We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unparalleled excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Three Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unparalleled excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Three Boutique Hotel is a beautiful, historic building that has been carefully restored to provide a very high standard of accommodation. It is centrally located in a quiet area of Cape Town near Table Mountain, with extensive views of the mountain from the roof-top garden. Every aspect of our stay was superb and to the highest standard, and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Even the wardrobes deserve special mention: they are large and strong enough to take a full-size, fully-loaded hanging garment case so that it can be opened to give access to all the contents - a facility that I have rarely found elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattItt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    58
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
179
24
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I were on our first visit to Africa and chose a four part tour of South Africa, finishing in Cape Town. We used the services of a South African specialist ' Perfect Africa' who not only booked everything to our personally created tour, but gave us a package that worked like clockwork with absolutely no problems. They actually placed us in the 3 Boutiques which really was the cherry on the cake. A beautfully restored colonial type building with the latest fittings and technology. The rooms and service was excellent and the proprietors, Julia and Alan made friends with us and were so helpful in planning our short stay. We loved the place and the people but the world is a big place and other countries beckon. We will be reccommending our Trip to our friends and to anyone else planning a visit to SA we would give a positive thumbs up to the 3 Boutiques. Something else for you to consider... I sent our required itinery to two agents and the one mentioned above was over 2000 pounds cheaper than the British agent. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Only two floors but no elevator. Choose ground floor if you don't do stairs. I am 68 with sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBlewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My hubby and myself just needed a good break from the pressures of life. We picked the perfect spot. The location of The Three boutique hotel was amazing, close to town but still calm and peaceful. All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We arrived to warm welcome from our hosts, bags shuttled off to our room, a complimentary drink placed in our hands, and a brief tour of the hotel, which led to a relaxing time lounging on the roof top sofa's while we sipped our drinks surrounded by the majestic mountains. The room was tasteful, clean and comfy. We requested a room with a bath and shower which was fantastic. Breakfast was decadent, (I highly recommend the eggs Benedict.) I had lived in Cape Town so I did not need tourist info, but I did however overhear the host giving very helpful and informative touring info, offering to make bus and restaurant bookings etc. It was definitely the second honeymoon we hoped for and would return in a heartbeat. Thanks to all who made our experience so memorable.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a relaxing bath so that dictated where we went. But the sunny balcony rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited Cape Town in April 2014 and stayed at the The Three. The rooms are fabulously decorated, very comfortable beds and a great shower. The view from the roof top is fantastic. The staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. They know how to serve a great breakfast. We'll be back!! Thanks Julie, Alun and all your staff for a fantastic time. It is appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stay here for four nights with my parents. Great B&B with a great view of Table Mountain and Lions Head. No view of the city. Rooms very clean and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Morning Breakfast is good and the staff provided multiple recommendations for activities and dinning. Would highly recommend this B&B even for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a great stay. Perfectly situated; within walking distance of most good restaurants and other attractions. Rooms were great. The breakfast was amazing. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Great vibe and I would definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melville777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubagne, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I went two times in the Three boutique hotel and really enjoy my journeys.
First the place is very nice, cosy, you feel at home. The rooms are quiet with a very good bedding.
All the people are doing their best to answer our questions whatever the topic !
You can enjoy the terrace roof with an impressive view of Table Montain.
I also really appreciate the concept of honnesty bar, that allow you to feel at home :)

Room Tip: all of them are very nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Boutique Hotel

Property: The Three Boutique Hotel
Address: 3 Flower Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old and new meet in perfect harmony at The Three Boutique Hotel, with the conversion of this beautiful National Monument building into a stylish and affordable 15-bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town.Owned and run by Justin & Natalia Pearson and their close friends Alun & Julie Jones, the service stands out as being exceptional, from the first email, to collection at the airport and looking after you during your Cape Town holiday or business trip at The Three Boutique Hotel. Steeped in hospitality from years of working on cruise ships, Justin and Natalia embody the perfect hosts.The Three Boutique Hotel fills the gap between a too-homely guest house and an impersonal hotel; it's exactly the right balance of chic surroundings, 4-star facilities and friendly service. The Three is modern and sophisticated Cape Town hotel accommodation with an historic heart in a trendy part of Cape Town.It offers free Wifi throughout, air conditioning, spacious bedrooms with flatscreen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. A columned terrace tiled in traditional black and white wraps around the house leading to the designer swimming pool and outdoor lounge. The rooftop deck adds another dimension for sunbathing and sunset drinks, with unparalleled views of Cape Town’s three iconic mountains; Table Mountain, Lions Head and Devil’s Peak, after which The Three is named.Cape Town International Airport is just 17km away and our airport shuttle can be booked to collect you or drop you off.The hotel shuttle is also available throughout the day for personalized tours as well as in the evenings to take you to and from restaurants. Many of Cape Town's top tourist sights are within walking distance and The Gardens shopping centre is just a 3 minute walk.4-Star TGSA Graded and Awarded ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Three Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing