We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in Cape Town - helpful owners. Great for kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect place in Cape Town - helpful owners. Great for kids.”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in the Mountain Magic Suite for a week in January with our two kids (7 & 8)and loved it so much we stayed again on the way back to CapeTown at the end of our trip.

The location is great, a little way from the centre of Cape Town (not walkable with kids) but in a quiet, peaceful and very safe feeling part of town. The best bit is you have a fantastic view of Table Mountain from the bedroom and kitchen - it was utterly captivating,

There is a great garden to relax/play in. A swimming pool (which we didn't use - but simply because there is so much else to do in Cape Town).

The suite itself is a very large and well furnished living/dining room. A kitchen - which is stocked for your first breakfast on arrival (a very nice & welcome touch), and two good sized bedrooms. All is very comfortable - worked extremely well for the four of us.

Liz gave us great advice about things to do & (especially) places to eat. You must try the Millers Thumb - we went there three times!

Wifi is provided and there is a washing machine if you need it.

All in all, it was a faultless place to stay, We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Magic Suite, which is the biggest of three apartments they have at this location for four days and I think our choice had a huge influence on the great time we had in Cape Town. The apartment lies in a quiet residential area about 15 min walk from Kloef Nek Road.

We were traveling with our two young daughters (1 and 2 years old) and this place was the perfect retreat after a day of sightseeing. The apartment directly accesses a garden with beautiful views of the mountain and we would spend the late afternoon sitting on the grass sipping on a glass of wine while the kids were enjoying themselves.

Mountain Magic Suite (the naming is a little bit confusing, because it refers at the same time to all three apartments as well as this particular one) is not huge, but very well laid out. There are two bedrooms (with the master bedroom providing a beautiful view) that connect to a small kitchen, which in turn opens into a living room from which one accesses the garden. The ceiling in the living room is a little bit low due to steel beams, so tall people should be careful. Most likely, the other apartments (I didn't see them) are higher, but then you don't get the lovely direct garden access.

There is a swimming pool, but we didn't use it, since it is not heated (I guess South Africans are used to cold water ;-) ). There is also free WiFi available.

The hosts, who are living in the same building were extremely helpful and also very responsive during the reservation process.

All in all, I can only highly recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I've now tried all three of the suites at Mountain Magic and each has it's unique selling points. This time I stayed in the Bay Lights Studio. It's a little smaller than the other two studios, but if you're on you're on your own, the size is perfect and the view from the balcony onto the city bowl and the Atlantic is magical, especially when the moon is full. are consummate hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for owners Liz and Phil who have a knack for making guests feel completely at home. The suites are meticulously clean and the staff are kind and friendly. On a boiling hot summer's morning, the swimming pool is a God-send. It's just 15 minutes walk from Kloof Street though I'd recommend having a car because it makes it so much easier to get around Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naomigryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We liked to start and complete the day on the balcony with its fantastic view of the city and the sea. Within a few minutes we could reach the city centre and the sea or leave Capetown for a day trip to the fantastic and interesting sites around CT. And when we returned we loved to sit in the shade of the huge trees in the garden and cool down in the pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

we stayed in the bay light studio for 5 nights and were extremely happy with everything. the location is great - you can walk to town and all the other sights (like table mountain, waterfront, clifton beach, etc.) are within 5 min drive away. we had a beautiful view of the city from our balcony, on which we enjoyed our breakfast every morning. although central, the area is very quiet and secure. liz and phil, the owners, were very friendly and helpful. we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiss-gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thanks Swiss G for this: nice to know that we hit the right note for your stay in terms of being available to assist. Living on site, it's always a tough balance between being around to help but not being around when you want to be alone! You must have stayed in the Bay Lights Studio. Such a great view from there that Liz and I stay in it ourselves in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopetown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2010

We travelled to Cape Town and there being so many places to choose from, we found Mountain Magic Garden Suites by accident. We stayed for a few nights and enjoyed every moment. We enjoyed sundowners in the lovely garden, the suite was tastefully decorated, we felt safe and the area is nice and quiet. Lovely Phil and Liz are friendly and attentive hosts that was only a pleasure to meet. And the view! Even my daughter that calls Cape Town her home, made the comment that the view from the main bedroom was the best around. We loved every moment and we are booking our next stay right now.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JapieHopetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Hi JapieHopeTown - how wonderful to get such a complimentary review from a South African family: locals have a lot of choice over where they stay and they know just how high the standards of accommodation are in the country. It's very much appreciated to know that we got it right for you and your family. See you soon! Liz and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2010

A truly comfortable, clean, spacious apartment in a residential area of Cape Town. Not far from the mountain, this area has many cafes, restaurants and amenities within walking distance. We felt safe enough to walk around freely with three kids in the daytime, although we were more cautious in the evenings. It was quite chilly in September so we didn't use the pool. Perhaps the only slight negative is that we could hear Liz's large dog very occasionally bouncing around in the rooms above - the apartment is in the garden basement. The apartment overlooks a rugby park where kids play after school, and is located near to several private schools. We didn't meet Phil but Liz could not have done more for us, helping us to arrange taxis and dinner reservations and giving us impeccable advice on places to go around the city and cape. We walked around Cape Town a lot and found taxis easily when the children tired. We did the obvious things: the cable car to the mountain top, the marina, Robben Island. We also had a taxi drop us off at Signal Hill and we hiked to Lion Head and up to the top (almost). Our kids managed the chains and steps alright but they could be a little scary for some kids. Then we called another taxi to pick us up at the Head carpark. That was a truly beautiful day full of ocean views, local wildlife and peaceful walking (and all Liz's idea!) We also hired a car and drove ourselves down to the cape beaches (stunning) and also along the garden route to Port Elizabeth. we saw many, many Southern Right Whales basking inshore all along the route at this time of year, including their young.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetownsuites, Owner at Mountain Magic Garden Suites, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Hi Travelling Wilko
Thanks for this nice balanced review and sorry that I (Phil) didn't get a chance to meet you! We're pleased that you liked the area and the views over the fields and schools. It helps to have a feeling of space when you're staying in a city centre, especially with a family. We're sorry about Busby making a noise in your apartment: he's a boisterous chap and most of the time is either out on a walk with us or in our apartment on the top floor. Occasionally, he gets out and runs around a little too enthusiastically in the office, so sorry for that! The truly wonderful thing about where Mountain Magic Suites is that as you say, you can walk onto Signal Hill and Lion's Head from your front door, which is of course one of the reasons why we can have a dog in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Vip Cape Lodge
Vip Cape Lodge
#24 of 128 in Cape Town Central
92 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 128 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Magic Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Magic Garden Suites

Property: Mountain Magic Garden Suites
Address: 7 Rael Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Magic Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Magic Garden Suites are situated in a quiet residential area on a no-through road. Each suite is a large self-catering apartment and all have their own balcony or patio. We're very family friendly, as two suites have their own garden and all guests can use our large pool and the green field next door. We try to offer a private and relaxing base to explore Cape Town that gives families freedom but private guests privacy and space too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Magic Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Magic Garden Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing