. Each suite is a large self-catering apartment and all have their own balcony or patio. We're very family friendly, as two suites have their own garden and all guests can use our large pool and the green field next door. We try to offer a private and relaxing base to explore Cape Town that gives families freedom but private guests privacy and space too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Magic Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Magic Garden Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing